Takk...

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2005
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 185

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BatAgaetisByrjun
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    As beautiful as Agaetis Byriun
  2. marc
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    A beautifully moving album, it soundscape music with heart and emotion. Like () was after Agaetis byrjun another change in direction although still Sigur Ros this albums song certainly have more structure than () but that is no bad thing. Everytime i listen too the CD i have a new favourite and its more upbeat nature makes an excellent listen in the car. Sublime,peacefull, melancholic, A beautifully moving album, it soundscape music with heart and emotion. Like () was after Agaetis byrjun another change in direction although still Sigur Ros this albums song certainly have more structure than () but that is no bad thing. Everytime i listen too the CD i have a new favourite and its more upbeat nature makes an excellent listen in the car. Sublime,peacefull, melancholic, crashing, noise, uplifting, enchanting, all words that can sum up this album and there are so many other!!! Album of the year an i doubt anything will beat it. Expand
  3. michaels
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    near perfection. only if the lyrics were real words would it be better
  4. NajeebA
    Oct 1, 2005
    9
    Comparing them, this album, to Coldplay is extremely intersting. Not only is everything about Sigur Ros better than Coldplay, Coldplay are copycats of bands like Sigur Ros, Radiohead, Mum, Bjork. With that said. This album is really damn good. Not nearly as good as Agaetis Byrjun, but deffinetly in the best of 05.
  5. MichaelE
    Sep 27, 2005
    7
    They've done better - (), they've done worse - Von. Album is certainly more complex, but overall, just more of the same. Nothing strikes me as memorable. Certainly worth listening to, but I love these guys with or without this album.
  6. Jonathanv
    Oct 12, 2005
    9
    It keeps growing on me everytime I'm listening to it! This is one of the most beautiful albums of this year, I would say.
  7. IjoK
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    Amazing album!!! As good, if not better, than agaestis.
  8. pka
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    spellbinding, more varied and uplifting than (). Only gripe is that occasionally the repetitiveness of the vocal (with melodies you're sure you've heard before on this and the other 2 cds) gets in the way of the brilliance of the music
  9. JoshuaL
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This is easily one of the best albums I've heard in 5 years. The only word I can use to best describe their music is sublime. Never did I think that a bunch of icelanders would be the ones to create what is to me, hands down the album of the year.
  10. AramisG
    Sep 14, 2005
    8
    I am really enjoying Takk, but that is not to say it is above criticism (I don
  11. Trip
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    Go -> Buy -> This -> CD Sigur rós touched the sky and called the angels for us,this is the best cd of all times. 10/10
  12. theCoolest
    Sep 18, 2005
    9
    In life, this reviewer has been listening to Sigur Ros for three years now and still loves the new album. Where the previous efforts [as great as they are] prove too dark at times. Whereas 'Takk...' seems more like a reason for living.
  13. Altair
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year!
  14. JamesB
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    I listened with tears in my eyes the first time: it is that beautiful. Makes you want to exhale, and never stop.
  15. SeamusS
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I cant belive it, they've topped their masterpeice. This album is flawless and gorgeous, flowwing majestically from track to track with an unerving ambition and beauty that's nearly unmatched in the music world today.
  16. JohnK
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    The best way I can describe Sigur Ros' music is: remember the last, monumental song on every album you loved as a teenager? You felt like "the Truth is in this song if the world weren't so dumb and would just listen!". Well, a Sigur Ros album is like 70 minutes of straight "last songs". Monumental, eligiac, glorious, spiritual and--yes--over the top. They are incredibly The best way I can describe Sigur Ros' music is: remember the last, monumental song on every album you loved as a teenager? You felt like "the Truth is in this song if the world weren't so dumb and would just listen!". Well, a Sigur Ros album is like 70 minutes of straight "last songs". Monumental, eligiac, glorious, spiritual and--yes--over the top. They are incredibly uplifting, draining by the end, but they'll never write a 3-minute no.1 pop single. Expand
  17. JulianG
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    No other band can achieve this level of beauty.
  18. markl
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    Their best work yet. Wonderful experimental progressive rock album.
  19. davidr
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Elysium in a tiny crystal bottle.
