Synthetica - Metric
Synthetica Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length album for indie rock band was produced by Metric's guitarist Jimmy Shaw.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    100
    What feels right (or at least absolutely right now) about Metric is the perfect balance, every element in its place and in service of a set of sinuous, hook-laden, elegantly crafted pop songs.
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    80
    Synthetica manufactures dependable, big-hearted joy straight through, whether it's slightly gloomy or coquettish or just flat-out pop fun.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    75
    On Synthetica, Metric isn't necessarily making a transition; they're simply taking stock of where they've been before figuring out where they're going.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    70
    Haines is a compelling performer, and there's certainly more than enough decent songs here to satisfy the faithful who may have been put off by the lacklustre Fantasies.
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    Synthetica is something of a polemic, but Haines' moments of ambivalence are what make the record compelling.
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    Synthetica's relentless efficiency feels a tad mechanical. [Jul 2012, p.107]
  7. Jun 8, 2012
    40
    For a large chunk of the album, the band seems to assume that Haines's ice-queen snarl somehow lends Synthetica's bland, hookless milieu a cool irreverence, but more often than not, what's supposed to be punk-ish detachment often plays like the group is bored by their own material.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Easily the best album of 2012. Not only does the record lack a bad song, but the songs flow together beautifully, each building upon the last.Easily the best album of 2012. Not only does the record lack a bad song, but the songs flow together beautifully, each building upon the last. Personally, I even prefer this album to Fantasies, though barely. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    SYNTHETICA is a highly addictive and fun album, which (most METRIC fans will disagree with me on this) in my opinion is their best album. WhatSYNTHETICA is a highly addictive and fun album, which (most METRIC fans will disagree with me on this) in my opinion is their best album. What can I say? Most of my favourite songs by them are on this album. Collapse
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Do you like Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs? Paramore? Best Coast? Beach House? Dum Dum Girls? Yuck!? You
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    I really like this one, it reminds me of "Let It Out" for the year 2012, but instead of the buzzing guitars you get shimmering synths. AtI really like this one, it reminds me of "Let It Out" for the year 2012, but instead of the buzzing guitars you get shimmering synths. At first listen this album doesn't jump out at you like "Let It Out". But it has a major maturity side to it. This album is Metric all grown up. Expand
  5. May 18, 2014
    8
    I really liked this album. I agree with the guy that said "it's Metric all grown up". Throughout the whole album there are some great songsI really liked this album. I agree with the guy that said "it's Metric all grown up". Throughout the whole album there are some great songs that keep up the interest. Both the tunes and lyrics capture great sentiments. (Speed of Collapse, Nothing but Time, Clone, etc). This was one of my favorite albums of recent memory. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    7
    Schizophrenic fifth album from Canadian indie rockers - read full review here:Schizophrenic fifth album from Canadian indie rockers - read full review here: http://wearethefilter.blogspot.com.au/2012/07/review-schizophrenic-fifth-album-from.html Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    5
    Metric's 'electronic' album doesn't push the boundaries enough to be anything more than pop music. I was truly disappointed in this releaseMetric's 'electronic' album doesn't push the boundaries enough to be anything more than pop music. I was truly disappointed in this release as less than half the tracks are compelling. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews