Sweat

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Blender
    80
    Sweat... is more fun, but that's the point. [Oct 2004, p.126]
  2. If not musically the most creative thing to ever have been called hip-hop, “Sweat” has more than its share of head nodding struts and hands-in-the-air moments.
  3. While some of the posturing about his bling--as well as the repetitive dirty South beats--might get a little tired, this one is guaranteed to keep it hot in herre all night.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The album inevitably deteriorates into generic boasts via guest rappers. [17 Sep 2004, p.75]
  5. Los Angeles Times
    75
    Each collection somewhat sticks to its goal, but each has songs that could have easily fit on either release. [26 Sep 2004]
  6. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    The main thing 'Sweat' has going for it is the fact that it isn't 'Suit.' [2 Oct 2004, p.63]
  7. Nelly's taste in beats for "Sweat" is almost impeccable, and it's easy to imagine three or four of these songs all being singles.
  8. Nelly mixes hip-hop energy and pop ebullience like it's no sweat at all.
  9. These are easily Nelly's best albums so far.
  10. Uncut
    70
    The superior [of the two albums]. [Dec 2004, p.142]
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. PreciousH
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Oh..my God!! I was like the 1st person to lay my hands on the sweat c.d and oh boy am I glad I did. I love this c.d and the pictures inside Oh..my God!! I was like the 1st person to lay my hands on the sweat c.d and oh boy am I glad I did. I love this c.d and the pictures inside are so cute. Good job Nelly keep doin' what shu doin' boo, and dust them haters off. Full Review »
  2. JacobM
    May 20, 2005
    0
    pretty lame album, Even by Cornell's extremely shallow standards, this is unbelievably lazy production. $$$$$$$$
  3. BobJ
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    much better than suit