• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Mar 7, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 77
  2. Negative: 6 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dozirulf
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Supernature is absolutely fantastic. Anyone who claims that Goldfrapp were trying to be commercial just for the sake of selling CDs doesn't realize that people can enjoy (and enjoy creating) more than just one or two styles of music. :P
  2. DecepticonPom
    Sep 25, 2005
    8
    I'm a gay guy who is out of the closet but very blokey. I own over 1,100 CD's and not one of them is by Kylie. But this album just brings out the absolute fabulousness in me to such an extent I'm almost embarrassed! Dead good pop for those who normally don't do that kind of thing. :)
  3. SebW
    Sep 6, 2005
    4
    Well below Black Cherry. It lacks the inventivity of the previous record. It's just plain electro pop, full of keyboard waves, heard-a-thousand-times-black-cherrish sound effects, some na na na and la la la, lousy lyrics. Aimed to terrific critics and success though. I had come to expect too much from that album I guess. Whatever...
  4. slawekk
    Oct 30, 2005
    7
    it is a good album, but unfortunally for it, the previous one was much better. and there is no visible revolution so... - let's wait for the fourth goldfrapp, and let's wait it will bring something truely new.
  5. DennisM
    Aug 26, 2005
    8
    Every bit was good as Black Cherry. A logical progression. This album is well executed. An instant classic.
  6. LevvyO
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    Ever so slightly superior to Black Cherry. The album just works better and the songs are just lovely (especially Koko and Number 1).
  7. jasons
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    This is such a great CD, I have to give it a 10! I would have even given it a 10 without seeing Leonardo F's scathing rating--hey, the guy likes that UNLISTENABLE new Bjork avant-garde wankery (sorry Bjork--love your "music" projects more).
  8. LeonardoF
    Aug 30, 2005
    0
    this is crap - i thought i was listening to britney spears' or geri halliwell's electroclash album.
  9. AndersDK
    Sep 5, 2005
    1
    I was very disappointed, as this album repeats the few bad moments on Black Cherry into endless repetition. God! This genre is SOOOO dead! At least if you don´t manage to add any melodic or creative elements into the basic electroclash-formula. It´s all noise and tweaks and very very boring... and not even funky enough to dance to. So what´s the actual use of this I was very disappointed, as this album repeats the few bad moments on Black Cherry into endless repetition. God! This genre is SOOOO dead! At least if you don´t manage to add any melodic or creative elements into the basic electroclash-formula. It´s all noise and tweaks and very very boring... and not even funky enough to dance to. So what´s the actual use of this record? It´s a don´t buy that is. Expand
  10. EW
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    This is what it sounds like to be alive in 2006
  11. JasonR
    Mar 10, 2006
    9
    Forget comparing it to the other Goldfrapp records (do you really want more of the same anyway?). Compare it to other artists in the genre... It's gotta be the best thing out there right now. There'd be no need to feel guilty about liking pop music if it was all this good.
  12. JasonR
    Mar 10, 2006
    9
    Forget comparing it to the other Goldfrapp records (do you really want more of the same anyway?). Compare it to other artists in the genre... It's gotta be the best thing out there right now. There'd be no need to feel guilty about liking pop music if it was all this good.
  13. DwayneD
    Mar 18, 2006
    3
    Mindnumbingly vapid, but well crafted and will sound good in your Camaro. Put simply, it has song titles that replace 'you' with "U," and 'to' with '2.' I can't wait for the next 2Unlimited record.
  14. NathanCo
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Supernature is a classy, glamorous and sexy album which you can tell has been well produced. Any track from the album could be a hit single.
  15. FranG.
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    El mejor disco de goldfrapp.
