Tales of Us

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Sep 10, 2013
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    Aug 30, 2013
    60
    It's more fireside snooze than woodland romp. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  2. Nine of the ten songs are named after friends, and they’re samey and indulgent.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    60
    Tales of Us is slightly more mesmerising soundscape than collection of genuinely outstanding songs.
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    60
    The pair typically alternate between sexed-up dance-pop and psychedelic ambience, but Tales Of Us is their most pared-down effort in the latter category.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    Although some of the arrangements and electronic embellishments are lavish, there are few obvious peaks and troughs apart from the epic throb of ‘Thea’.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Wonderful work by the duo. Another dramatic turn of sound, taking them away from the 80's synthpop of Head First to this new sounds. Some sayWonderful work by the duo. Another dramatic turn of sound, taking them away from the 80's synthpop of Head First to this new sounds. Some say it is like a fusion of Felt Mountain and Seventh Tree, but I am not comfortable with that comparison. The song's are not as disjointed as Felt Mountain, nor as lush as Seventh Tree. They are menacingly sung haunting listens filled with character, haunting and beautiful. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    I think this album is pretty unremarkable. As subtle as the sound is, I think it's pretty forgettable- as such I describe it as 'A DreamI think this album is pretty unremarkable. As subtle as the sound is, I think it's pretty forgettable- as such I describe it as 'A Dream You're Likely to Forget' in my blog review.

    Have a read (it's short), any feedback is welcome. Thanks

    http://osianlewis.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/goldfrapp-tales-of-us-review-dream.html
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    3
    This seems to be the exact opposite of 'Head First'. That is, a morose collections of vaguely pretty tracks that sound as if they're allThis seems to be the exact opposite of 'Head First'. That is, a morose collections of vaguely pretty tracks that sound as if they're all rejects for the next Bond movie. I much prefer her when she's all soaring synthesizers. Only highlight on the whole album was 'Thea', and even that was dull. Come on Goldfrapp. Life's not that bad! Full Review »