Take Me Home

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 228

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Massive Improvement! Vocally This Album Is Flawless!
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    The Album is good , is 1D style with the fun danceble songs and romantic songs that really get to our hearts , but i like Up All Night more than Take Me Home
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Even better then their first album. This band just does not disappoint. Stand out tracks for me are "Kiss You", "I Would", "Summer Love", and "Little Things" but i love ever track on the album. I cant wait to see what they do next.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    In some ways, Take Me Home is better than Up All Night. In other ways, it's simply more of the same, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Overall, it's a satisfying album, that consists mostly of upbeat techno pop songs and slow, emotional romantic ballads.
    *Best Song on the Album: Little Things
    *Standouts: Kiss You, Live While We're Young, Rock Me, Heart Attack, Summer Love
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    I am not a Directioner, but credit must be give where credit is due. Take Me Home is truly and artistic leap foward from Up All Night. Although it may contain what some call fluff, it is still one of the best pop albums this year.
  6. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    It is a good album, but it is not the best, thesongs are very cool, this is my 3ยบ favorite album. Midnight Memories > Four> TMH> UAN. This album is great, lovely but it is not the best
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    First of all, I'm not a One Direction fan, so I don't think my review should be suspicious. I think the reason most Metacritic users rated this album poorly is because they are biased and it became cool to hate One Direction. My opinion about the album: it's more mature than their previous album (Up All Night), and you'll probably like it (tip: act like it's not One Direction at the firstFirst of all, I'm not a One Direction fan, so I don't think my review should be suspicious. I think the reason most Metacritic users rated this album poorly is because they are biased and it became cool to hate One Direction. My opinion about the album: it's more mature than their previous album (Up All Night), and you'll probably like it (tip: act like it's not One Direction at the first listen) even if you don't really like boybands. Some tracks are ready for the parties while others are calm ballads, so I think it's pretty hard to rate this album overall. It's good because it doesn't matter if you prefer "party songs" or ballads, you'll probably like some tracks in the album. Track-by-track review (hope you don't fall asleep):
    1. Live While We're Young - 10/10 - Best track in the whole album. Their first "party song", it will probably please anyone. Lyrics a bit shocking because of their public, but they can't get stuck in squeaky clean lyrics and love songs.
    2. Kiss You - 8/10 - The beat is good, but the lyrics are really immature and don't fit the beat. Lyrics like "let me kiss you" are not really a good attempt at becoming mature.
    3. Little Things - 2/10 - The beat is terrible and the lyrics are annoying and awfully describe details in a woman's body that no one would ever notice anyway ("You've never loved your stomach or your thighs, the dimples in the back at the bottom of your spine").
    4. C'mon, C'mon - 10/10 - Again, a "party song". The lyrics are mature without getting shocking and the beat is fun and ready for the parties.
    5. Last First Kiss - 9/10 - The beat is good, but the lyrics are confusing. "Last first kiss", after all, is it last or first? More upbeat than most of their songs, but not really a "party song".
    6. Heart Attack - 6/10 - The beat is good, but again the lyrics are stupid. Last time I checked, you couldn't get a heart attack because of love. Also, the "ow!" in the chorus is pretty annoying.
    7. Rock Me -7/10 - Good beat, the lyrics actually make some sense, but I didn't really like it. Sounds kind of boring.
    8. Change My Mind - 1/10 - They sound like they're almost dying and the lyrics are stupid. If you want to stay, stay, if you wanna go, just go. No need to create a song about it.
    9. I Would - 10/10 - Even though the lyrics about stealing someone's boyfriend might be quite shocking to parents, what's a love song without jealousy? More upbeat than most of their songs, while not being exactly a "party song".
    10. Over Again - 7/10 - The lyrics are pretty smart, but the beat is boring even if you like slow songs.
    11. Back For You - 8/10 - The beat is good, but the lyrics are not so smart ("Baby, you don't have to worry, I'll be coming back for you"). Upbeat without being a party song.
    12. They Don't Know About Us - 9/10 - Great track, one of those us-against-the-world songs. Pretty much anyone would relate to it.
    13. Summer Love - 5/10 - Great beat, but the lyrics are somehow stupid. "You always will be my summer love" doesn't make any sense at all. What does summer have to do with this?
    Expand
  8. Jan 30, 2015
    8
    i like this album but this is not one of they're best album i like midnight memories and four way better than this album, yes it's catchy and good but it's not of they're best album so if your not a Directioner i suggest you to listen to midnight memories or four album
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    This Album is better than Up All Night in many ways... I'm not a Directioner, i'm a simple listener, i listen to every kind of music, i found this album worth buying
  10. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    One Direction have done it again! Live while were young and Little Things are 2 of the best songs by 1D and the great. While Justin Bieber is the worst the One Directioners storm tot the lead with a excellent debut album and usually One Direction are a leader!
  11. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Fun, Exciting, & Catchy! This album is thousand times better then their first album. The group has grown up from their first album and I'm sure their next album Midnight Memories will break records!
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This album has really good songs, for example "Live While We're Young" and "They Don't Know About Us", but other songs like "Change My Mind" or "Last First Kiss" are really bad. Great album, better than Up All Night.
  13. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    One Direction second album is a good album, very catchy and with a good writing. I love listen to them on my car, I feel like Vin Diesel in Fast and Furious when its happened. One of the albums of the year! ;)
  14. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I think this album is better than Up All Night, no many changes in music, like the boys said, the lyric has changed a little bit but so funny and enjoyable I really found this album worth buying. In general is a great album and dont hesitate to recommend it.
  15. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Take Me Home was extraordinary! it had the best songs and moods. I would highly recommend it! i looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it!!!!
  16. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Track-by-track review for Take Me Home

