Take Care - Drake
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 210

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This album will be a classic, Drake created his own style of rap/hiphop. On his first album, the influence of 'Cash Money' producers was clear in some songs (Miss Me, Fancy). Even though that was a good album, it wasn't a great one. This album on the other hand, is great. The influence of James Blake is very clear in this album, leading to some revolutionary songs with revolutionary beats (to give an example, Crew Love). The Jamie xx produced Take Care has a beautiful build-up, and reminds me of "Weak become heroes" by The Streets (aka Mike Skinner). Instead of chosing for industry-leading guest stars, he has chosen guest artists whose voice/rap skills fit the song perfectly (except for Lil Wayne and Nicki Minaj, but they need to be on it for obvious reasons). Just like he gives Rihanna a surprising vocal role in Take Care; not the powerful Rihanna you'd expect, but an almost timid Rihanna. It's very obvious that he was left with creative control this time. I'm willing to bet he's going to receive a grammy for this one.

    "Take Care", "Marvin's Room", "Crew Love", "Lord Knows" are instant classics.
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Im not a Drake stan in anway, but to deny this album is nothing but brilliant would be idiotic. When was this album ever labelled as purely rap, anyone hating on the RnB elements has never heard Drake before is just looking for an excuse to hate. Why are you listening to his second album if you feel so negatively towards him? Just admit you like him already, this album is incredible.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    This album is unique. To some it will be the start of something great. To other like myself it is just another album. Nothing to special here, skip this one and go for Blue Slide Park.
  4. N10
    Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Stop hating!
    You guy's who says that Drake is the worst rapper, have you even heard other rappers. And I mean Sou lja Boy, is he really better than Drake? Certainly not. It's so many rappers who sucks right now...
    We have so many bad rapper's, and I know it. Listen to the other rappers and then comment...
    Drake= Do pest.. I love this album, Do Right And Kill Everything! OVO
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Rap has never sounded as generic. And trust me, it was pretty bad already. Lyrics on this record are honestly the **** to day, all he does is **** and the few attempts at being sensible fail completely and just sound bland. That people still listen to this crap horrifies me.
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    I wanted a rap album and instead got an R&B Album. There are a few tracks I acknowledge as pretty good such as Shot For Me, Over My Dead Body, Lord Knows, The Motto, and Headlines, but most of it is singing, and I wanted a rap album. It shouldn't be classified as rap. Album was average in my opinion.
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    good album one of the best this year..you cannot front this is a great album..even the bonus cuts on this album prove to be one of his best works to date..............................................
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Drake has had his auspicious begins with the omnipresent mixtape, So far Gone. The success that catapulted him into stardom. He was initially known for the popular teen show , Degrassi but it wasn't in till his mixtape success and subsequent signing with Young Money, Cash Money that he found his calling. His greatly anticipated debut album Thank Me later was meet with commercial success but some what mixed feelings critically. A little over a year later Drake has released his second full length album, Take Care. He has finally found his niche. It is not as a heavy rapper or a trey songz r&b singer. Its a mix of both, the songs on Take Care are sometimes slow but always crisp, almost palpable. its a mastery of music and has to be one of the best album in awhile, not the best rap album but one of the best musical albums in a long, long time. Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing CD. Great job Drake! I don't even know what to say. Pure art, pure magic, pure amazing. It's got a little bit of everything in there. It's a little different, and it definitely is not a pure rap CD, there is alot of R&B in it, but he pulls it off with class and style.
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard. Drake really shows his skills and potential on Take Care. Haters gonna hate because it doesn't have as much rapping as thank me later, but the r&b adds a soothing feel to the album. Personal favorites are Over My Dead Body, Take Care, Headlines, and Lord Knows.
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is definitely the best album of 2011. Each and every song combines some sort of emotion and the beats are just too amazing to even describe. The only set back is one awkward verse from nicki minaj in make me proud or else this is the perfect album. Everyone should buy this album for sure
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    When rap was considered new (late 80s and early 90s) it represented a ghetto lifestyle where people wrote to express their anger. Now, in our era rap is used in to sell a fake lifestyle where partying and sex is the main philosophy. While this is entertaining in many ways, it lacks depth. The only thing that bothers me in Drake's Take Care is the fact that this lifestyle is still the major theme of the album. However what Drake does which differs the rapper from others is to find soul in this one-dimensional made-up all pink lifestyle. Drake manages to sell his life in a dramatic way with sounding more brave than **** in an honest way. That's why the album is the best rap album of 2011. It is dark, emotional, courageous and smart. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This album is a classic OVOXO take care. There are several good songs on this album that represent the city that he is from and it is very special in its own way. This is because he has unique features that drive Drake's style into a new and more evolved direction. Who says change is bad?
  14. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best rap album of the year. It reminds me of Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Take Care is well produced, great songwriting, and a lengthy album, which I like. Good job Drake.
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Will this album be regarded a classic in 10 years time? I don't know and I can't tell. What I can tell is that Drake put a lot of effort in this album, in which he tries to convey us the way his life is after his new found fame. The themes are as expected, troubles with adjusting to fame, love, his dealing with criticism and etc. His lyrical skills are solid, not amazing, but very solid, and, to be honest, much better than I expected. The production is top-notch, I especially love the production on "Lord Knows" by Just Blaze, which features Rick Ross. The guest stars are very well selected, and the ones which shined the most would be Kendrick Lamar, Andre 3000 and The Weeknd, who did amazing jobs on their songs respective songs. All in all, one of the finest albums, if not the best, in hip-hop since Kanye's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". Drake certainly did his best to push the boundaries and only time will tell will this album become a true classic, as many say it will. I, for one, certainly hope so. A great 9/10. Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Drake's sophomore album Take Care met my expectation and exceeded them. The album is very cohesive, the production is top notch, the lyrics are nothing amazing, but they're very solid. Drake's singing also sounds much better. The feature's are also very good, and none of them feel unnecessary. The only bad thing is there are some tracks that could be considered "filler". All in all, this is an amazing album. My favorite song has to be The Ride. 10/10 Expand
  17. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Take Care is a great album. Drake is extraordinary. I really admire his uniqueness and the way he stands out from other rappers. It's great to see something different in the hip hop world for a change. I like how he has his own unique style and does his own thing instead of just jumping on the bandwagon of rappers that just brag about their money, cars, clothes, jewelry, and the groupies that grovel before them; or sing about selling drugs or being violent; in all their songs. Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Just bought the album today. You can tell Drizzy put a LOT OF WORK into this album. A well deserved 10/10! Haters can hate all they want. Album of the Year Nominee for sure.
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    fantastic and original album from drake.he has created his own style of music which is brilliant. The album is very versatile too, you see drake go deep and learn about his past and problems in 'look what you've done' as well as relatable stories such as 'marvins room'. The album will appeal to both sexes, men can relate to his stories, feelings and past experiences with women.best album of 2011 and the best album i have heard since my beautiful dark twisted fantasy.well done drake, take care :) Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    Are u Judging this as a Hiphop Album Or A R&B Album?



    Because as a Hiphop Album this is a disgrace to the genre 90 percent of the album is singing last time I checked Hiphop was rapping but even if You look at this as a R&B album its still trash No men should be able to listen to a album talking about saving strippers and hating on another men on top of that the features are horrible
    Nicki minji and the 3 songs with lil wayne are trash Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The album is great. Front to back, not a boring song. Drake takes you through his journey of how he reacts around people with his new fame. Also, Drake holds no words and goes after other rappers and critics who make fun of him for being soft.
  22. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Upon my first listening of Drake's album, I honestly did not like it that much. It was a really new sound that I wasn't used to. But after listening to it again, I realized the innovative quality it possessed. All of the beats corresponded perfectly with Drake's half-singing half-rapping style. Although a lot ofs songs on this album are him singing, it is obvious that he made songs which he felt were appropriate for his emotions, which is to be commended in today's industry in which artists put out what will make the most money. Overall, this is by far my favorite album! Expand
  23. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Drake created the album he wanted too. Sonically, it is amazing. The only weak points are features by non other than Lil Wayne. Amazing production as well. Most of the production is handled by 40, but Just Blaze also gives Drake what potential could be the best beat of the year. Other than the Wayne features and Make Me Proud, it is an awesome album and should finally bring Drake a grammy.

    Best Tracks: Underground Kings, Over My Dead Body, Look What You've Done, Lord Knows, The Ride
    Expand
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This album is an instant classic Lord Knows and Look What You've Done will go down in history. He starts strong with Over My Dead body and on a light-hearted note with The Motto. He has a string of guests who all make the album all the better. This is definitely the best album of 2011.
  25. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This is a phenomenal job done by rapper Drake. Great blend of hip-hop & R&B. The standouts of the album are "Look What You've Done", "Lord Knows", "Cameras", "Over My Dead Body", and "We'll Be Fine" This is definitely in my Top 3 hip-hop albums of the year.
  26. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This album made me like Drake even more. I like the fact that he incorporates different types of musical styles into his songs. He's not a bad singer so his technique is working in his favour. Each song creates a different atmosphere. I especially like his take on Juvenile's "Back That A** Up" (Practice). It's brilliant. As for the lyrical themes with the exception of growing into wealth, I can relate to it. Which makes this album perfect. Expand
  27. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This album is great. Better than expected. Drake is so unique and diverse and those are two things we need more of in the music world. Drake has his own distinct sound that no one has ever heard before. I love the fact that you can feel his emotions through his music. People may say that hes too sensitive and hes not real but not everybody wants to hear about money,drugs,clubbing, and sex all the time that's not what life is all about. People want to hear something real something they can relate to and I can surely relate to the songs on this album. Drake has done so well with Take Care. The tracks are melodic,rhythmic,lyrical.. Great 5 stars. Expand
  28. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    It seems that Drake has done it again. I manage to like some of his songs, but there really isn't much praise for HIS talent. His producers know how to lay down good beats for his vocal aesthetic, but when you listen to what he's saying, how "good" is it? There nothing special about what he's saying or how he's saying it. The lyrics are very often humdrum and unimaginative. Yes, he's able to involve emotion in his songs, but they're illustrated very blandly,plus he's already expressed these same emotions to us in his previous music. A lot of these guests don't really offer much, except The Weeknd & Andre 3000. Lil Wayne can be very distracting and has some lyrics even weaker than Drake's. Stevie Wonder's harmonica solo does little other than put his name on the album. This album could have easily been parred down from 80 minutes to create a much tighter, concentrated effort, but he just meanders around talking about nothing new. Maybe he wanted to top Kanye's MBDTF (which he does, timewise), but he doesn't even touch it in quality. Pharoahe Monch, Big K.R.I.T. (mixtape, whatever), Talib Kweli, & The Beastie Boys have released much better hip-hop albums this year. I have no idea why this is being called the best of the year. 5.5/10, rounded down since almost everyone else is hyping it up. Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This album was beast I love it man u can't hate on it man.â
  30. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    From time to time we see new artist in this Hip Hop game that gets attention in regards to his or her style or spoken lyrics and there's not a doubt that Drake is one of those artists. It wasn't until he signed to Cash Money Records that his spoken lyrics tone downed and went towards a monotonic or hypnotic style that will utterly most attract female listeners with its "sex appeal" and quite frankly depressing love scenarios. Drake's "Thank Me Later" was in fact filled with such monotonic or hypnotic depressing love songs but with "Take Care", he balances it out but it all sounds like his ego is forever increasing. This is not a good thing for a creation of an album... Expand
  31. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Take Care is clearly a big step up from Thank Me Later. Drake's sophomore album shows a bit more of his versatility seeing that a lot of the tracks are completely unconventional and he makes them his own. (Ex: Crew Love). Minus the fact that Andre clearly stole The Real Her, minus that Lil Wayne had an average at best verse on HYFR, and lastly minus We'll Be Fine was clearly a club anthem that in my eyes was filler, this album was solid. Expand
  32. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Artists like this is the reason for a near-dying genre. i can not take listenin to this guy, i gave him a chance w/o bein biased downloaded this album...and every song just made me say wtf is you talking bout...stop crying on every track...some rappers can get away with talking about relationships, pain, struggle, hardships...but this dude crying about girls in every song. smh. this ALBUM FOR THE LADIES! Expand
  33. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    Drake is constantly maturing as an musician. He is not necessarily a rapper, but more of an experimental artist. His first album, "Thank Me Later", and extended play, "So Far Gone", focused primarily on rap, hip hop, and main-stream pop. However, in "Take Care", he experiments with many different genres, notably in "Headlines" (electronica/pop) and "The Motto" (progressive rap-core). Drake's sophomore project is not perfect, but not too far from it. Expand
  34. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Good album. However, it's way longer than it has to be; if he cut out a couple bad songs I'd happily give the album an 8.5./10. But he didn't. Some more down sides of the album are a lot of the songs have similar beats and bass lines. Lyrically it's okay, when he tries the one liners he fails miserably, but the story telling is nice - gets repetitive throughout the album though. He's not a great singer, if you've heard Frank Ocean or John Legend you'd agree with me, so his slow singing songs get really boring. His bangers are a little generic, just him rapping over a hot beat. Nothing in this album really stands out, I'll forget about it by next month. Drake is at his best, when he's just on a nice smooth beat like "The Ride" and he's just rapping his heart out. Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Once again Drake shines. This is a unique album and though it's not as good as the first one it stands out by itself.................................
  36. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    I'm not the typical Drake or Young Money fan, but Take Care is phenomenal. From start to finish Drake shows his different styles; Slow/Soothing R&B (Doing It Wrong) to Fast Rap (The Motto). This album is very unique. Stop hating on Drake because he is not your regular rapper. Maybe this isn't the greatest Rap, per say, but it is fantastic MUSIC, and that's what matters, not the genre.
  37. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    For "Take Care," subtext means everything. The enduring themes -- that of insecurity and narcissism, of self-indulgence and temperance, and of emotional cascades and sheer detachment -- are highlighted by an atmospheric production which beautifully underscores Drake's pathos; indeed, he is a young man thrust into the spotlight, reaping the fruits of his labour while also being deprived of the subtleties that we come to take for granted in our mundane worlds. While he hasn't mastered the lyrical fluidity of a Kanye West, Drake has still asserted himself as a mainstay in the "new school." This era of daring introspection, spearheaded by the aforementioned Mr. West, will continue to catalyze hip-hop's metamorphosis into a pure art-form. Although this album deserves an eight out of ten, I'll give it a perfect ten to improve the aggregate user score (I'm just a fan after all). In essence, this is a great album for those who enjoy a more eclectic sound. However, if you're looking for a "pure" hip-hop record, try something like Kendrick Lamar's "Section 80" or Big K.R.I.T.'s upcoming "Live from the Underground." Expand
  38. Nov 17, 2011
    4
    I wanted to like this one a lot more than I did. The replay value is slim for me, as I have to be in a certain mood (depressed) to get into the bulk of these songs.

    Drake is starting to feel very one-note to me. He says the same things over and over, just refines the music and words a bit. But the subject matter never changes with this guy. Is it narcissism that causes him to not be able
    to venture onto other topics besides his immediate world? I guess he really meant it when he said "I only care about money & the city that I'm from". That's fine, but why should I care about his money and the city that he's from??? I wouldn't even call this CD a hip-hop CD. It's an R&B CD with hip-hop leanings, really. And it's kinda lifeless. Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A well-crafted, elegant collection of songs that are meant to be listened to more than once to truly appreciate their textured layers. More than anything - it is a CD to be played while driving through the city alone...almost like a soundtrack to the soul. A classic.
  40. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Has there ever been a rapper as charismatic as Drake? In some sense, the phenomenal success of his platinum debut, Thank Me Later, is just one more testament to how much people like the guy.
  41. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Do you know what's more magical in these record? When you get into it, you REALLY get into it.
    Take Care is an album made to be heard with patience and attention, because once you discover how beautiful he is, you'll be amazed. Favorites: Over My Dead Body, Headlines, Take Care, Make Me Proud, Cameras, The Real Her, The Practice.
  42. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    After a year of growing and development as a artist/singer/rapper Take Care is overall a masterpiece of not only Drake as a Genre but as also a new "Style". Thank Me Later was greatly loved and greatly respected and after a few months people were wondering what Drakes next album was gonna be next and i am pretty sure no one would have thought of Take Care. Take Care blends a mix of Low Vibe, Dimmed Light sort of music which also has a big amount of Realism. Realism is something most people don't expect on a Album but Drake takes it and runs with it. Bringing his love life and personal life is daring and some what dangerous but Drake makes it Successful(Yes just like the Song with Trey Songz). Crew Love is a great example of the low vibe and great vocals by (The Weeknd), Underground King and HYFR shows the arrogance but yet shows the true charismatic side of Drake that most of us know and love. Headlines is one of those songs that does not talk about love or sadness and it shows the real Upbeat Drake brings into the album with the High and Lows being the meaning of the entire album. We'll be fine, Dreams money can buy, and Lord Knows is the Brain and body of the Album and shows a real push that the Album needs and proceeds greatly. Over my Dead body and Shot for me are basically right out the bat the love songs that Drake gives and shows to his audience that hes different from other rappers and there way of explaining there love to a Women. The Other songs fall into those categorys but the one song that really overall Shocked me and really had its own lift was "Doing it Wrong", maybe Stevie Wonder's powers gave Drake the inspiration to make such a meaning full deep Song. The reason Doing it Wrong shines from the other songs is because it really really shows Drake as not only a artist but as a Person, this song is (in my opinion) the blood and heart of the entire album it guides, shows, represents the overall meaning of the Album and (again in my opinion) is one of the reasons this album will be a classic and well known albums of the future. Expand
  43. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Album of the year. Drake shows a lot of growth as a rapper on this album. His flow has improved considerably. His songwriting lyrics are great as usual (If you don't think Drake is a good lyricist you're ignorant or oblivious) personal, emotional, witty, his punchlines and braggadocio are better this time around also. There are also quite a few entendres throughout the tracks which, I think, Is fantastic. Not too many features and they are mostly appropriate. The Weeknd does a great job on "Crew Love" in a song that fits both artists well and provides some nice background vocals on "Cameras" "Good Ones Go Interlude" and "The Ride". Even though it sounds like The Weeknd is all the album it's not as overpowering as it sounds. Other than "Crew Love" and the chorus of "The Ride" he just does his crooning in the background thing. Rihanna's chorus on the title track "Take Care" is good showing very appropriate for the song. Kendrick Lamar's verse on "Buried Alive Interlude" is very good over a unique, cool sounding instrumental. Nicki Minaj has a disappointing appearance on the single "Make Me Proud" ("I'm a star... Sheriff badge." Really...?) though it is probably the worst song on the album anyway. Birdman doesn't really feature on "We'll Be FIne" just talks a bunch of **** Drakes way but he's at the end so it's very easy to skip over him without missing any of the song. Wayne is on here more than needed and, for me personally, wanted. He probably didn't have to be on "The Real Her" but does a good job on "HYFR" and ends with another dud verse in "The Motto". Rick Ross gives a very typical Rozay verse on Lord Knows so take that how you will. Andre 3000 comes in at the end of The Real Her laying down a quality verse with his unique flow and style He probably should have just taken Wayne's spot in the song though. Also Stevie Wonder does his thing on the harmonica at the end of "Doing It Wrong" though he doesn't do any singing. The album flows well from track to track plays like an actual albums not just a collection of songs. It is a great piece of work from Drake you can feel some Comeback Season and So Far Gone here though Drake has noticeably grown since then also. Drake does quite a bit more bragging on this album and does a good job doing it. However I pray he stays humble off the mic. Not many complaints about the album. I do wish "Dreams Money Can Buy" "Club Paradise" and "Free Spirit" were on the album however i can't think of anything I'd want them to replace. IT IS NOT AN R&B ALBUM! He raps on all but 2 songs out of a 19 track album! He sings and raps on some songs (When you can sing why not sing your own choruses? I don't understand some people's thinking on this but oh well) but it's balanced and there is much more rapping than singing going on throughout the verses (He goes for nearly 3 minutes straight on "Lord Knows" Only thing I hate is getting in the car and realizing I won't be able to listen to the whole thing, but that's a good problem to have. Expand
  44. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    I'm probably the biggest Drake fan in the world. But that doesn't mean I overlook things just because I like him. So Far Gone was CLASSIC. Thank Me Later...was forgettable except for "Fireworks", "Karoke" and several other tracks. Take Care was the holy grail album of the year for me, the one I've been waiting on. And it not only met, but EXCEEDED my expectations. "Over my dead Body" is the best song, followed by "Shot for Me". "Doing it wrong" is surprisingly third best, and the harmonica solo was great from Stevie Wonder but I wish he would have sung. To me, it is a tad better than So Far Gone and it mixes up a lot of styles he hasn't done before. Several tracks feel out of place, but I honestly liked them all. Rick Ross is good in 'Lord Knows', Rihanna as well in 'Take Care'. But the Weeknd shines in 'Crew Love'. 'The Ride was great on a second listen. Give props to Drake, because it begins and ends on great notes (Hate Sleeping Alone). The only two things that are missing are "Club Paradise" and "Free Spirit". A highly impressed fan here. I feel as if I've been hungry for weeks and just ate the juiciest, fruitiest, most satisfying meal of my life. Drake is real, and I enjoy hearing what I take as the tales of a lonely man surrounded by fakes, but finds happiness Expand
  45. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This album is incredible, the sorrow, heart, and energy that is put in this album gives it a classic, and in a few years he will surpass Lil Wayne. His first was good, not great, it showed to much commercialism; which is why it was weaker. This album has a complete change, embracing fame (Headlines and The Motto), but in some songs regretting it (Marvins Room and The Ride.) Track Ratings: Over My Dead Body 10/10, Shot For Me 9/10, Headlines 8.7/10, Crew Love (The Weeknd) 9.2/10, Take Care (Rihanna) 7.9/10, Marvins Room 10/10, Buried Alive Interlude 8/10, Underground Kings 8.5/10, We'll Be Fine (Birdman) 8.5/10, Make Me Proud 9.4/10, Lord Knows 9.8/10, Cameras/Good Ones Go Interlude 8/10, Doing it Wrong 9/10, The Real Her (Lil Wayne & Andre 3000) 9.7/10 HYFR 8.2/10, Look What You've Done, 8.9/10, Practice 8.8/10, The Ride 9.5/10, The Motto 8/10, Hate Sleeping Alone 9.6/10 Expand
  46. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Great sophomore effort. Drake brings in big guests for this album, Andre 3000, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, The Weeknd, Rihanna, Rick Ross and Kendrick Lamar. It's amazing how he picked guests which are perfect for him to collaborate with, expecially The Weeknd and Rihanna. I liked this album because it had substance behind it instead of doing what his mentor Lil Wayne does, talks stupid. A few teary moments in this album, the tracks Doing It Wrong and Look What You've Done with a personal phone call from one of his elders. The only fault I had was the amount of tracks on the album, it could've been easily chopped down expecially the Marvins Room track, I got sick of the amount of times his drunk-dial woman was talking down the phone. Stand out moments, Kendrick Lamar on the interlude Buried Alive and Andre 3000 on The Real Her. One of the best albums of 2011. OVOXO Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    This album could go down in history as one of the most overrated ever. This album is not a classic the way everyone proclaims it to be. It has its memorable moments. It has some highlights ("the brilliant Just Blaze-produced "Lord Knows" and "Take Care"). A few are decent ("Doing It Wrong" and "Headlines"). But overall, the rest of the album feels like one long boring song. Drake seems to find no other topic to discuss and the worst part is that he doesn't even do it as well as he should. His rhymes vary from good to generic. But when he sings, his bars can be straight-up pedestrian. I honestly got tired out midway through the album. But I kept trudging hoping the album might make a comeback for itself. But alas, even Andre 3000 could not deliver a good enough verse to save the mediocrity I endured. Matter of fact, only Rick Ross seemed to be the only charged-up rapper here. 3K delivered a slightly okay but not weird enough verse like he did for "Party". Lil Wayne has seemingly lost that bizarre quality that once made him a compelling rapper a mere three years ago. And Birdman wastes good space trying to hype up Drake as some gangsta rapper who is ready to take over. Who doesn't feel that Birdman is simply using Drake and praising him as a cover up? Anyway, I suggest you invest your money somewhere else. Though better than Thank Me Later, Take Care is still the same old same old. Collapse
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    While this album does have some good songs, such as "Headlines" and "Practice," it has too many songs that are either just too boring or go on for too long. Drake has definitely stepped it up here better than his previous album but he still has some work to do before he becomes one of the better rappers out today.
  49. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    I wanted to write a great review about this album. I Purchased "Thank Me Later" and was not impressed. That is because the album contained Drake's version of singing. I'm not going to say that a person that is not really a singer (ie- Lil' Wayne) can't necessarily make a catchy singing track; however, for people to allow Drake to say he is a legitimate singer and to give him high ratings like they don't know what a singer is really concerns me. I believe Drake is very talented as a rapper, but he should leave the singing to someone who can. All that said, even with the "singing" on the album (which even makes Rihanna sound weak), the album has achieved a deep monotone. All of the songs SOUND EXACTLY THE SAME. There is no reason for this with all of the great producers and beat makers out there. I have no problem with music about relationships and heartbreak, but the monotone turns this into mood music. And the 82 positives that he has received on Metacritic so far have to be die hard fans. I think a person who has never heard Drake and listens to this album will surely be disappointed and I sincerely hope that no one paid over $5 for this album. If you did, take it as a life experience and download this kind of crap on a singles basis only. Expand
  50. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    I like it's very atmospheric and coherent sound - it really is an album, not a collection of tracks and with few exceptions, that seem a bit off, most of the tracks seem to flow from one to the next which is really great. I like Drake's singing more than his rapping, which doesn't seem to be that tight, not to mentions his... pretty generic lyrics. All in all, the production is just great - even for those who don't enjoy Drake all that much, the beats are really great! Expand
  51. Jan 12, 2012
    8
    Despite the discussion about the original music style in this album, whether is Hip-Hop or R&B, no one can deny the result has its greatness. The lyrics have a story behind it, and it's very far personal and unique. His "Headlines" and "Take Care" tracks are really masterpieces, and it stands out of the others. Drake might be starting a shinny carrier, in which styles he chooses to continues on.
  52. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    Drake Hasn't Made A Classic, With This Album, But His Smooth RnB And Hip Hop Elemental Beats, Drake Created Like A New Genre. Like RnB And Rap Combined Is Acually Really Good In The Way He Does It. But His Rapping And Lyrical Ability Could Use More Work. He Needs To Focus More On His Flow And Delivery, Than The Beats. Thats The Problem With This Record. But Drake Made His Own Style, And A Couple Songs On The Album Are Very Enjoyable To Listen To, Like "HYFL" "The Motto" "Marvins Room" "The Real Her" Are Songs On The Album People Would Most Likely Enjoy. Expand
  53. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    It's only been one year since "Thank Me Later" which was already a good job, but "Take Care" goes beyond any limit to the style of music offers. The album is almost entirely produced by Noah "40" Shebib and this is the strong point, because the production is fantastic and the whole album suffers. The album starts immediately in fourth with "Over My Dead Body" is a clear example of egregious production and use of various musical effects, are after "Shot For Me" in which you can clearly hear the influence of R & B that is throughout the album, the track number 3 is "Headlines" produced by Boi-1-by and is an example of modern hip-hop track, after a sensational start to the track "Take Care" is definitely among the best of this working with an unusual Rihanna (for the first time I hear it sing decently), but the same can be said of "Marvin's Room" which in my opinion is the summary of the whole album in one track. The collaborations are far fewer than in "Thank Me Later" but I've never been so well-aimed, among others: Birdman, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj and Andre 3000. This album is the perfect example of a mix of Hip-Hop of course, but also of R&B and Downtempo. Perhaps the best album of 2011. Expand
  54. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Drake tops his blazing hot debut Thank Me Later with his sophomore project Take Care. Take Care simply put is amazing and pushes the boundaries of Hip-Hop and R&B to it's limits leaving all those who "miss the mean lyrics" feeling a little bit left behind. But anybody willing to truly open their ears to Take Care will realize Drake found a way to craft what maybe the strongest all around and smoothest album of the year and many years past. The highlights of the album include the powerful Shot For Me, Headlines, Crew Love, The Real Her, Drake's crazy verse on HYFR, Underground Kings, and The Motto. Even though tracks like Headlines and HYFR are a little bit awkwardly placed in the album it still doesn't mess up the amazing overall performance by Drake. All due respect to Weezy, Jay and Ye, and Cole but Take Care is undoubtedly the album of the year. Expand
  55. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Pathetic excuse for a record. I gave it multiple chances. The fact that THIS is what's at the apex of popularity tells us that society collectively has a terrible, unrefined taste in music.
  56. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    @Cazatuz How can you rate an album without listening to it? You are the definition of a hater. That is a pathetic excuse for a 0 rating, when you haven't even listened to the album. The project received an 81, "universal acclaim" based on TWENTY EIGHT reviews. Obviously an average of 28 reviewers aren't going to "overrate" an album such as this. And there is a rating from The Guardian from a complete idiot named Alex Macpherson who judged the album just like you did and gave it a 1/5. Without his review this album would have received a score of 84. So please shut your mouth next time you're trying to bring your meaningless hate to an amazing piece of work. Take care is great from start to finish! Buy it and support the artist!. Expand
  57. Mar 16, 2012
    7
    Take Care is as solid a follow up to a debut album as any artist could hope for. The same Drake is there, the same lyrics are there, the music is unique and that is both a strength and a setback. There isn't much of an growth on this sophomore effort. Similar to the previous album all the songs are good, some feel like fillers and there isn't one song that shines off the album more than the others. Simply put, this is a good album and a solid product of work. Expand
  58. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Album was AWESOME Very Talented Artist it made me like Drake more when thank me later dropped i was impressed but not as impressed as i was with this project. BEST PROJECT YET.

