Take Me Home Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British boy band releases its second full-length release featuring production and songs written by such artists as Ed Sheeran, Carl Falk, Rami Yacoub, Savan Kotecha, Max Martin, and Dr. Luke.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Sony Music Entertainment
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Dance-Pop, Teen Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Little Things
Your hand fits in mine like it's made just for me But bear this mind, it was meant to be And I'm joining up the dots with the freckles on your... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    One Direction deliver another immediately catchy mix of dancey pop that maximizes the group's shared lead-vocal approach and peppy, upbeat image.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Polished and dependable, despite its safety there are some show-stopping pop anthems present.
  3. The upbeat tracks are as catchy as conjunctivitis.
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The material is of variable quality.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Fittingly for an album whose most-uttered word is "whoa," they seem perpetually awed by their good fortune and the beauty of whoever happens to be standing nearby.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    Their second album rivals the best of Backstreet and 'N Sync when the material pumps. But when it doesn't (i.e., most of the ballads), a certain amount of douchiness creeps in.
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    The cheesiness, loads of filler, and overly glossy production are still present and hinder much of what the album had the potential to accomplish.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 13 out of 39
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing! Usually when it comes to music I don't love an entire album. But I have to say I absolutely adore every single song onThis album is amazing! Usually when it comes to music I don't love an entire album. But I have to say I absolutely adore every single song on this album. So much so that I had to actually illegally download the bonus tracks that weren't available in my country!! I can honestly listen to every track on repeat for hours. Each song brings something different to the table, and the album is complete with catchy dance tunes, slower ballads, some softer singer-songwriter vibe songs, and even some edgier rocky ones. One plus of this album over Up All Night is that there is definitely a more even split of solos on the tracks. You get to hear a lot more of each member, and each member's voice also perfectly suits the section they sing. They're voices are also much stronger on this album. Another plus is that the boys actually have a lot of writing credits themselves on this album. They were a lot more involved with the process and their input shows a noticeable difference. Ed Sheeran also wrote two songs for this album, rather than just one like on Up All Night. Some stand-out tracks for me are: They Don't Know About Us, Little Things, Kiss You, I Would, Over Again, and Irresistible. I genuinely love this entire album and would recommend it to anyone. Even people I know that don't like One Direction have grudgingly admitted to me that they actually like certain songs on the album, and I've caught them singing along in their rooms. Give it a chance! Collapse
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I think this album is better than Up All Night, no many changes in music, like the boys said, the lyric has changed a little bit but so funnyI think this album is better than Up All Night, no many changes in music, like the boys said, the lyric has changed a little bit but so funny and enjoyable I really found this album worth buying. In general is a great album and dont hesitate to recommend it. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This album has really good songs, for example "Live While We're Young" and "They Don't Know About Us", but other songs like "Change My Mind"This album has really good songs, for example "Live While We're Young" and "They Don't Know About Us", but other songs like "Change My Mind" or "Last First Kiss" are really bad. Great album, better than Up All Night. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    I am not a Directioner, but credit must be give where credit is due. Take Me Home is truly and artistic leap foward from Up All Night.I am not a Directioner, but credit must be give where credit is due. Take Me Home is truly and artistic leap foward from Up All Night. Although it may contain what some call fluff, it is still one of the best pop albums this year. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    I'm really disappointed with the album actually. I'm not a fan of One Direction, and I believe that are really talented and great singers. ButI'm really disappointed with the album actually. I'm not a fan of One Direction, and I believe that are really talented and great singers. But the production of this album comes out not amazingly great. It has good tunes including "Live While We're Young", "Kiss Me" and "C'mon C'mon", but it just sounds repetitive to their previous record. As they stated earlier this year they were going to be more "edgier, grungier" and have "more guitars", and I thought it would be a great change. But it didn't manage to do that.
    I do like some songs, but it has the same element and aspect as their previous. Sorry guys, try another album with a more different image. Not completely different, just not the same image you have now.
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    One Direction are very less talented than lots of other boy bands in the world, however they think that they are the best. They are alwaysOne Direction are very less talented than lots of other boy bands in the world, however they think that they are the best. They are always judging The Wanted but they are very much mature, talented and interesting that 1D. The crazy female fans of theirs are immature and hysterical stupid teenagers that don't even know what is music. They only like that obvious and uninteresting songs with vague lyrics that 1D and a lot more bad pop artists today do. If we give them a classic to hear, a rock song, a sound from the 80's or songs with consisting lyrics (real music) they say that is boring and that they hate it. So One Direction base their talent and music skills in trifling and unintelligent girl's opinions. I wouldn't like to do that but they live in the illusion that they are a great band. So let's live the poor boys alone! Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2015
    0
    GAY GAy gayGAY GAy gay gaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygaygayv Expand

See all 39 User Reviews