  20. JuliaA
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    they came up with music that no chart-topping-seeker-band would dare to play though they're able.grandeur orchestral mixed with beautiful lyrics,sung like a spell,and it's in Icelandic.I always liked bands and musicians whose native language isn't English,they made their works sounded much more mystique.the best cuts in this album would be they came up with music that no chart-topping-seeker-band would dare to play though they're able.grandeur orchestral mixed with beautiful lyrics,sung like a spell,and it's in Icelandic.I always liked bands and musicians whose native language isn't English,they made their works sounded much more mystique.the best cuts in this album would be 'Glosoli','Hoppipolla','Saeglopur',and 'Andvari'.all of their albums would be real classics in musical history. Expand
  21. joeld
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    beautiful, captivating, unforgettable, emotional, perfect
  22. StevenL
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Absolutely beautiful. I really love this album.
  23. zaner
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    The music touches the very fabric of ones being...it exemplifies the meaning of heartfelt lyrics and music. Of all things that ive listened to....this has effected me emensely.
  24. JoeS
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Words cannot describe...
  25. dave
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Easily the best album of the year. I did'nt get them until ( ) but their music is uplifting and makes those hairs on the back of your neck stand up..Takk is more listenable than ( ) and went to no1 in Ireland straight away. I love it!
  26. MichaelL
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    Best thing I've heard all year.
  27. time
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    I'm sick and tired of seeing 0-2 votes. Ya'll just hate because you're bitter old virgins. This is there best album because of it magnificant production. Unlike there 1999 record which I compared to MBV's Loveless because it was just OK. Nothing more nothing less
  28. SeanC
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Upon first listen my anxious ears awaited to be entertained wildly as they have with the instantly gratifying work done on Agaetis Byrjun. However, it didn't start dazzeling me until I had heard it several times. This is usually the sign of a truely spectacular album. I assure all former 4AD fans and fans of the dark pop generation, this may be the only music you'll need for the Upon first listen my anxious ears awaited to be entertained wildly as they have with the instantly gratifying work done on Agaetis Byrjun. However, it didn't start dazzeling me until I had heard it several times. This is usually the sign of a truely spectacular album. I assure all former 4AD fans and fans of the dark pop generation, this may be the only music you'll need for the next couple of years. This my friends, is nothing less than a musical masterpiece. Expand
  29. PaulJ
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Better than cheese.
  30. MATTHEWn
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    emotionally devastating
  31. Mark
    Sep 12, 2005
    10
    Unspeakably beautiful. I get chills just thinking about listening to some of the tracks on this album.
  32. AlexM
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    goooooood stuff
  33. jayman
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Wow. Just finished 1st complete listen, and not on headphones mind you (which would move thr rating to 11, I am guessing). Mind-numbing, uplifting goo. Just what i needed!
  34. AgaetisByrjun
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Viaje espacial
  35. ElwinR
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    I could write down some overanalysised review over here. But to put it simple; this album is just GORGEOUS. Sigur Rós báck to form! Just put on your headphones, enjoy the warm melodies and softening mood as well as some MIGHTY FINE ROCKING moments.
  36. ag
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    their best yet. cut the fat just a tad and left us with an hour to bask in for years. awesome.
  37. LeightonP
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    Not quite as good as Ágætis Byrjun (my personal favourite album of all time) but more interesting than ( ) and overall an excellent fourth album from Sigur Rós.
  38. AdamR
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    An amazingly bright album that makes listening to songs off previous releases (Ny Batteri, Vidrar Vel Til Loftarasa, Untitled 8/Popplagid) seem like a journey to midnight. Highlights include the joyful Hoppipolla, the more subtle but no less beautiful Andvari, and the wonderful couple of singles that have already been released - Glosoli and Saeglopur.
  39. adam
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    greatest album of the year sigur ros are second only to sigur ros saeglopur and gong the best sings of the century
  40. MahebruH
    Sep 17, 2005
    8
    As great as "Takk..." is, the truth of the matter seems that upon releasing "()", Sigur Ros truly had said everything they are capable of saying. This album is particularly fantastic for its sense of optimism and hope, but it is undeniably a tad bit redundant. Nevertheless, it is still an easy album to enjoy. Brilliant, even.
  41. LucaG
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Simply the best music in the last years. Open your heart to Sigur Ròs. Open your eyes to Iceland.
