Surrounded - Richard Buckner
Surrounded Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mixed by Tucker Martine, the latest release from the alt-country singer-songwriter was written using an electronic autoharp and an octave-shifting pedal.
  • Record Label: Merge
  • Genre(s): Country, Folk, Alt-Country, Americana, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter, Country-Folk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    It is a beautiful sleeplessness captured in Surrounded; in those channels and eddies, fans of his musical landscapes can drift for hours.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    Buckner’s songwriting, both in the arrangements and vocals, is laser-focused on the development and exploration of his scorched-earth aesthetic. Together, they project it with grace, refinement, and skill.
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    His trademark lyrical honesty and sublime fingerpicking remain at the fore. [Oct 2013, p.99]
  4. 70
    Buckner’s record is a vague reflection of something remarkably powerful, a beautiful mirror image of dreams, of dusty reminiscences and pleas that come too late.
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    While Buckner's songs can be awe-inspiring (just ask Bon Iver's Justin Vernon), Surrounded, like its most recent predecessors, requires closer attention in order to fully appreciate.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    The results sound more natural than risky and the entire album finds a nice place between the direct and the obtuse.
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    Good as this is, it could be that much better.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    For Chrissakes...he isn't re-issuing "Bloomed", he's releasing new music. And this new music is Buckner--if not at his best--then, giving us his all: urgent, thoughtful, tuneful and evocative.

    I'll take this Buckner any day.

    If it isn't "Since", that's ok. None of us are "Since" anymore. Unless we're still 19...or 23...or 28. Or whenever we first heard the masterpiece.

    If you'd followed him as he has gotten older, this new album is something new: fulsome, tuneful, raspy (which we've come to know} and honest. It is something of a return. But also something new.

    Just enjoy.