Take Me Home - One Direction
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    While the album is uniformly sleek and upbeat, a few tunes hew too closely to the generic template; but as boy bands go, fans--and their wary parents--could do much worse.
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Fittingly for an album whose most-uttered word is "whoa," they seem perpetually awed by their good fortune and the beauty of whoever happens to be standing nearby.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    One Direction deliver another immediately catchy mix of dancey pop that maximizes the group's shared lead-vocal approach and peppy, upbeat image.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    Their second album rivals the best of Backstreet and 'N Sync when the material pumps. But when it doesn't (i.e., most of the ballads), a certain amount of douchiness creeps in.
  5. The upbeat tracks are as catchy as conjunctivitis.
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Polished and dependable, despite its safety there are some show-stopping pop anthems present.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    80
    Even with so many producers lending a hand, there isn't a dud to be found on the record's thirteen tracks.
  8. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The material is of variable quality.
  9. 50
    Most of Take Me Home is filler with barely enough zip to keep the kids up past dinner.
User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    There is absolutely no excuse for this group's music. They are in it for the publicity and the money. Nothing they make sounds original or appealing other than to idiotic 5-15 year old twits who think Chris Brown is the Messiah of the industry. This isn't even worth buying let alone listen to. Churning out the same **** twice really does get people somewhere because of stupid people. Not recommended for anyone with a vendetta against this satanic organization known as a boy-band. **** please. Now I'm gonna go listen to some real music, if you don't mind. Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    This Album is better than Up All Night in many ways... I'm not a Directioner, i'm a simple listener, i listen to every kind of music, i found this album worth buying Full Review »
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    What could have been a great album turns into crap when 1D sends a barrel of pure sh*t at our ears. This isn't music, it's sound. The vocals are fairly decent, but the lyrics suck, and the 5 idiots of 1D have no personality at all. This album Direction-sucks. Full Review »