  42. matta
    Sep 21, 2005
    8
    Not quite as good as Agaetas Byrjun but still gorgeous. I don't really understand some critics commenting that Sigur Ros went more mainstream with this album. It's just as other-wordly (and inaccessible to the general public) as Agaetus Byrjun was. Not what I would consider to be classic, or even top ten of the year, just because it's too abstract, but it's still Not quite as good as Agaetas Byrjun but still gorgeous. I don't really understand some critics commenting that Sigur Ros went more mainstream with this album. It's just as other-wordly (and inaccessible to the general public) as Agaetus Byrjun was. Not what I would consider to be classic, or even top ten of the year, just because it's too abstract, but it's still beautiful and worth listening to. Expand
  43. ariel
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    wow. this album has a sound- bells, incredibly intertwined harmonies, and noise. its not nearly as dark and broody as (.). the production may bother some people (distorted drums, etc) but its obviously done on purpose by the band, and it adds to the potency of this musical journey. thank you for your interest.
  44. IsraelB
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    Best CD of 2005
  45. ZachD
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    This has been most lovely to listen to, I couldn't have asked for more from Sigur Ros for their new cd. I also saw them 4 days ago live, if you ever get the chance, GO! see them live, it still makes me want to listen to them for the rest of my life. Thank you Sigur Ros!
  46. Darryl
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Von's work at the boby shop keeps him from fully morphing his latent talent, buying a Roland synth and making a few million dollars. This is the music that sounds so easy to make and isn't. Likme those idiots who see a Rothko and exclaim they could do it. Beauty in simplicity is a natural and supernatural reality. That Takk touches the soul makes it dangerous stuff.
  47. MichaelC
    Sep 29, 2005
    9
    I'm basically commenting here because of the idiotic comments polluting this thread by Von B. This critique is the equivalent of someone criticizing Kanye West's new album because they don't like hip hop culture. Criticizing a band because one doesn
  48. RossA
    Sep 30, 2005
    8
    Sigur Ros puts out another pretty ambience albums. No complaints. Its just nice. And to those of you who read Von's review: Bias like that belongs on Fox News. :)
  49. maxt
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Great.
  50. mr.hankey
    May 12, 2006
    10
    A brilliant record with an even better live show. I just saw Sigur Ros perform in Michigan yesterday and I can safely say it was phenomenal. The energy was propelled by the band and the audience but that wasn't all their was brilliant video footage with great animations. This album is a great one and in my opinion is their second best. The melodies are driven by the extraordinary A brilliant record with an even better live show. I just saw Sigur Ros perform in Michigan yesterday and I can safely say it was phenomenal. The energy was propelled by the band and the audience but that wasn't all their was brilliant video footage with great animations. This album is a great one and in my opinion is their second best. The melodies are driven by the extraordinary piano, wave like guitar ( which if you did not know he plays with a violin bow ) and the heart pounding bass. The other instruments including the lead singers voice which mixes in amazingly well with the ambient music. The other instruments including the drums are needed so you can understand the complexity of the music. If you went to a Sigur Ros live show you would see Amina the opening act which I suggest you buy the Ep for is playing instruments as well as the band. During the concert the all girl group Amina was playing strings. Takk.. is a successful and astonishing effort that you will not want to miss. Expand
  51. MathewD
    May 12, 2006
    10
    I saw the band 2 nights ago in Milwaukee, and the show was spiritually and sonically amazing and cathartic...loved it so much that i planned on driving to detroit the next day to see them again--got lost and consequently missed it, bu i would say that this is one of the most important bands out there right now...
  52. uhp.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Great stuff, I make love with this cd album.
  53. Miranda
    Feb 14, 2008
    9
    An amazing album, full of life and grace...truly breath taking music.
  54. BendikD
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Sigur Rós is simply the best.
  55. Sena
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    Brilliant album. And live amazing!!!
  56. FooFighter
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    Excellent. I didn't know music like this was still made. It's very epic and very "concept"-ish; it makes me think this is what Pink Floyd or Queen might have done were they at the hight of their powers now instead of 30 years ago. To the guy who compared this to Blink 182: What are you on? And can I have some?
