Synthetica - Metric
Synthetica Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length album for indie rock band was produced by Metric's guitarist Jimmy Shaw.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    What feels right (or at least absolutely right now) about Metric is the perfect balance, every element in its place and in service of a set of sinuous, hook-laden, elegantly crafted pop songs.
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    Synthetica manufactures dependable, big-hearted joy straight through, whether it's slightly gloomy or coquettish or just flat-out pop fun.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    On Synthetica, Metric isn't necessarily making a transition; they're simply taking stock of where they've been before figuring out where they're going.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    Haines is a compelling performer, and there's certainly more than enough decent songs here to satisfy the faithful who may have been put off by the lacklustre Fantasies.
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    Synthetica is something of a polemic, but Haines' moments of ambivalence are what make the record compelling.
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    Synthetica's relentless efficiency feels a tad mechanical. [Jul 2012, p.107]
  7. Jun 8, 2012
    For a large chunk of the album, the band seems to assume that Haines's ice-queen snarl somehow lends Synthetica's bland, hookless milieu a cool irreverence, but more often than not, what's supposed to be punk-ish detachment often plays like the group is bored by their own material.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    Easily the best album of 2012. Not only does the record lack a bad song, but the songs flow together beautifully, each building upon the last. Personally, I even prefer this album to Fantasies, though barely. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    SYNTHETICA is a highly addictive and fun album, which (most METRIC fans will disagree with me on this) in my opinion is their best album. What can I say? Most of my favourite songs by them are on this album. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    Do you like Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs? Paramore? Best Coast? Beach House? Dum Dum Girls? Yuck!? You
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    I really like this one, it reminds me of "Let It Out" for the year 2012, but instead of the buzzing guitars you get shimmering synths. At first listen this album doesn't jump out at you like "Let It Out". But it has a major maturity side to it. This album is Metric all grown up. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2012
    Schizophrenic fifth album from Canadian indie rockers - read full review here: Collapse
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    Metric's new album Synthetica was intended to be a high-concept album. But last minute the band (or the record company) decided to ditch the more literal dreamscape content "Reflections #1,#4,#6,#9 and #11. iTunes offered these tracks pre-order to fans (which were only bits of distorted, ambient noises) The album which includes a double sided mirror, according to Metric's frontwoman Emily Haines, Synthetica is "about forcing yourself to confront what you see in the mirror when you finally stand still long enough to catch a reflection. Synthetica is about being able to identify the original in a long line of reproductions. It's about what is real vs what is artificial". The concept is interesting, the artwork is evocative and beautiful and briefly the music sounds inspired. But over all i feel like it was a missed opportunity. I'm a sucker for an original new-waver but this album has nothing that sounds typically fresh. The most intriguing moment on the album is the song The Wanderlust featuring Lou Reed, that is a HAWT track! Synthetica does have some beautiful moments. And at times i felt like i was day dreaming while listening to all the pretty shimmery noises. But personally i wish there was less pretty and more punk! (7 out of 10) Key Tracks: Artificial Nocturne, Youth Without Youth, Speed the Collapse, Breathing Underwater, Clone, The Wanderlust (feat. Lou Reed) Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    Metric's 'electronic' album doesn't push the boundaries enough to be anything more than pop music. I was truly disappointed in this release as less than half the tracks are compelling. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews