Take A Look In The Mirror

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2003
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 143

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2016
    8
    Far from Korn's most inventive work, the band still brings enough angry edge to make this album worth listening to. There's a raw quality to the sound. Davis' guttural screams and heavy base mix well with the angsty lyrics to create a very aggressive, if unrefined, sound.

    This also isn't the group's deepest writing. The songs are very in your face with their message. That's not a bad
    Far from Korn's most inventive work, the band still brings enough angry edge to make this album worth listening to. There's a raw quality to the sound. Davis' guttural screams and heavy base mix well with the angsty lyrics to create a very aggressive, if unrefined, sound.

    This also isn't the group's deepest writing. The songs are very in your face with their message. That's not a bad thing. Sometimes it's just nice to listen to some music that does an excellent job of saying exactly how you are feeling by getting directly to the point and cutting out the frills. The whole album is basically about the hate and rage that comes from being in bad situations. Because sometimes you've just got to say "I'm pissed. Stay away or get hurt."

    There is a certain rushed feel to it that can make some songs come off as kind of sloppy. Yet, when all is said and done that angry tone and oh so Korn groove to the album still make for a great listen. It's got just the right amount of edge.
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2016
    7
    Undeniably good. However, to me, it feels like a lesser version of Untouchables. "Right Now", "Did My Time" and a few other songs are very classic Korn by now, really cool, but most of the album doesn't hold up that well anymore. It sounds aggressive and heavy, and that's great, but it lacks originality. I'd say it's a good record, it really is, but not as good as the previous 5 albums.
  3. Sep 24, 2015
    8
    Take a Look in the Mirror doesn't have the same grand sound that its predecessor Untouchables has, but what it lacks in grandness is its raw and intense sound that makes Korn a great, fearful and foreboding force in the world of the much-despised world of nu metal.
  4. Sep 13, 2015
    10
    This album is really heavy!All the songs are very good, especially Did My Time and Counting On Me! They wanted to make a heavy record and they did it.
    Great job!
  5. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Underated Album, KoRn Rules, "Right Now" Is The Best Of The Band, Maybe The Most Brutal Album Ever Made By KoRn m/ Hell Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    This is the best Korn album ever!!! Korn is back with a super heavy album that is by far BETTER than follow the leader, This is the best album they have ever came out with....nuf said...
  7. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    I love it and shows how KoRn is heavy , it maybe the heaviest album they have or maybe its untitled but I love this album the songs are heavy and fits right in with Jonathan's vocals and you are able to hear more of Fieldy's bass it has more power.
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    An unfairly criticised effort from the nu-metal piece: TALITM reaffirms the faded fact that the genre can still sound as heavy as anything and keep enough groove to maintain its fans. 'Counting on Me', 'Break Some Off' and 'Right Now' are fantastic brutal tracks that prevent angry youthfulness from leaving the band.
  9. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    i like this album .its dark ,sad, its a bit trashy and i like it. but i think that i like it because my favorite band is nirvana ............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  10. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    Back to basics... that was what the approach was supposed to be for the album "back to our heavy, aggressive roots" It does not quite reach the aim. But that doesnt mean TALITM is a bad album.
    Instrumentally and lyrically speaking, it does throwback to perhaps Follow The Leader, and in ways, Life is Peachy, but essentially, its a halfway album. It has all the Korn aspects we know and love.
    Back to basics... that was what the approach was supposed to be for the album "back to our heavy, aggressive roots" It does not quite reach the aim. But that doesnt mean TALITM is a bad album.
    Instrumentally and lyrically speaking, it does throwback to perhaps Follow The Leader, and in ways, Life is Peachy, but essentially, its a halfway album. It has all the Korn aspects we know and love. The bagpipes come out again. Jonathan does scatting. And there are pounding aggressive low end bass lines.
    All too recycled in this effort. But all in all, its a solid album.
    Expand
  11. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    5
    Pretty poor album from Korn, doesnt get anywhere near the darkness of Issues or the groove of Follow The Leader
  12. NagyS.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    omg, it's amazing....great job !!
  13. KevinA.
    May 22, 2007
    9
    I liked a good majority of songs on this alblum although I do have to admit they fell of pace with this alblum
  14. DavidC
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    this was korn going back to there roots a dark raw sound that has not been heard since LIFE IS PEACHY... thanx guys thanx for everything
  15. DesireeM
    Sep 20, 2006
    0
    Korn did a horrible job on this album, it sounds like a dieing cat on steriods. korn is much more capable of making better music. they are a disgrace
  16. markp
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    korn kicks ASS!!!!!
  17. RageMcTurpentine
    May 21, 2006
    10
    No comment needed, just sick and tired of hearing Korn and genre in the same sentence.
  18. RaymanQ
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    First KoRn album I ever heard, and personally my favorite. I'm not saying the best, just my favorite. Songs like Counting On Me really dig deep inside.
  19. AzzA
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Great album - fantastic energy throughout, the most Death Metal of all Korn's releases
  20. patricks
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Best album ever. Whole new sound for Korn. I have listened from the beginning and this is my favorite.
  21. GoodDayMyChildTricky
    Nov 9, 2005
    7
    The Best Album From KoRn
  22. edm
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    if u lyk metal, and i mean hevy metal, dis is da album 4 u. 4 me fanty i luv suf dat. 'Did My Time' roks my world if u dont lyk it i wil eat ur kids!
  23. SteppedAcrossThatLine
    Jun 11, 2005
    6
    hmm this album it's..alright. some of you say its their 'best album yet' which somewhat concerns me because if this is their 'best album' then god, the others before must be shit. but their other albums are awesome so yeah. see, im not dissing KoRn 'cause im a fan. i just think that 'Take a Look In the Mirror' could have been better then it was. hmm this album it's..alright. some of you say its their 'best album yet' which somewhat concerns me because if this is their 'best album' then god, the others before must be shit. but their other albums are awesome so yeah. see, im not dissing KoRn 'cause im a fan. i just think that 'Take a Look In the Mirror' could have been better then it was. Also they DO have good songs on this album but besides that, a lot of the songs sound pretty much the same. & "m4gg0t for life" i dont see what being a fan of Slipknot would taint your view on KoRn. cause im also a Slipknot fan and i still think KoRn's awesome Expand
  24. m4gg0tforlife
    Apr 8, 2005
    3
    It's not because im a slipknot fan but this album really sucks... There's a lot of basslines idd but some songs are just based on one bassline that doenst change and that gets me bored. They should do something with their instruments
  25. somebodysomeone
    Feb 15, 2005
    9
    v good album back to basics for korn but i do agree wat G R said that jon davis tends to be screamin more on this album were the haunitin tone usally in his voice would have been better off. i think anyway
  26. andyp
    Dec 24, 2004
    9
    - Back to their Roots - death metallish vocals very effective - hard hitting tracks - excellent riffs
  27. GR
    Nov 29, 2004
    8
    I'm a die hard fan of KoRn. Of this album, sorta.. John Davis can really sing, but his voice isn't like the haunting tone it normally is. He seems to be screaming all the time, not so much as singing in his normal fashion. Other than that there's kickass guitar and Did My Time is one of their best songs they've made yet.
  28. JoshS
    Nov 16, 2004
    8
    not too bad overall a little bit wingy but keeping alive th old korn in them very mature in their vocal and instrumental overall a very good album
  29. Dan
    Nov 14, 2004
    8
    kinda cool they went back to the style of the first album on this 1. its good stuff. i give it an 8 because 'follow the leader' and 'untouchables' are better.
  30. AnthonyW
    Jul 20, 2004
    10
    Fuck all those who oppose KoRn! This has gotta be the best cd yet! KoRn are the Gods of rock......keep it up, HELL YEAH!
  31. GlenB
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    Screw the magazine critics - this album is great. Heavy as hell with unreal basslines. Keep it up Korn!
  32. hellfire
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    it kicks ass! all other bands shud put their albums away, take a look in the mirror puts them all to shame!
  33. AndrewC
    Jun 8, 2004
    7
    Not nearly as masterful as ?Issues?, but Korn fans (and only Korn fans) will like it.
  34. KIRKH
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    this album kicks ass. One of my favorites since follow the leader. to bad it is only my friends cd. i want to damn that kid to hell. KORN WILL LIVE FOREVER.
  35. rubinl
    May 22, 2004
    10
    this is one of the best albums produced by korn they are the best
  36. sarahkeuh
    May 7, 2004
    8
    it's a great album, I buyed it today and I already love it!!!!!
  37. AnssiSeppälä
    Mar 9, 2004
    9
    Strong, violent and yet beautiful. Great therapy.
  38. someone
    Feb 22, 2004
    7
    Could you please add Logo mag's review of that CD as you do in other cases? I'm beginning to think that the choice of reviews isn't objective here
  39. oldschooll
    Feb 20, 2004
    10
    this is their second best cd surpassed only by their first self titled 1st album. but returning to their roots was defenatly a good choice for Koßn. way to go. me and agg agg can burn in hell. yay.
  40. GarthB
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    This cd is the shit!! hee haww for korn.Fuck all that rap ,and gay high school rock shit(good charlotte,and that gay ass glory? band,) and papa roach fucken sucks too. amen to KoRn
  41. Jonny3065
    Feb 6, 2004
    8
    This album really pulls all KoRn's CD's togther. If I saw KoRn I would really give them a thumbs for this CD. Great Job KoRn!
  42. Pidix_
    Feb 4, 2004
    9
    Why rate it lower?
  43. BradT
    Jan 28, 2004
    9
    ok definately a great cd, whole lot better than any other metal bands out there. korn has come back with there heaviest cd to date and some of their most energetic songs. a must have for all korn fans and metal fans alike.
  44. KarlLAM3NT{}
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    It is the very best album that KoRn have ever made! it has heavy sounds and really ass kicking lyrics! they`r heavy than ever! Hail 2 KoRn !!!!! m/
  45. StacyC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    Well, anyway, this a really nice disk. John D. is such a cutey! I really like how they have guitars in this, (I think there are a lot of notes too). So if you want to hear a rockin' cd, plus good lyrics, the world sucks right on!
  46. JuliusJ
    Jan 21, 2004
    8
    this is awesome album. korn is one of the greatest bands ever. their music drives people crazy even in the eastern europe. i gave an 8 because i think it's not their best album. but anyway... korn rules!!!
  47. BreannaR
    Jan 17, 2004
    10
    This and follow the leader are their best CDS! this CD kicks ass!!!!! i would definetly recommend this! my favorite song on this cd is alive and my other favorites would be right now, did my time, play me, when will this end, counting on me, deep inside! and critics are idiots! giving this cd 51 and untouchables 77? this should be getting much higher than untouchables because this is MUCH This and follow the leader are their best CDS! this CD kicks ass!!!!! i would definetly recommend this! my favorite song on this cd is alive and my other favorites would be right now, did my time, play me, when will this end, counting on me, deep inside! and critics are idiots! giving this cd 51 and untouchables 77? this should be getting much higher than untouchables because this is MUCH better than untouchables!!! Expand
  48. MikeV
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    I think that this is the best Korn album to date. Anyone that says that they have heard all of this before hasn't listened to what Jonathan is saying. Excellent work from the boys from Bakersfield.
  49. BiggestkornFan
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    This album is the best if u hvnt heard it then dont r8 it korn r the best evr and they always will b .I highly recomend this 2 any one
  50. davisk
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    awesome Cd maybe the best one yet, expressive lyrics
  51. JacobM
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    This Cd is awesome jonathan's voice clearly expresses his emotions as do his lyrics,unique bass if you ever hear a song with the slapping bass sound you automatically know this is Korn This is a serious band with serious lyrics they are awesome with unique beats and guitars.
  52. ThomasB
    Jan 10, 2004
    8
    When I first listened to it, it seemed their second worst album after "Life is Peachy" for me. But when I listened to it more, I became to like it more too. My favourite songs for this album are Counting on me, One, Did my time, Alive. Though I still think that this is Korn's second worst album, in comparacent to other bands albums I like it a lot and I rate it with 8.
  53. MattC
    Jan 7, 2004
    9
    I think this CD is sooo fucking cool... i even bought it for my g/f and she fucking likes it.... to the guy who hasn't heard the CD u should suck ur own cock!!!
  54. TrentReznor
    Jan 5, 2004
    8
    Great new CD of KoRn. A must have for people who like the new works of this kick ass band. I feel like Jon is holding back sometimes in his vocals so no 10 but the cd rules!!!
  55. PeterW
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    Great CD! I listened to it for a long time. I'm still not tired of it. Anyone with a problem about this CD isn't a KoRn fan.
  56. steffyg
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    this is a bad ass cd. if you are a huge Korn fan like i am, reviews like new music express have do not mean shit
  57. me
    Jan 1, 2004
    0
    i only give it a 0 because there are no lower ratings you can give. i haven't heard it either and i hope i never do. i can't believe they're taken seriously as a band.
  58. LuisZ
    Jan 1, 2004
    9
    This cd KICKS ASS. Korn went back to their roots and made a awesome album. I didnt expect this album to be soo good but it blew me away. The whole cd ALL 13tracks are good. Includin da bonus 1
  59. matt
    Dec 31, 2003
    2
    it's not that korn sucks, the guitars are really good. it's just that jonathan davis needs to get over himself and write better lyrics. and fieldy sucks at bass too. stop slapping and crying, this is strike two. one more bad one and they'll be done.
  60. AaronS
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    Why people who vote 0's for something they haven't listened to makes no sense. I actually own the CD, and I like it!
  61. AndrewW.
    Dec 29, 2003
    5
    not their best album...but it's alright...their best will always be the fisrt album they made:Korn and to you "agg agg" no korn does not suck and neither does this record ... you should consider listening to the album you're rating before submitting ill-conceived asinine coments about a band you've never heard, ass clown.
  62. StaceyH
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    I love this Album and all of the Korn albums! People don't know fuck all! shut the fuck up if you wanna diss KORN!
  63. StaceyH
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    I love this Album and all of the Korn albums! People don't know fuck all! shut the fuck up if you wanna diss KORN!
  64. SpizzyMcTwitch
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    korn kicks ass and johnatan davis is hot. but thats just my opinion. ;p
  65. bruno
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    so...by the time you listen to this record, you'll be able to 'rate' korn, dumb ass.
  66. MatthewWestSpears
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    This album is perfect, because the band created their fully existence of music to the publics.
  67. aggagg
    Dec 14, 2003
    0
    i havent heard it but korn sucks ass!
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. ‘Take A Look In The Mirror’ doesn’t just sound like a bad album, it sounds like a broken record.
  2. All fine in principle, except we've heard it all a million times before.
  3. Blender
    40
    Korn are ultra-confident, forgoing the blandishments of heavy-rock virtuoso conceptualist Michael Beinhorn, who produced their last album. [Mar 2004, p.121]