  16. TheOnlyMisterKevin
    Oct 13, 2005
    8
    What makes Goldfrapp so good on each new release is the inimitable vocals of Alison. This is sexy, sultry, electronic dance pop of the highest calibre. I would rate this higher, even though I can't stop listening to the album, but the writing and arrangements of the songs do not approach the brilliant creativity of previous works like Felt Mountain and Black Cherry. In fact, the What makes Goldfrapp so good on each new release is the inimitable vocals of Alison. This is sexy, sultry, electronic dance pop of the highest calibre. I would rate this higher, even though I can't stop listening to the album, but the writing and arrangements of the songs do not approach the brilliant creativity of previous works like Felt Mountain and Black Cherry. In fact, the intros to nearly all of the songs are rather uninspired. But no other group today makes such great music, and Alison's my favorite deer from across the pond! Expand
  17. OwenB
    Oct 21, 2005
    1
    c'mon, this is a lousy album. ooh la la works, but all the rest is crap. lovely to c u makes me wanna throw up.
  18. SP
    Aug 26, 2005
    9
    Just wicked. A leap forward from Black Cherry. Poppy perfection.
  19. DamianM
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    Let Alison seduce you. Let Will blow your mind. What an album!
  20. YonH
    Sep 12, 2005
    10
    Pure, un-adulterated, butt-grinding joy! Beautiful & sexy, but with the feeling you could get killed at any moment. Dance music is dead? Jeez, buddy, maybe it's your HEART that died...
  21. PeterH
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    Genre whingers: rock 'n roll is a genre and it's been done to death so get over it. This is a fantastic pop record. Every song on it is excellent. Alison's vocals ignore the predictable melodic path and produce really high quality pop music - quite like the eurythmics. Definately worth buying.
  22. DennisS
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Utterly Fantastic! Rugged and space bendingly musical.
  23. MarkC
    Feb 14, 2006
    7
    Good Album definately more commercialised But has a more dance edge to it. Still dosn't beat Black Cherry to the Spot Now thats an album. I do feel like they have wrote Supernature to appeal to the Radio Stations After There first two albums got no airway. But why change for the radio ? It's the fans that make Goldfrapp Popular Keep doing albums like Felt Mountain and BC thats Good Album definately more commercialised But has a more dance edge to it. Still dosn't beat Black Cherry to the Spot Now thats an album. I do feel like they have wrote Supernature to appeal to the Radio Stations After There first two albums got no airway. But why change for the radio ? It's the fans that make Goldfrapp Popular Keep doing albums like Felt Mountain and BC thats what the fans love you for dont turn like other bands and lose your style and creativity just to try and fit in to the commercial radio stations they only play Teenage crap Expand
  24. Nathan
    Mar 10, 2006
    9
    Great album! I just bought it a few days ago and have not bee able to get it out of my CD player. It's very infectious.
  25. ameraal
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Wonderful album. Truly a huge departure from Felt Mountain, even from Black Cherry, it's what it is - stylish/glam/electro/synth pop. Solid all around and ever growing on you. If you like sophisticated dance/electro music this is your album. All the pretentious folks out there who's biggest problem with the album is that it's more "accessible" than the previous two should Wonderful album. Truly a huge departure from Felt Mountain, even from Black Cherry, it's what it is - stylish/glam/electro/synth pop. Solid all around and ever growing on you. If you like sophisticated dance/electro music this is your album. All the pretentious folks out there who's biggest problem with the album is that it's more "accessible" than the previous two should really get over themselves. Expand
  26. Anyway
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    Not the surprise Black Cherry might have been, but still by far better than most music out there. It might not fulfill all expectations (since they were very , very high) but a great album with a lot of great songs (actually, there ain´t a single bad song) . It´s still their unique sound and it´s still great .
  27. JS
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    this album is lots of fun and very well done.
  28. MeyaC.
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    i love goldfrapp and i enjoyed this album just a bit better than black cherry. allison's voice is so seductive. wahaha, i have something to dance to!!
  29. davew
    Mar 8, 2006
    2
    pretty poor effort all round. At this rate they will sound like the Black Eyed Peas when LP4 comes around
  30. Sonia
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    One of the best albums I have ever heard...completely timeless as I am still listening to it now.