    BEST 4 Tracks:
    Crew Love (ft The Weeknd)
    Shot For Me
    Lord Knows (Ft Rick Ross)
    Hate Sleeping Alone
  59. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    If you can get past the egotism and the R&B choruses, Drake's new album is nothing short of cutting-edge and an honest memoir about the clashing lifestyles of fame.
  60. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Drizzy, You the realest n***a in the f***ing game. (After me of course) Young Money Cash Money forever **** From, Weezy F. Baby and the F is for f**k you haters
  61. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    I feel this album was very brilliantly organized and written. You can tell that Drake was working his way through his talent with his albums and mixtapes. With Thank Me Later, he was all about gettin' to the top. But now with this album, i feel like it's more like his 'settling down' album. The thing i love about Drake, is his ability to express is sensitivity. With his lyrics, he expresses his personal problems in a very ear-pleasing way where the songs come in a variety. For example, Over My Dead Body was mostly about his last few years or so and how life changing it's been. Also, Marvin's Room is about how lady problems, and how his fame has affected the way the people he love, loves him. I guess we can never judge an album entirely, because he don't know what the lyrics mean to this artist. It's THEIR song, not ours. Overall, I LOVED what he did with this album and have it on replay forsure. Expand
  62. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    This album shows Drake isnt lil wayne's lackey and he can hold his own. Still their are a few problems. The album is slow and long. i think if they had added some more fast paced tracks to keep me interesting. Also i didnt like alot of the guests like Birdman and a couple of others didnt seem to fit the somber tone of the album. i think if R&B singers/rappers were featured it would fit much better. despite that its a good album and i am happy to say this has made me a drake fan Expand
  63. Nov 4, 2012
    0
    Quite frankly, I will never understand the hype and praise behind 'Take Care'. It's just another album, plain and simple. Or really, another album with overproduction that is a cross between hip-hop/R&B (woo, how different and original) by an untalented hack who uses autotune to no end that calls himself an artist. Yeah, this is quite an album alright.
  64. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    In my opinion Drakes best album so far! The highlights of the album would definalty be The Motto, Take Care, Hate Sleeping Alone, Marvins Room and Crew Love!
  65. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    This Album From Hip Hop prince, Drake is Different. Different in a way where he experiences with euphoric beats and deep meaning in rapping lyrical style. He puts together airy songs of hip hop and R&B together so perfectly that i could listen to the album forever
  66. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    Drake is one of the best rappers out there, we know that. And yes, he assures us that on 'Take Care' a couple of times. But for the bigger part his sophomore album is R&B. A very good comparison would be Frank Ocean's 'Channel Orange', released some months later. Sometimes he's off-beat which means minus 1 point, all in all the lyrics are not that expressive as I expected them to be which means minus 1 point again and till the end the individual songs are more and more similar to one another which means minus another point. Equals 7 points out of ten for an album that could've been much better, but still brings us really good songs. I really enjoyed the CD, but still it's only a 'good', nothing more. Expand
  67. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    Yes I know Drake is a wuss. And he's made some very soft songs. But I'd be lying if I said I didn't like Take Care. It's not my favorite release ever. But Drake has some very good songs on here. Even if not all the lines hit, I still liked the songs on here a lot more than Thank Me Later. First off, the singing is a hell of a lot better. He actually can emote on some of these songs. That plus songs like Lord Knows, Underground King, We'll Be Fine, Headline and HYFR are bangers. And songs like Take Care, Crew Love and The Real Her are very smooth. As far as guest features, none of them truly stand out. Kendrick and Andre 3K do their things. And Rihanna The Weeknd did a pretty good job, but otherwise no one made that much of an impression. Drake lyrically has improved on this album, though again not all the time. My biggest issue with this album is that this thing is 80 MINUTES LONG!!!!!!!!! Cut this down man. Marvin's Room was a borefest, Cameras is Drake trying to imitate Lil Wayne. And Doing It Wrong is Drake at his fluffiest. But even then I still enjoyed this, the production may be a cause for that because in my opinion 40 is an extremely underrated producer. Still it's worth listening to even if it's only once. Expand
  68. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    nice album.. but needs to start back rappin more.. the world aint end yet so u still got time prove these **** wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  69. Jun 13, 2013
    4
    To be honest the only songs I could really feel myself liking is Headlines and Look What You've Done.

    This album was kind of slow and I didn't like it. I don't like music that bores me and this was pretty damn boring compared to all the great music that I am currently being surrounded with.

    This may have been an okay album if it was 2005, but with all the juicy hip-hop and r & b that
    I am listening to, this seems a bit stale. Expand
  70. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    One of the most overrated album of all time, I don't how people can call this "music", a rapper that is more feminine than Nicki Minaj, the best word to describe this "albm" is trash, straight up.
