Synthetica

Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    50
    A full-length listen to Synthetica in all its endlessly-restating glory will only do more to hammer home how few tricks the band has up its collective sleeve.
  2. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    60
    Synthetica's relentless efficiency feels a tad mechanical. [Jul 2012, p.107]
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    Synthetica has the flawless sheen of stainless steel and feels just as workaday, with even the industrial buzz of Artificial Nocturne and Youth Without Youth polished to a characterless gleam.
  4. Jun 15, 2012
    50
    Easy to dismiss, but possible to take seriously if so inclined.
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    40
    For a large chunk of the album, the band seems to assume that Haines's ice-queen snarl somehow lends Synthetica's bland, hookless milieu a cool irreverence, but more often than not, what's supposed to be punk-ish detachment often plays like the group is bored by their own material.
  6. 60
    Throughout Synthetica, an undertow of dystopian unease drags the music away from standard pop territory into darker areas.
  7. There's a lot of kinda clichéd and heavy-handed stuff.
  8. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    On the whole, there is a lack of connection that makes it hard to qualify Synthetica as an entirely memorable album.
  9. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    The dreamy 'Clone' has a touch of the Cocteau Twins about it, while the title track's polished riffs are pure powerpop. Only occasional moments – the lame guitar lick on 'Breathing Under Water' being one – sound outdated, proving that when it's done well, a little nostalgia doesn't hurt.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jun 9, 2016
    6
    Metric's 'electronic' album doesn't push the boundaries enough to be anything more than pop music. I was truly disappointed in this release asMetric's 'electronic' album doesn't push the boundaries enough to be anything more than pop music. I was truly disappointed in this release as only half the tracks are compelling. Download: Clone, Youth Without Youth, Dreams so Real Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2014
    8
    I really liked this album. I agree with the guy that said "it's Metric all grown up". Throughout the whole album there are some great songsI really liked this album. I agree with the guy that said "it's Metric all grown up". Throughout the whole album there are some great songs that keep up the interest. Both the tunes and lyrics capture great sentiments. (Speed of Collapse, Nothing but Time, Clone, etc). This was one of my favorite albums of recent memory. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Easily the best album of 2012. Not only does the record lack a bad song, but the songs flow together beautifully, each building upon the last.Easily the best album of 2012. Not only does the record lack a bad song, but the songs flow together beautifully, each building upon the last. Personally, I even prefer this album to Fantasies, though barely. Full Review »