Surfing the Void Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to the band's Mercury Prize-winning 2007 debut album Myths Of The Near Future was produced by Ross Robinson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. It's thrilling stuff and a reasonable guide to where the Klaxons are heading with Surfing The Void, this dense, doomy, psychedelic album with its tough punk edge. [Sept. 2010, p. 112]
  2. Combining this pandemonium with a more polished finish on the cosmic pop of "Echoes" and trademark falsetto chants of "Venusia," it's safe to say Surfing the Void was worth the wait.
  3. With Simon Taylor-Davies' walloping guitar scree lancing through it, it also sounds distinctly like the work of four individuals who have transcended the genre-meld they spearheaded when new rave broke in 2007 and become a great British band.
  4. 70
    Even Klaxons' most ominously rambunctious tracks grind out plenty of bug-eyed dream-pop chants.
  5. 60
    The gap between theoretical mind-blowing freakout and actual indie underpinnings remains acute, however, as Venusia and Valley Of The Calm Trees suggest Klaxons may just be Mansun with a faster processor. [Sep 2010, p.103]
  6. This idealism, along with the music's sheer density and strangeness, will fascinate some--but while While Surfing the Void's admirable boldness is hard to dismiss, it's also not especially easy to like. Ultimately, it's a difficult album on many levels.
  7. The hooks are in short supply, and the production, as on "Flashover," overstuffed and claustrophobic. That cat photo almost saves the day, but not quite.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    After waiting four whole years, finally the Klaxons released a new album. They actually were going to have the album come out sooner, however their record company deemed it "too experimental" and made them go back and record the album that you see today. They are planning though to have their songs that didn't make the album cut to come out sometime soon: Surfing the Void was a very pleasant surprise, for those who were looking for more of a harder sounding album there are maybe 2-3 songs of the 10 that are like that, one including their first single off this album, Flashover. Regardless they still continue to play their dubbed "nu rave" sound and overall it's a good sophomore album. It'll be interesting to hear their other songs that didn't make the cut when they come out. Expand