Take Care - Drake
Take Care Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second studio album for the hip-hop artist features guest appearances from Andre 3000, Birdman, Kendrick Lamar, Lil Wayne, Nicki Manah, Rick Ross, Rihanna, and The Weeknd.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    91
    His follow-up album is plenty downbeat, but it's also gorgeous, an immersive headphone masterwork that's tender and intimate like little else in contemporary rap and R&B.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    90
    On Take Care, Drake finally shows he's got the talent to match the hype.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    The only time the almost 80-minute Take Care doesn't work is when it indulges something resembling conventional hip-hop.
  4. 80
    Over the course of some 18 months, Drake has become quite a novice in the genre, well on his way to mastering new and exciting ground.
  5. 80
    Considering Take Care is an affecting masterpiece easily on par with his debut, there could be no greater accolade for the genius of this man.
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    70
    As a series of a mood pieces detailing the luxury lifestyle of hip-hop's one-percenters, Take Care is fairly captivating. As a portrait of the artist at the top of the mountain, however, it's pretty frustrating.
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    20
    Former child actor Aubrey Graham's much-vaunted sensitivity and introspection is more hollow than ever on his second album.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 9 out of 82
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This album is incredible, the sorrow, heart, and energy that is put in this album gives it a classic, and in a few years he will surpass Lil Wayne. His first was good, not great, it showed to much commercialism; which is why it was weaker. This album has a complete change, embracing fame (Headlines and The Motto), but in some songs regretting it (Marvins Room and The Ride.) Track Ratings: Over My Dead Body 10/10, Shot For Me 9/10, Headlines 8.7/10, Crew Love (The Weeknd) 9.2/10, Take Care (Rihanna) 7.9/10, Marvins Room 10/10, Buried Alive Interlude 8/10, Underground Kings 8.5/10, We'll Be Fine (Birdman) 8.5/10, Make Me Proud 9.4/10, Lord Knows 9.8/10, Cameras/Good Ones Go Interlude 8/10, Doing it Wrong 9/10, The Real Her (Lil Wayne & Andre 3000) 9.7/10 HYFR 8.2/10, Look What You've Done, 8.9/10, Practice 8.8/10, The Ride 9.5/10, The Motto 8/10, Hate Sleeping Alone 9.6/10 Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This album made me like Drake even more. I like the fact that he incorporates different types of musical styles into his songs. He's not a bad singer so his technique is working in his favour. Each song creates a different atmosphere. I especially like his take on Juvenile's "Back That A** Up" (Practice). It's brilliant. As for the lyrical themes with the exception of growing into wealth, I can relate to it. Which makes this album perfect. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This album will be a classic, Drake created his own style of rap/hiphop. On his first album, the influence of 'Cash Money' producers was clear in some songs (Miss Me, Fancy). Even though that was a good album, it wasn't a great one. This album on the other hand, is great. The influence of James Blake is very clear in this album, leading to some revolutionary songs with revolutionary beats (to give an example, Crew Love). The Jamie xx produced Take Care has a beautiful build-up, and reminds me of "Weak become heroes" by The Streets (aka Mike Skinner). Instead of chosing for industry-leading guest stars, he has chosen guest artists whose voice/rap skills fit the song perfectly (except for Lil Wayne and Nicki Minaj, but they need to be on it for obvious reasons). Just like he gives Rihanna a surprising vocal role in Take Care; not the powerful Rihanna you'd expect, but an almost timid Rihanna. It's very obvious that he was left with creative control this time. I'm willing to bet he's going to receive a grammy for this one.