  31. StephanieM
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    I love every song on this album. You don't see many artist's albums like this nowadays. I love working out to it, jamming to it in my car, or listening while I'm working. In a way it is unfortunate that Goldfrapp has not become mainstream with this album (Remember last Christmas when every Target commercial had a Goldfrapp song on it? It figures, they don't even sell I love every song on this album. You don't see many artist's albums like this nowadays. I love working out to it, jamming to it in my car, or listening while I'm working. In a way it is unfortunate that Goldfrapp has not become mainstream with this album (Remember last Christmas when every Target commercial had a Goldfrapp song on it? It figures, they don't even sell any Goldfrapp CDs there.), but in a way, it's great that they are indie artists since they toured with SXSW a year ago. Keep up the great work! Expand
  32. dustink
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    a brilliant collage of disco- noir funk past, and a beautiful look into the future of electronic music. both a work of pastiche and complete and utter originality, goldfrapp have pulled off the unthinkable. a brilliantly artful club banger.
  33. peted
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Goldfrapp produce another outstanding album which is beautiful and downright dirty in equal measure. Electro-glam beyond compare.
  34. A.E.Sadler
    Sep 12, 2005
    7
    Goldfrapp's big enough in the US that it's annoying Mute didn't synch the release here, especially as the publicity machine takes off for Supernature. I nabbed it from Amazon UK and my advice to US fans is to wait. It's decent and a notch above Black Cherry, but I miss the lush beauty of the first album that was used so effectively in the movie "My Summer of Love." I Goldfrapp's big enough in the US that it's annoying Mute didn't synch the release here, especially as the publicity machine takes off for Supernature. I nabbed it from Amazon UK and my advice to US fans is to wait. It's decent and a notch above Black Cherry, but I miss the lush beauty of the first album that was used so effectively in the movie "My Summer of Love." I wanted less fizzy trash electronica and more soulful lyrics and arrangements that put Goldfrapp out there. Still, "Supernature" is far better than most of the crap-pop out there. Expand
  35. BlairBlair
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    Ok, so I'm a big subjecitve when it comes to Goldfrapp. Although Supernature is overall good, I still preferred the dark electro-fusion of Black Cherry. Compared to a lot of the crap being released right now, Goldfrapp still remain one of my favorites. Just go buy it!
  36. NathanCo
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Supernature is a classy, glamorous and sexy album which you can tell has been well produced. Any track from the album could be a hit single.
  37. CraigM
    Jan 29, 2006
    5
    This new album sees Goldfrapp continue in the electroclash vein. The new album being a watered down version of 'Black Cherry', which in turn pales in comparison to their debut 'Felt Mountain'. Its not without its moments: 'You Never Know' with its electro-operatic stylings, the somber 'Let it Take You', and the epic 'Time Out from the This new album sees Goldfrapp continue in the electroclash vein. The new album being a watered down version of 'Black Cherry', which in turn pales in comparison to their debut 'Felt Mountain'. Its not without its moments: 'You Never Know' with its electro-operatic stylings, the somber 'Let it Take You', and the epic 'Time Out from the World'. The rest of the tracks are too steeped in 80's kitsch. Not worth the price of an import for those of us in the US. Expand
  38. JonK
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    Not only will this album make you want to don black leather platform boots and walk sexually down a well-lit runway, but its also masterfully composed and mixed. Easily one of the best albums of the year. Easily.
  39. GaryE
    May 25, 2006
    10
    From the pulsating "Ride A White Horse" to the ambient "Time Out From The World" Goldfrapp has created their finest work to date which conquers glam rock, disco, electro, pop and polka along the way.
  40. MichaelP.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    The album is full of fantastastic glittering atmosphere which is all at once sexy, ambiguous and funny so it makes you tickled pink as fast as you start playing it: from mind-triggering 'Ooh la la' to James Bond-alike 'You never know' then to scoffing 'Slide in', never forget the deliriously hilarious Mad Hatter polka 'Satin chic' and for dessert - The album is full of fantastastic glittering atmosphere which is all at once sexy, ambiguous and funny so it makes you tickled pink as fast as you start playing it: from mind-triggering 'Ooh la la' to James Bond-alike 'You never know' then to scoffing 'Slide in', never forget the deliriously hilarious Mad Hatter polka 'Satin chic' and for dessert - the glamourous '#1', forever associated with its embarassing 'doggystyle' video - all that quirky combo in some 40 minutes turn you from amateur of Indian light irony to its connoisseur! Miaouw!!! Expand
