Takk...

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2005
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 195

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SMC
    Sep 15, 2005
    4
    On amazon a listener claims this is the album that made him finally "get" Sigur Ros. While converting new fans, this may be the album that makes the faithful turn their backs on the band. Every track is a muddle of sameness. Where ethereal vocals were once used sparingly, now they are foregrounded and overused. The gloom, as many critics note, is clearly gone. Well, so is the depth, the On amazon a listener claims this is the album that made him finally "get" Sigur Ros. While converting new fans, this may be the album that makes the faithful turn their backs on the band. Every track is a muddle of sameness. Where ethereal vocals were once used sparingly, now they are foregrounded and overused. The gloom, as many critics note, is clearly gone. Well, so is the depth, the challenge, and the chance for the material to be strengthened by repeat listening. Here is a 65 minute album cranked to 11 at every minute. It is shrill, bordering on parodic, and worse of all: BORING. Expand
  2. ErwinK
    Nov 7, 2005
    4
    Overrated, critic adored drivle. I like my arty music as much as the next guy, but I heard this next to hearing a Blink 182 record, and I have to say that Blink 182 was far more fun catchy and listenable. Sure it doesn't have the "art" cred but who cares.
  3. DrGoob
    Nov 14, 2005
    5
    This album rapidly becomes dull. That's all there is to say about it.
  4. DanL
    Dec 9, 2005
    5
    It's being peddled as something more melodic and less ambient than their previous works. Is it? Barely.
  5. JohnM
    Sep 13, 2005
    6
    I aggree with the LA times...
  6. avecl
    Sep 22, 2005
    6
    Sigur Ros have done some amazing things in my opinion, but this album simply is not one of them. They aren't original anymore. What was new and innovative in aegetis byurtin and ( ) has been lost to coldplay-type crescendos and pop/rock harmonies and melodies. the only thing that makes it different is jonsi's voice. i guess that does it for some people, but it's not doing Sigur Ros have done some amazing things in my opinion, but this album simply is not one of them. They aren't original anymore. What was new and innovative in aegetis byurtin and ( ) has been lost to coldplay-type crescendos and pop/rock harmonies and melodies. the only thing that makes it different is jonsi's voice. i guess that does it for some people, but it's not doing it for me. Expand
  7. Patrick
    Nov 6, 2006
    6
    I was a bit disappointed with this album. I bought it after hearing the brilliant Hoppipolla, and I hadn't heard any of Sigur Ros's other stuff. But the majority of the songs seemed a bit dull and samey. That said, tracks 1,2,3,4 and 6 are brilliant.
  8. madsl
    Nov 29, 2005
    6
    After 6 or 7 listens you already begin to tire a bit of a band that uses the same trick again and again...it seems all their songs are crafted the exact same way. They produce great soundscapes still...but how much longer before this formulae is worn out?
  9. PaulH
    May 19, 2006
    6
    just more of the same from Sigur Ros, but I just wasn't feeling this album as much for some reason.
  10. moosehead
    Dec 21, 2005
    6
    "It's like the boys have suddenly hit on the exact musical formula to make you feel slightly placid (For those interested, it's this: glacial synth warble + major chord arpeggio played on xylophone + shimmering but exactly the same guitar line + enough sugary and synthetic sounds on top to induce hyper glycaemia = a drowsy yet unsatisfied feeling.)" Exactly how I feel.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Takk... is still very much a Sigur Rós album, due in large part to the ever-present, otherworldly vocals, but also because the only real changes are the activeness of some arrangments.
  2. Billboard
    80
    While there are no surprises in its technique or approach, Sigur Rós has succeeded in making a startlingly beautiful record. [17 Sep 2005]
  3. Well-constructed, thoughtful, emotionally provocative and cathartic.