  71. May 10, 2013
    10
    This is Drake's finest work to date, and a milestone in the rap genre. An existential treatise, this album explores themes across the spectrum all while developing a unique blend of rap, R&B and electronic that I think has potential to be as much of a landmark work as Dr. Dre's The Chronic. I can listen to every song on this record and become immersed in Drake's story telling and mastery of his musical craft. This is my favorite rap album. Expand
  72. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Rapping is as weak as ever, WAYYYY too much singing, and too long of an album. Quality is still good tho. If he made the album shorter i would probably give him a 7. 6.5/10
  73. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This album will be a classic for sure. Drake named this album ''Take Care'' because he felt as if he rushed through his debut album ''Thank Me Later'' (which was also his previous album). Drake really made this album worth listening. The production of the beats are AMAZING, producers like T-Minus, Boi-1da, and Noah ''40'' Shebib who helped with the album A LOT. Without ''40'' the production would have not been as good. The album also has some other talented producers that helped out. Drake has also improved a lot lyrically. The album is not just hip-hop, he has some talented singers like The Weeknd and Rihanna. Drake also sings, proving his true R&B Talent. Drake is an amazing singer and rapper. The collaborations are amazing. I really felt as if I got to feel the emotions in all of the songs, the album has really different emotions in every song, especially songs like: ''Look What You've Done'', ''Take Care'', ''Over My Dead Body and ''Marvins Room''. Take Care has really changed hip-hop, and shown that it isn't the end of hip-hop. The album was named album of the year by the ''Los Angeles Times'' and ''The New York Times''. Take Care won a Grammy Award for the Best Rap Album at the 55th Grammy Awards. Expand
  74. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    I look at these reviews, and I do not understand where this hatred is coming from. How is it that on this website, obvious troll reviews where the user even says they didn't listen to the album still are counted? Anyways, on to the album. I really enjoyed the sound Drake has achieved and mastered with his producer "40." The haunting intro "Over My Dead Body," is probably one of my favorite album intros of all time, the piano, the female vocals, Drake's casual flow, it all works fantastically. The next few tracks provide more excellence, Drake showcases his ability to lay down bars on "Headlines," "Underground Kings," and "Lord Knows," and make soft emotional tracks such as "Shot For Me," "Crew Love," and Marvin's Room."

    Lyrically Drake isn't the astounding, but he manages to still be entertaining in his own right. He certainly was not the strongest rapper on his album, both Kendrick Lamar and Andre 3000 make appearances that have them dropping some fantastic verses, especially Kendrick who's verse might be one of the best of his career. I think that the true standout is the sound that Drake and his producers have crafted together, the clear influence from Kanye's 808s is very evident, but the production certainly doesn't mimic that style. The muted bass, the transitions, the more bombastic tracks, it all works and flows together really well. This album is incredibly cohesive, especially for a mainstream rap album. In some ways it reminds me of Lil Wayne's Tha Carter III.

    The album certainly has its weaknesses though. For starters, it is a bit too long, at 18 tracks. At 90 minutes long it is a bit too much for my taste, and I feel like there are filler tracks for sure that could have been cut. Interestingly, the title track, "Take Care," is probably my least favorite track on the whole album. The whole thing sounds like some cheesy teenager love story, and I feel like Drake is much smarter than he portrays himself on that track. I wonder then what he was thinking when he named this track after the album (because I certainly doubt he derived his album name from this track). His track with Nicki Minaj, "Make Me Proud," is also a bit lacking. Nicki deliver's some cringe worthy bars, "I'm a star...sheriff badge." And although I don't dislike Drake's hook, I can see it getting old real fast.

    One of the most underrated tracks on the album, I feel, is "Cameras/Good Ones Go Interlude." Its this sort of brooding dark track that builds up with this extremely noticeable bass. Drake croons sort of off-key, it is sort of like some sort of homage to the pain he goes through with fame and women. Then all of a sudden it switches to this interlude, with these sort of cloudy lighter synths and bass with Drake singing in a higher tone. It is basically an antithesis to the previous song that played, and might be my favorite part on the album.
    Expand
  75. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    One of the best rap albums I have bought. Drake only disappoints on a few songs. The best songs are "Over My Dead Body", "Headlines", and "Take Care".
  76. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    Take Care is Drake's best project in my opinion. He comes out strong with lyricism in his sophomore album. His delivery is strong and his singing in songs like "Marvin's Room", "Doing It Wrong" and "Practice" I don't think Drake can release a better project than Take Care, but he almost did with "Nothing Was The Same"
  77. Dec 10, 2013
    8
    Drake really show his true potential in this album. This is the perfect follow-up to Thank Me Later as he is showing the world his various singing styles from his hardcore rap in Lord Knows to his soft singing in Marvin's. Room. Thumbs up!
  78. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Better than illmatic Better than the black album. Better than enter the 36. This album is a masterpiece and will never be topped. Long Live Drake.
    KTT
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 80
    Considering Take Care is an affecting masterpiece easily on par with his debut, there could be no greater accolade for the genius of this man.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    50
    He's tightened his flow ever so slightly, but the brutal artlessness of his writing and character remains. [Jan 2012, p.69]
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    It's great at times, but far more work than it should be. [Jan 2012, p.127]