• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2007
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 67
  2. Negative: 15 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    celine's best record !!!
  2. KysiA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Outstanding album.
  3. TimS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Solid Celine the way we love her. Even if she debuts at 2 or 3 on billboard behind keys, the album will outsell As I am in the long run, because that is just how celine dion has always worked. In the long run, she is the best singer of our times....
  4. neilr
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    celine is sure taking chances with this album, some good tracks though, looking forward to next album, ya can't beat that voice
  5. DavidM.
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    'This Time' is brilliant! Lots of other gens for those willing to give it a good listen.
  6. ManuelP.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Best vocal performance Celine Dion , I use to think she was annoying and cheesy but omg , listen to Taking Chances , all the songs are amazing, album of the year.
  7. CarlosA.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    WoW!! Celine Dion is a goddess! This CD establishes her as one of the best singers in history. She took chances and they surely paid off. After spending 5 years selling out every night at Ceaser's Palace in Las Vegas, she has come back to mainstream music with a powerful album and Im glad that she has probably the biggest fan base in the world that will always reassure her as the WoW!! Celine Dion is a goddess! This CD establishes her as one of the best singers in history. She took chances and they surely paid off. After spending 5 years selling out every night at Ceaser's Palace in Las Vegas, she has come back to mainstream music with a powerful album and Im glad that she has probably the biggest fan base in the world that will always reassure her as the best record selling female artist in history, and thats a fact. Expand
  8. JeffB.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Finally, she gave us a wonderful album.
  9. Michele
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album. No other singer compares with Celine. And with her looks, I like to think of her as the new Cher.
  10. May 25, 2012
    8
    This is a great album. Her voice in this album is really good. The tracks are good and I can really connect to it. I don't understand why some users gave it a 0 or 1. All I know is...this is a great one from Celine Dion.............
  11. MikeT
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    It's a good album. Celine's back with a new "update" sound and it's what she needed. I'm not sure of her new way of singing -- I think there's sometimes a lack of vocal "technique" if we compared with the way she sang in the past on "Falling Into You" album for example -- where it was perfect.
  12. StephenM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    I eagerly awaited this new album. The title track is a winner. The rest of the album, which is sags a little in the middle, is still solid Celine. The biggest chance she's taking with this album is that crazy hair she's sporting on the cover.
  13. SimonC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    It's a gr8 album from Celine. Her voice glides effortlessly from deep whispers to dead-on high notes, a sweet siren that combines force with grace.
  14. DanielW.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Wonderful! Glad to have Celine back!
  15. AnaS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Its just a great album, an her voice still the best.
  16. IsabellaW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Good album!
  17. JohnB
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    I loved every one on this album. But then I enjoy all her music. Gald to have her back with such a bang.
  18. JohnS
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    The album is fantastic. 16 tracks, and a lot of heart & soul & "talent" went into. Screw the critics-especially since she is an easy one for them to pick on. I've seen the ladt perform live on several occasions and she can "Really" sing her heart out! Great album and along time coming.
  19. LindaG.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Love Celine. Am used to her power ballads but love the sound of most of the songs on this new CD. Her voice is a wonder
  20. LouiseL.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Just love her new cd Taking chances! Can't wait to see Celine THE unique performer on stage with those new songs. Welcome back Celine!
  21. May 12, 2013
    8
    It is a really good album. She tried to do something different, and that is what she did. The sound and lyrics are brilliant, the only problem is the too long length of the album. I think she could did a masterpiece without so many songs.
  22. Oct 23, 2017
    7
    Celine Dion é uma das poucas cantoras que fico animado quando lançam um CD. Esse CD marcou o ano de 2007, com a super faixa título e a turnê que se tornou uma das mais lucrativas de todos os tempos.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. As far as standard Celine fare goes, in fact, Chances is likely her strongest non-French outing since 2002's "A New Day Has Come;" nobody unfolds a lyric with more care or nuance.
  2. Packing an emotional wallop, Chances should quash critics who insist that Dion's voice is stainless steel.
  3. The laborious 16-track record purportedly finds the queen of adult contemporary-turned-Vegas attraction taking chances by modernizing her treacly power ballad sound with lots of overdubbed guitars and of-the-moment collaborators.