    1. Live While We
  17. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing! Usually when it comes to music I don't love an entire album. But I have to say I absolutely adore every single song on this album. So much so that I had to actually illegally download the bonus tracks that weren't available in my country!! I can honestly listen to every track on repeat for hours. Each song brings something different to the table, and the album isThis album is amazing! Usually when it comes to music I don't love an entire album. But I have to say I absolutely adore every single song on this album. So much so that I had to actually illegally download the bonus tracks that weren't available in my country!! I can honestly listen to every track on repeat for hours. Each song brings something different to the table, and the album is complete with catchy dance tunes, slower ballads, some softer singer-songwriter vibe songs, and even some edgier rocky ones. One plus of this album over Up All Night is that there is definitely a more even split of solos on the tracks. You get to hear a lot more of each member, and each member's voice also perfectly suits the section they sing. They're voices are also much stronger on this album. Another plus is that the boys actually have a lot of writing credits themselves on this album. They were a lot more involved with the process and their input shows a noticeable difference. Ed Sheeran also wrote two songs for this album, rather than just one like on Up All Night. Some stand-out tracks for me are: They Don't Know About Us, Little Things, Kiss You, I Would, Over Again, and Irresistible. I genuinely love this entire album and would recommend it to anyone. Even people I know that don't like One Direction have grudgingly admitted to me that they actually like certain songs on the album, and I've caught them singing along in their rooms. Give it a chance! Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    What we see here is very simple to understand: pretty and talented boys singing incredibly romantic love and seducing songs.
    Take Me Home, second studio album from English-Irish boy band One Direction, is a very entertaining album. Clearly, not much artistic due to a few songs being actually written by any of the boys, but that does not influence much in a bad way. It sounds right. You
    What we see here is very simple to understand: pretty and talented boys singing incredibly romantic love and seducing songs.
    Take Me Home, second studio album from English-Irish boy band One Direction, is a very entertaining album. Clearly, not much artistic due to a few songs being actually written by any of the boys, but that does not influence much in a bad way. It sounds right. You can't really tell which songs were or weren't written by them. Most lyrics are fine enough to get to your heart. There's no way you won't fall in love with these pretty guys after actually listening to this. Specially Change My Mind, Nobody Compares, Last First Kiss, Loved You First and They Don't Know About Us.
    If romantic lyrics aren't your main thing, you can just close your eyes and listen to these very beautiful voices we've got here. Not only do they have pretty singing abilities, but they also have 5 distinct and magical voices that, together, sound just right.
    This is not just pretty boys we're talking about. It's good music, definitely!
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    The cheesiness, loads of filler, and overly glossy production are still present and hinder much of what the album had the potential to accomplish.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    While the album is uniformly sleek and upbeat, a few tunes hew too closely to the generic template; but as boy bands go, fans--and their wary parents--could do much worse.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Fittingly for an album whose most-uttered word is "whoa," they seem perpetually awed by their good fortune and the beauty of whoever happens to be standing nearby.