Suspended Animation

  • Record Label: Ipecac
  • Release Date: Apr 5, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkB.
    May 11, 2005
    9
    I got this disc on a whim and did not expect to like it. I felt it was more like a duty, like buying a copy of Carl Orff's "De temporum fine comoedia." You know it's probably good for you, but do you really want to sit through all the tempo shifts and caterwauling? Well, three listens to "Suspended Animation" convinced the answer is "yes." These are not pop songs, or even songs, I got this disc on a whim and did not expect to like it. I felt it was more like a duty, like buying a copy of Carl Orff's "De temporum fine comoedia." You know it's probably good for you, but do you really want to sit through all the tempo shifts and caterwauling? Well, three listens to "Suspended Animation" convinced the answer is "yes." These are not pop songs, or even songs, particularly. But neither are they random nonsense. This is structured, heavy music that pushes the boundaries of the genre, and it does so brilliantly. I wasn't expecting to like this album. Now I love it. Expand
  2. victor
    May 9, 2005
    9
    amazing to hear something new.... Patton is one of the greats, his voice speaks for itself, sure everyone would like more singing from Patton, but just put on this album, watch some cartoons on mute and u'll trip out....... trust me, wicked project...
  3. AlecS
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    A tribute to the freewheeling, larger-than-life, id-driven impulses and perceptions of childhood. Phenomenal musicianship. Great.
  4. Joost
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    + Yes, it's still quite weird sometimes. But when being used to listen to some voice-crap of Patton, this use of his voice makes more a true combination with other instruments, sometimes you can't even distinct one from the other. Watch more cartoons. - No real "songs"
  5. ScottS
    Apr 14, 2005
    8
    For what they are trying to do this is a pretty solid album. I just saw Fantomas live and have a much greater appreciation for them now than before. Seeing Patton orchestrate what, to the unknowing listener, seems to be a bunch of noise really clarifies for you that this is carefully written material and that they recreate it well. In the end, I'm happy I picked this album up.
  6. ollyh
    Apr 15, 2005
    8
    love it. fast and mental, lots of skill on show too.
  7. MikeM
    Apr 19, 2005
    2
    Another boring, pseudo-avant piece of crap by Patton. He's been eating his own tail since...well Disco Volante? Or at least Director's Cut. This guy doesn't progresst; he keeps on rehashing older ideas & the only change is putting them in ridiculous forms - either very short or 70-minute pieces. He's holding too many projects and as a result he loses his cred as an Another boring, pseudo-avant piece of crap by Patton. He's been eating his own tail since...well Disco Volante? Or at least Director's Cut. This guy doesn't progresst; he keeps on rehashing older ideas & the only change is putting them in ridiculous forms - either very short or 70-minute pieces. He's holding too many projects and as a result he loses his cred as an artist. No new ideas here, sadly it's becoming a standard for the once great and inventive musician. Expand
  8. JohnnyQ
    Apr 30, 2005
    4
    It really bums me to even write this, but Fantomas just lost their shit on this one, and not at all in a good way. Their first album's similar lack of focus was forgivable, since it pointed the way towards their AMAZING second and still best album to date, Director's Cut. Since then however, Mike Patton has only proven incapable of fleshing out all the potenially awesome ideas It really bums me to even write this, but Fantomas just lost their shit on this one, and not at all in a good way. Their first album's similar lack of focus was forgivable, since it pointed the way towards their AMAZING second and still best album to date, Director's Cut. Since then however, Mike Patton has only proven incapable of fleshing out all the potenially awesome ideas that flit by at a million miles and hour on this record. 'Suspended Animation' could have been Fantomas' true masterpiece, were it not for Patton's increasingly hopeless lack of focus. Titillating and even exciting for very brief moments to be sure, but ultimately just a frustrating disappointment. Expand
  9. ChrisXXX
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    While somewhat similar to the first Fantomas record, this is much better executed. The vocals, riffs, and sound effects gel together beautifully. I can only hope this leads to The Director's Cut Part 2!!!!! (Note to Patton: Do some music from Sin City. Please!)
  10. AaronH
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    I know, I know, putting a 10 may seem like a crass move. But the more I listen to this album, the more I'm convinced that it's one of the greatest albums of the last couple of years. Patton & Co. have done it again!
  11. BingoI.
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    this album is great!
  12. SheaE
    May 23, 2005
    10
    Another overall quality product from Mike Patton. Great musicianship alongside beautiful artwork and packaging.
  13. DavidF.
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    I found this to be their most accessible release yet, and almost gave it a 9.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Although this LP is sequenced into tiny fragments of varying speeds of mood, the LP feels like one super-caffeine express fairground ride.
  2. 'Suspended Animation' is less a compendium of songs and more a splurging, raging, raping jazz metal fusion machine, weaving in samples, gong noises and assorted cartoon horror.
  3. A fascinating blend of the macabre and the lighthearted, something that will appeal to anyone who appreciates the darker side of both comedy and music.