User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 313

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    6
    this album has its moments like Talk That Talk W/ Jay-Z, You Da One, We Found Love and Roc Me Out. Other songs were crap and i just wanted to stop playing the album. Rihanna needs to go back to "Rated R", & Good Girl Gone Bad
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    We have already known that Rihanna likes spanking. Talk That Talk, album number six, extends our knowledge about the sexual habits of the Barbados Minister of Tourism: Suck my **** / Lick my persuasion (â
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    It's good. It's nothing out of the ordinary, but it's still one of Rihanna's best albums. I think the best tracks are "Talk That Talk", "Red Lipstick", and "Roc Me Out."
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    4
    A rushed album. That's the perfect subtitle for this CD. After a satured album, 'Loud', Rihanna launches a new one after only one year. And it's not that good. Very far for the excellent work she did on 'Rated R' (her best album), she makes a techno (dumb) pop album. Nothing special to listen, the whole album seems some making-money strategy!
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    I was very exccited for the release of this album, but was a tad bit disapointed. Highlights of the album are "You Da One", "Where have You Been", "We Found Love" and "Roc Me Out". Another highlight is "Birthday Cake", but it ends way too soon. Even though there is going to be a remix of "Birthday Cake", i would have liked to have seen the full version on the album. The slower trackI was very exccited for the release of this album, but was a tad bit disapointed. Highlights of the album are "You Da One", "Where have You Been", "We Found Love" and "Roc Me Out". Another highlight is "Birthday Cake", but it ends way too soon. Even though there is going to be a remix of "Birthday Cake", i would have liked to have seen the full version on the album. The slower track seem hastily written and produced with generic beats and sounds. It seems to be a let down from "Good Girl Gone Bad" and "Loud", but Rihanna has a special talent and I believe the fault with this record was the production team. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Can be a wonderful album, good to hear, well divided, a great choice for listening at home alone or with friends.
    Highlights: Where Have You Been and Brithday Cake
    Lows: Roc Me Out and Watch N' Learn
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Once More Rihanna Proves She's Still Got It!
    Every Track Is Just WOW!
  8. Jan 3, 2012
    4
    I'm sorry to say this, but this is a huge disappointment. It just wasn't a good album like her previous ones. One the positive side, she is a hit-maker, but some how she can't reach number 1 on the Billboard 200 Album Charts. Sorry, but I had no choice but to give her a bad review.
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    I'm starting to doubt if Rihanna has any talent left. She started out so great and sensational, but where has all of that gone? Every song is drowned in autotune and many don't stand out very much, other than "Where Have You Been" and "We Found Love."
  10. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    I love Rihanna but this is not my favorite album of hers. Rated R was amazing and Loud did not disappoint, this fell short. It was kinda obvious it was rushed and her vocals are good but a bit untouched. Best tracks on the album are "Where Have You Been", "We Found Love" & "Drunk On Love". songs like "Farewell" and "TTT" made me done with the album. but the album as a whole is just solid.
  11. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Album #6 has a nice selection of hits and gave us one of her best tracks in 'We Found Love'. It's not the perfect album and not her best from her catalogue but there is enough here to make it an enjoayble album.
  12. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Rihanna is that kind of artist that goes with whatever's hot at the moment. There's no music artistry, no connection to the (awful) lyrics. Don't waste your time with this.