  57. AaronG
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Takk... is Sigur Rós's rock album, or at least as close as they will ever get to creating one. Much in the same way that Rock Action solidified Mogwai's remarkable ambition and vast potential into cohesiveness, Takk... is the album that finds Sigur Rós deciding on a happy medium. By taking the best elements from their previous offerings- the gentle beauty of Von, Takk... is Sigur Rós's rock album, or at least as close as they will ever get to creating one. Much in the same way that Rock Action solidified Mogwai's remarkable ambition and vast potential into cohesiveness, Takk... is the album that finds Sigur Rós deciding on a happy medium. By taking the best elements from their previous offerings- the gentle beauty of Von, the songwriting of Ágaetis Byrjun and the atmospherics from ( )- Sigur Rós infuse Takk... with an immediacy that is unlike anything else in their catalogue. For Sigur Rós, Takk... is the sound of settling, and the comfort that comes with it. For this listener, Takk... is the sound of catharsis. Brilliant. Expand
  58. dickh
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Phenominal album - their best yet. Makes me want to hug the nearest person when I listen to it. Awe inspiring.
  59. JolietJimmy
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    BREATHTAKING!!
  60. steph
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    its amazing....the most beatiful music i've ever heard
  61. BarryP
    Dec 2, 2005
    9
    Deamy sleepytime tea from Iceland. Made up words are go!
  62. lelandR
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Amazing, I love this album
  63. SenatorK
    Sep 13, 2005
    8
    I really, really want to visit Iceland now. It's rare when a musician can condense an entire country's flavor into one song. Copland did it in "Appalachian Spring" for the American West. Saint Etienne did it in "Side Streets" for London. And Sigur Ros did it here in "Glósóli" for the beautiful Nordic glaciers.
  64. AdamG
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the year and I am sick of it not getting the credit it deserves.
  65. [Anonymous]
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This album is in my opinion one of the of the top 3 of the year (so far).
  66. AlexE
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    When I bought the album, I could not believe that the same two songs that started the jaw-dropping concert I saw in Atlanta last week ("Takk..." and "Glosoli") were also the first two tracks! Because of this, I can relive the amazing opening of that show any time I want, and I will cherish that forever. However, the album is not perfect. There are a few too many similar melodies scattered When I bought the album, I could not believe that the same two songs that started the jaw-dropping concert I saw in Atlanta last week ("Takk..." and "Glosoli") were also the first two tracks! Because of this, I can relive the amazing opening of that show any time I want, and I will cherish that forever. However, the album is not perfect. There are a few too many similar melodies scattered throughout, and the production simply can't compare to the live versions, but it is much much better than the somnambulant "( )". Jonsi's vocals are the most beautiful they've ever been, and it is thrilling to hear the band try a new sound on tracks like "Hoppipolla" and "Gong". The album is perfectly sequenced, seamlessly blending songs to create what sounds like an hour-long suite of some of the most beautiful and transcendant music you've ever heard. I am incredibly grateful that bands like Sigur Ros are making music that sounds like nothing else on Earth. Expand
  67. LoganB
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard
  68. ()
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    Really amazing what Sigur Ros is doing. Best album of the year and maybe the best album ever. Go check their concerts and you will be astonished. To good for words!!!
  69. josak
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    Sigur Ros is an incredibly talented, creative band. With all of their albums, I've found that they carry at least two or three masterpieces, along with a few good songs. Takk is no different; "Glosoli", "Gong", "Hoppipolla" and "Andvari" are are just brilliant, emotional pieces. Like most "post-rock" bands, Sigur Ros can take a little bit to get into, but believe me, it's worth Sigur Ros is an incredibly talented, creative band. With all of their albums, I've found that they carry at least two or three masterpieces, along with a few good songs. Takk is no different; "Glosoli", "Gong", "Hoppipolla" and "Andvari" are are just brilliant, emotional pieces. Like most "post-rock" bands, Sigur Ros can take a little bit to get into, but believe me, it's worth being patient. Highly recommended to any open-minded listener. Expand
  70. athalei
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    extraordinary songs, perfect production, wonderful cover art
  71. StephenM
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    God smashing a snow shaker.