    "Take Care", "Marvin's Room", "Crew Love", "Lord Knows" are instant classics.
    Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This album will be a classic for sure. Drake named this album ''Take Care'' because he felt as if he rushed through his debut album ''Thank Me Later'' (which was also his previous album). Drake really made this album worth listening. The production of the beats are AMAZING, producers like T-Minus, Boi-1da, and Noah ''40'' Shebib who helped with the album A LOT. Without ''40'' the production would have not been as good. The album also has some other talented producers that helped out. Drake has also improved a lot lyrically. The album is not just hip-hop, he has some talented singers like The Weeknd and Rihanna. Drake also sings, proving his true R&B Talent. Drake is an amazing singer and rapper. The collaborations are amazing. I really felt as if I got to feel the emotions in all of the songs, the album has really different emotions in every song, especially songs like: ''Look What You've Done'', ''Take Care'', ''Over My Dead Body and ''Marvins Room''. Take Care has really changed hip-hop, and shown that it isn't the end of hip-hop. The album was named album of the year by the ''Los Angeles Times'' and ''The New York Times''. Take Care won a Grammy Award for the Best Rap Album at the 55th Grammy Awards. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    I look at these reviews, and I do not understand where this hatred is coming from. How is it that on this website, obvious troll reviews where the user even says they didn't listen to the album still are counted? Anyways, on to the album. I really enjoyed the sound Drake has achieved and mastered with his producer "40." The haunting intro "Over My Dead Body," is probably one of my favorite album intros of all time, the piano, the female vocals, Drake's casual flow, it all works fantastically. The next few tracks provide more excellence, Drake showcases his ability to lay down bars on "Headlines," "Underground Kings," and "Lord Knows," and make soft emotional tracks such as "Shot For Me," "Crew Love," and Marvin's Room."

    Lyrically Drake isn't the astounding, but he manages to still be entertaining in his own right. He certainly was not the strongest rapper on his album, both Kendrick Lamar and Andre 3000 make appearances that have them dropping some fantastic verses, especially Kendrick who's verse might be one of the best of his career. I think that the true standout is the sound that Drake and his producers have crafted together, the clear influence from Kanye's 808s is very evident, but the production certainly doesn't mimic that style. The muted bass, the transitions, the more bombastic tracks, it all works and flows together really well. This album is incredibly cohesive, especially for a mainstream rap album. In some ways it reminds me of Lil Wayne's Tha Carter III.

    The album certainly has its weaknesses though. For starters, it is a bit too long, at 18 tracks. At 90 minutes long it is a bit too much for my taste, and I feel like there are filler tracks for sure that could have been cut. Interestingly, the title track, "Take Care," is probably my least favorite track on the whole album. The whole thing sounds like some cheesy teenager love story, and I feel like Drake is much smarter than he portrays himself on that track. I wonder then what he was thinking when he named this track after the album (because I certainly doubt he derived his album name from this track). His track with Nicki Minaj, "Make Me Proud," is also a bit lacking. Nicki deliver's some cringe worthy bars, "I'm a star...sheriff badge." And although I don't dislike Drake's hook, I can see it getting old real fast.

    One of the most underrated tracks on the album, I feel, is "Cameras/Good Ones Go Interlude." Its this sort of brooding dark track that builds up with this extremely noticeable bass. Drake croons sort of off-key, it is sort of like some sort of homage to the pain he goes through with fame and women. Then all of a sudden it switches to this interlude, with these sort of cloudy lighter synths and bass with Drake singing in a higher tone. It is basically an antithesis to the previous song that played, and might be my favorite part on the album.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    This album shows Drake isnt lil wayne's lackey and he can hold his own. Still their are a few problems. The album is slow and long. i think if they had added some more fast paced tracks to keep me interesting. Also i didnt like alot of the guests like Birdman and a couple of others didnt seem to fit the somber tone of the album. i think if R&B singers/rappers were featured it would fit much better. despite that its a good album and i am happy to say this has made me a drake fan Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Pathetic excuse for a record. I gave it multiple chances. The fact that THIS is what's at the apex of popularity tells us that society collectively has a terrible, unrefined taste in music. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. November's Best New Music

    November's Best New Music Image
    Published: November 30, 2011
    This month's best new albums include the latest from Kate Bush and Drake, the debut from Sepalcure, and more. Get the full list inside, where you can find out more about each LP, listen to a track from each one, and get links to stream the full albums at Spotify.
  2. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.