Takk...

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Takk... Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sigur Ros' fourth album is the first to feature songs sung mainly in their native Icelandic, rather than their fabricated Hopelandish.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Takk does what Agaetis Byrjun did by burrowing into the consciousness and snuggling down to bed there, purring. Each listen brings out another mood, another thought. It's gorgeous.
  2. Filter
    92
    The results are compact, near-pop micro-anthems. [#17, p.93]
  3. Q Magazine
    90
    Takk... [is] a thing of... supple, muscular beauty, throwing off the stultifying air of reverence that has sometimes surrounded them. [Oct 2005, p.116]
  4. Takk is sharper and more direct than anything the band has previously churned out, but that is not to say it’s by any means accessible by normal standards.
  5. Sigur Rós are still significant, but Takk sounds safe.
  6. Blender
    80
    On [Takk...], the band opens up emotionally, warming up their lengthy jams to a slow burn to create intoxicating, meditative rock. [Oct 2005, p.143]
  7. It is undeniable that they can produce beautiful sounds with their equipment, it's just that they do not seem to be able to orchestrate it to any purpose afterwards.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 97
  2. Negative: 5 out of 97
  1. dickh
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Phenominal album - their best yet. Makes me want to hug the nearest person when I listen to it. Awe inspiring.
  2. AdamG
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the year and I am sick of it not getting the credit it deserves.
  3. Rev.JimCunningham
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    Takk was the first I had ever heard from Sigur Ros. Anyone who has even the slightest negative comment about this album knows pathetically Takk was the first I had ever heard from Sigur Ros. Anyone who has even the slightest negative comment about this album knows pathetically nothing of music or the spirit that creates it. As I listened for the first time, not knowing what to expect, Takk immediately shut my eye sight down and made me see with my mind as though I saw with my eyes. My imagination was on fire, being twisted and turned and splayed in a thousand directions. It were as though someone were reciting to me the most mezmerizing and impossible story I had ever heard. My heart pounded, I was short of breath, my eyes watered, and the first interruption from an outside source jolted me with an irritating, distracting disruption, as though I were captivated by an angel speaking with me while someone else was trying to butt in to tell me some wart toad in a scummy pond had died. I felt terror in my bones and bowels, but it was the terror one might feel if he suddenly lifted from the ground into the sky and flew over mountains and forests and seas and did not know when he would land, or even if he could. The vocal language of the songs is utterly unknown to me (is it Icelandic... ?), which gave the whole listening experience a sense of otherwordly adventure and mystery. I don't care how this album compares to any previous album, or even if this ablum did not break any new ground (as pompous unimaginative critics have spouted); this album is a mindboggling masterpiece of unparalleled magnificence, and any opinion to the contrary is not to be entertained or even respected as anything more than the judgment of a deaf mongrel. Expand
  4. pka
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    spellbinding, more varied and uplifting than (). Only gripe is that occasionally the repetitiveness of the vocal (with melodies you're spellbinding, more varied and uplifting than (). Only gripe is that occasionally the repetitiveness of the vocal (with melodies you're sure you've heard before on this and the other 2 cds) gets in the way of the brilliance of the music Expand
  5. PabloG.
    May 24, 2007
    9
    an amazing cd, it sounds unique, the voice is at every moment part of each song, something that they havent realized in some of their an amazing cd, it sounds unique, the voice is at every moment part of each song, something that they havent realized in some of their previous albums. Expand
  6. radar
    Oct 8, 2005
    0
    A heap of samples, dressed with the most irritating voice in history...

See all 97 User Reviews