  72. Rev.JimCunningham
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    Takk was the first I had ever heard from Sigur Ros. Anyone who has even the slightest negative comment about this album knows pathetically nothing of music or the spirit that creates it. As I listened for the first time, not knowing what to expect, Takk immediately shut my eye sight down and made me see with my mind as though I saw with my eyes. My imagination was on fire, being twisted Takk was the first I had ever heard from Sigur Ros. Anyone who has even the slightest negative comment about this album knows pathetically nothing of music or the spirit that creates it. As I listened for the first time, not knowing what to expect, Takk immediately shut my eye sight down and made me see with my mind as though I saw with my eyes. My imagination was on fire, being twisted and turned and splayed in a thousand directions. It were as though someone were reciting to me the most mezmerizing and impossible story I had ever heard. My heart pounded, I was short of breath, my eyes watered, and the first interruption from an outside source jolted me with an irritating, distracting disruption, as though I were captivated by an angel speaking with me while someone else was trying to butt in to tell me some wart toad in a scummy pond had died. I felt terror in my bones and bowels, but it was the terror one might feel if he suddenly lifted from the ground into the sky and flew over mountains and forests and seas and did not know when he would land, or even if he could. The vocal language of the songs is utterly unknown to me (is it Icelandic... ?), which gave the whole listening experience a sense of otherwordly adventure and mystery. I don't care how this album compares to any previous album, or even if this ablum did not break any new ground (as pompous unimaginative critics have spouted); this album is a mindboggling masterpiece of unparalleled magnificence, and any opinion to the contrary is not to be entertained or even respected as anything more than the judgment of a deaf mongrel. Expand
  73. daven
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Sigur Ros, in my opinion, is the most brilliant band in the music industry today. Nobody even comes close to their unique style and they outdid themselves again with Takk. () seemed liked their destined masterpiece and it was until Takk came along. This is their "mainstream" record although that word doesn't flow with Sigur Ros. You won't find a better record in 2005 than Takk.
  74. PabloG.
    May 24, 2007
    9
    an amazing cd, it sounds unique, the voice is at every moment part of each song, something that they havent realized in some of their previous albums.
  75. Jvigilante
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    It's all about taste isn't it? I mean, you could have the most perfect work of art (music, cinema, painting, etc.) and there will always be those who hate it. So there's no accounting for taste. But there are connoisseurs of things, those who over time have a feeling in their being for something they are passionate about. Sigur Ros is like the finest wine that one who is It's all about taste isn't it? I mean, you could have the most perfect work of art (music, cinema, painting, etc.) and there will always be those who hate it. So there's no accounting for taste. But there are connoisseurs of things, those who over time have a feeling in their being for something they are passionate about. Sigur Ros is like the finest wine that one who is knowledgeable about such things could hope to taste. And the people who drink Malt Duck and f*cking box wine and listen to Blink 182 will always call them pompous. There's no accounting for taste. Expand
  76. corey
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    sigur ros is absolutely brilliant in the production of this album, as all their other albums. they know how to take existentialism and turn it into a sound, simply breath taking music. and jonsi (lead singer) has certainly commanded my respect through his bone chilling falsettos
  77. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    The sound of the noughties can be summed up in three albums: Is This It, Funeral and this album. Forget that the lyrics are gibberish, forget it's overuse by the BBC and most other soundtrach compilers at the time, as a piece of music this album is truly incredible. At once it is ethereal, haunting yet uplifting and beautiful. Undoubtedly their best album. Timeless.
  78. May 8, 2012
    9
    This is definitely one of the albums of the 00's and Sigur Ros' best work in my opinion. This is classical music for a modern time and some of the melodies these lads come up with are incredible. When you think everything that could be done in music has been done, this record shows you can still find new ways to do things. The whole album has a dream like atmosphere to it. Phenomenal.
  79. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Takk... will assure listeners that they don't have to figure out what the band is singing about but to feel the fervent emotion and close their eyes, so the listeners can be transported on a magic carpet ride. Think imagination, like classic Disney films and old-school poems. What's not to like?
  80. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    To be honest, it's not as stunning as '()' but it's nevertheless an amazing album. I love Sigur Rós and this album is simply wonderful - it's also nice to hear them sing actual lyrics that can be translated. So you recognize their talent in expressing themselves.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Takk... is still very much a Sigur Rós album, due in large part to the ever-present, otherworldly vocals, but also because the only real changes are the activeness of some arrangments.
  2. While there are no surprises in its technique or approach, Sigur Rós has succeeded in making a startlingly beautiful record. [17 Sep 2005]
  3. Well-constructed, thoughtful, emotionally provocative and cathartic.