Ta Det Lugnt

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TilmannM
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Took some time to find a copy (double-vinyl) of this great music - however seems one of the best records I listend the last 24 months.
  2. FergalC
    Oct 29, 2004
    8
    Excellent album. You don't need me to tell you what it might sound like if you've read the reviews. Jazzy, rocky, psyched up wig-outs and it sounds amazing. Go, buy, now!
  3. SørenH
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Living in Denmark I have always perceived Sweden as a brethren-country. We have so much in common in Scandivia...except Swedes know how to make music. This album demonstrates something that I have known for a long time: Swedish music has so much moreto offer than popular classics ABBA and Ace of Base. Check out José Gonzalez, Silverbullit and of course Jens Lekman, just to name a Living in Denmark I have always perceived Sweden as a brethren-country. We have so much in common in Scandivia...except Swedes know how to make music. This album demonstrates something that I have known for a long time: Swedish music has so much moreto offer than popular classics ABBA and Ace of Base. Check out José Gonzalez, Silverbullit and of course Jens Lekman, just to name a few I've come to know recently. Ta det Lugnt is difficult to describe, so you'll have to go buy the album, you won't regret it. Truly World Class! Expand
  4. DarinL
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    I was delightfully refreshed by Dungen's extremely accurate emulation of the psych rock sound. If the lyrics were in english it would be indistinguishable from the original style. I applaud Ejstes sticking to his roots however, and not wavering to the English cash machine.
  5. TacX.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Listen to the arrangements! Listen to the melodies! Listen to the music!
  6. GrintD
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard. Take it Easy.
  7. IrvinC
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    My and my girlfriend expected more summer music from dungen but he surprised us by giving the perfect soundtrack for this fall, melodramatic and angry in a way. We loved it!
  8. HansS
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    I'm kinda jealous. You americans, or wherever you might come from, get to listen to this masterpiece without understanding a word of what Ejste's singing. I'm swedish and I would really love to hear the record with "foreign ears" so I can catch the whole expercience, if you know what i mean... Don't get me wrong now, the lyrics are great. Probably just as wierd as you I'm kinda jealous. You americans, or wherever you might come from, get to listen to this masterpiece without understanding a word of what Ejste's singing. I'm swedish and I would really love to hear the record with "foreign ears" so I can catch the whole expercience, if you know what i mean... Don't get me wrong now, the lyrics are great. Probably just as wierd as you hope them to be. Expand
  9. DavidS
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    A definite breath of fresh air. I have no clue what the guy is saying the but the entire time i am captivated in this whole other world.... everyone HAS to listen to this.
  10. ted
    Nov 28, 2004
    9
    Most of the lyrics may seem sounding funny for english-speaking people, but for European listeners they don't. Now i want to start learning Swedish - if the whole language is as beautiful as these magnificent songs.. Best album of the year!
  11. Naoum
    Dec 30, 2004
    9
    Incredible album!! A fusion of the jam scene and the indie rock folk scene is what makes Dungen incredible. Soothing but exciting, their poetic and laid back sounding lyrics mixed with high intensity instrumentals and jams can make jsut about anyone like this cd!!
  12. Nick
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    An amazing record by an amazing artist. The music is so beautiful that you will forget that it is in Swedish. "Du e for fin for mig" is an instant classic.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. What they said.
  2. An exceedingly triumphant psych-pop oddity.... I doubt 2004 will birth a more blissful sonic encounter than Ta Det Lugnt.
  3. Ejstes crafts songs where throwback psych-pop melts effortlessly into cascading soundscapes, jazz interludes, and epic instrumentation.