Synthetica - Metric
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    This album is a wonderful progression in Metric's music. It mixes the old and new of their music, and was amazing to listen too. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes Metric; you will not be disappointed.
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    Metric's new album Synthetica was intended to be a high-concept album. But last minute the band (or the record company) decided to ditch the more literal dreamscape content "Reflections #1,#4,#6,#9 and #11. iTunes offered these tracks pre-order to fans (which were only bits of distorted, ambient noises) The album which includes a double sided mirror, according to Metric's frontwoman Emily Haines, Synthetica is "about forcing yourself to confront what you see in the mirror when you finally stand still long enough to catch a reflection. Synthetica is about being able to identify the original in a long line of reproductions. It's about what is real vs what is artificial". The concept is interesting, the artwork is evocative and beautiful and briefly the music sounds inspired. But over all i feel like it was a missed opportunity. I'm a sucker for an original new-waver but this album has nothing that sounds typically fresh. The most intriguing moment on the album is the song The Wanderlust featuring Lou Reed, that is a HAWT track! Synthetica does have some beautiful moments. And at times i felt like i was day dreaming while listening to all the pretty shimmery noises. But personally i wish there was less pretty and more punk! (7 out of 10) Key Tracks: Artificial Nocturne, Youth Without Youth, Speed the Collapse, Breathing Underwater, Clone, The Wanderlust (feat. Lou Reed) Collapse
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    At this point, Metric's craft is fully realized. The composition of the songs here is undoubtedly the best its ever been, and the lyrics... sweet Jesus.
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    I really like this one, it reminds me of "Let It Out" for the year 2012, but instead of the buzzing guitars you get shimmering synths. At first listen this album doesn't jump out at you like "Let It Out". But it has a major maturity side to it. This album is Metric all grown up.
  5. Jul 1, 2012
    Schizophrenic fifth album from Canadian indie rockers - read full review here:
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    While "Synthetica" touts "I'm not Synthetica/I'll keep the life that I've got", sadly, Metric is really starting to feel just the opposite, lifeless and synthetic. While "Breathing Underwater", "Lost Kitten", and "The Void" are all respectable songs, the rest of Synthetica is dull and dry. Sorry Emily Hanes, but repeating the same verse over and over in a nasally singing voice seems a bit tired out by now. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2012
    The latest, fifth album by Metric is not very different from the former style of playing that we get used to. The problem is that the disc which somehow combines indie rock and new wave is rather trite. The songs are simply boring - even the single "Youth Without Youth" all the time is based on a single bass recital, which by the standards of Metric is prosaic. Fortunately, over time the band clearly turns up the tempo and vary music by interesting, different accents, thanks to whom much of the album presents a higher standards and disguises prior imperfections. Worth mentioning is perhaps the best "Breathing Underwater" and "The Void" with a strongly accentuated instrumental parts. Expand
  8. Jul 27, 2012
    As I usually experience with Metric, it took a while to warm up to a lot of the tracks, but I embraced the gradual enjoyment that emerged as I listened. Of course, a few tracks: "Speed The Collapse", "Clone", "Artificial Nocturne" and "Youth Without Youth" popped out to me from the beginning, but most of the other songs are worth appreciating as well. I've especially grown to love "Dreams So Real", "Synthetica", "Nothing But Time", "Lost Kitten" and "The Void". The album's lyrics are genuine and reflective, symbolic and poignant. There are times when I'll just sit alone and listen to a song on repeat, sometimes for hours on end, because the music really makes you think. There are so many ways to interpret a lot of the songs, from the literal to the purely theoretical. Few albums can do that well. The synths on the album are crisp and flawless, sometimes cosmic, sometimes haunting, sometimes ethereal, but always complementing Emily Haines' voice perfectly. Much like their previous album Fantasies, I have developed a very close connection with this album, and look forward to seeing how Metric evolves in the future. Expand
  9. Aug 26, 2012
    SYNTHETICA is a highly addictive and fun album, which (most METRIC fans will disagree with me on this) in my opinion is their best album. What can I say? Most of my favourite songs by them are on this album.
  10. Dec 9, 2012
    Do you like Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs? Paramore? Best Coast? Beach House? Dum Dum Girls? Yuck!? You
  11. Jul 14, 2013
    Easily the best album of 2012. Not only does the record lack a bad song, but the songs flow together beautifully, each building upon the last. Personally, I even prefer this album to Fantasies, though barely.
  12. Dec 3, 2013
    Metric's 'electronic' album doesn't push the boundaries enough to be anything more than pop music. I was truly disappointed in this release as less than half the tracks are compelling.
  13. May 18, 2014
    I really liked this album. I agree with the guy that said "it's Metric all grown up". Throughout the whole album there are some great songs that keep up the interest. Both the tunes and lyrics capture great sentiments. (Speed of Collapse, Nothing but Time, Clone, etc). This was one of my favorite albums of recent memory.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    Synthetica's relentless efficiency feels a tad mechanical. [Jul 2012, p.107]
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    With nearly each track including a mesmerizing hook or chorus that slowly permeates your subconscious - "Clone" and "Breathing Underwater" leap out from the pack in this regard - Synthetica is a solid album.
  3. 60
    Throughout Synthetica, an undertow of dystopian unease drags the music away from standard pop territory into darker areas.