Ta-Dah - Scissor Sisters
Ta-Dah Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The surprisingly successful party band's second album includes a track co-written with Elton John.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Even some of the kickiest stuff has an unexpected emotional punch.
  2. Ta-Dah isn't an unimpeachable triumph from front to back, but it's a hell of a good showing.
  3. Similarities to their debut are much easier to find than differences, although the songs aren't quite as memorable (except the single "I Don't Feel Like Dancin'") and Ta-Dah is slightly samey in comparison.
  4. Ta-Dah is easy to like but hard to love.
  5. 70
    The music follows in the ruby-slippered footsteps of the first album. [Oct 2006, p.134]
  6. 60
    [A] time warp of an album, which takes us back to a future where grunge never happened, glam is god, disco balls sit atop the world and glitter falls from the sky. [Sep 2006, p.129]
  7. A very slickly produced record that's practically unlistenable.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. EdwardE
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    More layered than their debut, Scissor Sisters' Ta-Dah is a welcome & unique addition to popular music. When everything on MTV sounds More layered than their debut, Scissor Sisters' Ta-Dah is a welcome & unique addition to popular music. When everything on MTV sounds the same, the Sisters bitch slap the audience out of their stupor & drag 'em onto the dancefloor. Expand
  2. MatthewB
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Better than the first album by a long shot. Warmly produced with nice dark lyrics that belie the jumpy tunes, "Ta-Dah" is one of the more Better than the first album by a long shot. Warmly produced with nice dark lyrics that belie the jumpy tunes, "Ta-Dah" is one of the more twisted party records out there. Why do a lot of people cite "Ooh" as their least favorite track, btw? I've been noticing that and don't understand at all. That song makes me wanna dance my balls off. So good. Expand
  3. HelenJ
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    I love it! Like previous comments light cheerfull and something you can sing to and enjoy.
  4. KevinG
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    This album is so much fun, not many albums make we want to get up and dance...
  5. StephenP
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    If you're expecting a retread of their first album, you'll be disappointed. It takes a few listens to click. But then, my ultimate If you're expecting a retread of their first album, you'll be disappointed. It takes a few listens to click. But then, my ultimate favorite songs on their first cd weren't the ones that popped for me initially either. I have to withhold judgment on what the best songs are on this one for a month or two! Expand
  6. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    7
    The stand out track and lead single on this album, 'I Don't Feel Like Dancin', is a collaboration between Scissor Sisters and The stand out track and lead single on this album, 'I Don't Feel Like Dancin', is a collaboration between Scissor Sisters and their idol Elton John. Combining disco, glam-rock/pop and gay-club influences, the Scissor Sisters were one of the biggest buzz bands in Australia in 2006, with fans loving their camp sense of fun (they had similar success in the UK). A great follow up to their self-titled debut. Expand
  7. RyanM
    Sep 26, 2006
    1
    Loved their first album. This one is a dud. Only "I Don't Feel Like Dancing" is good (one song, one star). If you like broken down Loved their first album. This one is a dud. Only "I Don't Feel Like Dancing" is good (one song, one star). If you like broken down pianos and and when dance bands go honky tonk, then Ta-Da is for you. I just can't believe I waited two years for this! Any one know of a Scissor Sisters replacement band? Expand

See all 29 User Reviews