SuperHeavy

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
Buy On
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    Perhaps if the album actually had some kineticism to its eclecticism, or at least a hook or a tune, it would earn its wannabe evangelism, but the untrammeled indulgence turns this into a gaudy multicolored circus.
  2. Uncut
    Oct 18, 2011
    40
    "SuperRandom" might be a better name. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  3. Mojo
    Dec 22, 2011
    40
    [Songs swerve] between undistinguished reggae, so-so pop and indistinct blues-rock. [Nov 2011, p.92]
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    60
    At its least enjoyable, however, you're struck--not for the first time in Jagger's extracurricular oeuvre--by a sense of star-studded pointlessness.
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    40
    An almost total lack of good songs constitutes the album's basic problem. Once that's understood, the record becomes sort of entertaining: gaudy, vacuous, densely mannered.
  6. 40
    The sad fact about supergroups is that they are rarely the result of any musical imperative. This is painfully confirmed on the debut offering from the alliance of Mick Jagger, Dave Stewart, Joss Stone, Damian Marley and A R Rahman, on which the assembled talents cast around for a style of their own without ever unearthing the natural chemistry on which great bands rely.
  7. Sep 19, 2011
    60
    The quintet's debut is pretty good fun, fusing Stones-y raunch with brash Caribbean rhythms.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    Everything Mick Jagger touches turns to **** unless Keith Richards is there to turn it back to gold. Actually, I do really like this album,Everything Mick Jagger touches turns to **** unless Keith Richards is there to turn it back to gold. Actually, I do really like this album, minus all the parts with Mick singing. Although he sounds like good ole 70's him in Never Going to Happen. Listen to Miracle Worker; it's is probably the best sample from this album. Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Rare is an album that I listen to repeatedly from the start, and this is one of them ! I sincerely get the vibe that they are having fun,Rare is an album that I listen to repeatedly from the start, and this is one of them ! I sincerely get the vibe that they are having fun, which isn't often to come across musically, with a great blend of music styles and voices. I have song preferences, but the more I listen to it, these change. Take a listen and see what you think. Full Review »