  41. JohnO.
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    Goldfrapps 2nd album - "Black Cherry" was in stark contrast to their first - "Felt Mountain". This album - "Supernature" is a mix of both those ideas, done even better. Successfully melding at least two separate equally powerful ideas together is something that makes a really good artist. Swaying from a touchingly delicate siren soundtrack-dreamscape to quirky, bossy, robo-pop glam-stomp. Goldfrapps 2nd album - "Black Cherry" was in stark contrast to their first - "Felt Mountain". This album - "Supernature" is a mix of both those ideas, done even better. Successfully melding at least two separate equally powerful ideas together is something that makes a really good artist. Swaying from a touchingly delicate siren soundtrack-dreamscape to quirky, bossy, robo-pop glam-stomp. A stunningly dramatic vocal performance carrying real passion & belief with touches of dry humour. Highly empathic, beautifully crafted music with real-time quirks backs each song exceptionally well. A classic album for Goldfrapp. Expand
  42. JeremyF
    Sep 28, 2007
    5
    This album isn't bad, but it lacks the emotional aspects and artistic aspects, and, essentially, the creativity of their past two records. I wish they'd return to the Felt Mountain feel. Black Cherry was similar to this style, but it had enough emotion and creativity in the design and this just seems limp compared. If CD #4 is like Felt Mountain, I'll be unbelievably happy. This album isn't bad, but it lacks the emotional aspects and artistic aspects, and, essentially, the creativity of their past two records. I wish they'd return to the Felt Mountain feel. Black Cherry was similar to this style, but it had enough emotion and creativity in the design and this just seems limp compared. If CD #4 is like Felt Mountain, I'll be unbelievably happy. If it's like Black Cherry I'll be fine. But, it might be in their best favor to invent a brand new feel to their music, like the gigantic leap they made from Felt Mountain to Black Cherry (even though Hairy Trees and possibly Forever sounded like they could have been on Felt Mountain. Utopia was synthy, and these are in the same vein as Utopia.) I want a change. Or a Felt-Mountain/Black-Cherry hybrid. But not this. Aside from about 2 or 3 great songs, a few good songs, and one or two "OK" songs, there's nothing to rave about. Expand
  43. CodyW
    Dec 24, 2005
    2
    As an avid listener and appreciater of both Felt Mountain and Black Cherry, their lastest effort Supernature is insultingly commercial and accessible. Over half the songs are undeniably structured to be radio hits. Will Gregory himself was quoted saying that their latest work would "appeal more to radio this time around." They did it on purpose. I have tried so hard to get past this, but As an avid listener and appreciater of both Felt Mountain and Black Cherry, their lastest effort Supernature is insultingly commercial and accessible. Over half the songs are undeniably structured to be radio hits. Will Gregory himself was quoted saying that their latest work would "appeal more to radio this time around." They did it on purpose. I have tried so hard to get past this, but I simply cannot, and I often find myself not being able to finish some of the songs because they are so calculated and fashionable. Supernature belongs in fashion commericals, whereas their prior work belonged in the mountains. Expand
  44. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    A big improvement over black cherry a very contagious kind of music, everyone I've introduced to this music has fallen in love with this album, it's a shame not that many people are familiar with this duo. At least not in this part of the world. They are amazing.
  45. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    A triumph and potentially their best known work. Each track has this touch of disco-revival as well bringing modern elements. Download: Satin Chic, Number 1, Ride a White Horse, Ooh La La.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. So the form of vaguely electroclash pop delivered with frighteningly robotic efficiency has been mastered, but the content itself is the problem.
  2. It's a curious, rather than classic, record - with the hooks to make the leap to the mainstream, but with enough residual oddness to maintain Goldfrapp's air of mystery a while longer.
  3. Q Magazine
    90
    Supernature sounds brilliantly here and now. Less coldly perverse than Black Cherry, it's also a lot of fun. [Sep 2005, p.110]