  13. Nov 22, 2011
    4
    The new Queen of Pop Music (at the moment) seems to be repeating herself. When Rihanna showed her darker side on Good Girl Gone Bad, Rated R, and Loud, it was genuinely intriguing and captivating. This was where the superstar in her always lay. Those three albums were very enjoyable with Rihanna really maturing and knowing how to make every single track sound like a hit. Talk That Talk onThe new Queen of Pop Music (at the moment) seems to be repeating herself. When Rihanna showed her darker side on Good Girl Gone Bad, Rated R, and Loud, it was genuinely intriguing and captivating. This was where the superstar in her always lay. Those three albums were very enjoyable with Rihanna really maturing and knowing how to make every single track sound like a hit. Talk That Talk on the other hand, seems rushed and unfinished and most of all, repetitive. Sure you got the occasional shocks like "Suck my **** and lick my persuasion" (pronounced puss-asion) but nothing as gripping as "Man Down" or "S&M". Highlights exist (the return to classic Rihanna title track and "We All Want Love") but nothing that is certified hit status. Instead of an album made with effort yet still balancing pop sensibilities, fans get probably her weakest record. Being a prolific artist isn't everything if efficiency does not equate to consistency. Maybe the Queen needs a little vacation. Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    I Bought Talk That Talk (Deluxe Edition) Here Are All The Songs & Score Out Of 10
    You da One 10/10
    Where Have You Been 10/10
    We Found Love 10/10 (Best Song On The Album)
    Talk That Talk 9/10
    **** (Love It) 9/10
    Birthday Cake 7/10
    We All Want Love 10/10
    Drunk On Love 9/10
    Roc Me Out 10/10
    Watch N Learn 10/10
    Farewell 10/10
    Red Lipstick 6/10
    Do Ya Thing 10/10
    Fool In Love 9/10
  15. Dec 4, 2011
    6
    Does releasing an album every year hurt an artist body of work? By having another album 3 years in a row, Rihanna seems to be stretching it a little bit. It feels like a collection of b side forum his previous album, LOUD. Not too bad, but not too good either.
  16. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    I like Rihanna and I'm her fan, but i don't like this album. In "Talk That Talk" there are good songs like "We Found Love", "You da One", "Farewell", "We All Want Love" and "Drunk On Love but there are bad songs like "Where Have You Been" and "Watch n' Learn" and disgusting songs like "Cockiness" and "Birthday Cake". There isn't a concept and the biggest part of the lyrics are stupid.I like Rihanna and I'm her fan, but i don't like this album. In "Talk That Talk" there are good songs like "We Found Love", "You da One", "Farewell", "We All Want Love" and "Drunk On Love but there are bad songs like "Where Have You Been" and "Watch n' Learn" and disgusting songs like "Cockiness" and "Birthday Cake". There isn't a concept and the biggest part of the lyrics are stupid. "Loud", "Rated R" and "Good Girl Gone Bad" are really better than this. Expand
  17. Aug 4, 2012
    6
    Talk That Talk sounds rushed and has a lack of creativity. The songs sound very basic and Rihanna sounds like she's tired. Talk That Talk lacks the energy that her previous albums have. The best songs are on the deluxe edition.
  18. Aug 30, 2013
    3
    Fumbling through the numbers, Talk That Talk is an identity crisis. Attempting to marry the dance-pop, urban, and ballad-leaning sides of Rihanna, it is a melting pot of goop. With production above par, the lyrics are at their worst. However, Rihanna makes the best of even goop, and delivers on each track in a way that each track feels as more than an album filler. But on an album whereFumbling through the numbers, Talk That Talk is an identity crisis. Attempting to marry the dance-pop, urban, and ballad-leaning sides of Rihanna, it is a melting pot of goop. With production above par, the lyrics are at their worst. However, Rihanna makes the best of even goop, and delivers on each track in a way that each track feels as more than an album filler. But on an album where pacing is non-existent, it caters to the cherry-picking iTunes masses. Talk That Talk simply does not work as an album. Expand
  19. Dec 4, 2011
    4
    I really liked GGGB and Loud, but this was a huge disappointment. It was rushed, derivative and lazily produced and written. It should have been called Good Girl Gone Bad 2: Rated NC-17 since it adds so little to Rihanna's tableau. So many of Rihanna's vocals are auto-tuned and many songs sound unfinished including **** (Love It) and Birthday Cake, which was half a song! The sound is theI really liked GGGB and Loud, but this was a huge disappointment. It was rushed, derivative and lazily produced and written. It should have been called Good Girl Gone Bad 2: Rated NC-17 since it adds so little to Rihanna's tableau. So many of Rihanna's vocals are auto-tuned and many songs sound unfinished including **** (Love It) and Birthday Cake, which was half a song! The sound is the same David Guetta sound that is being done to death on the radio, and many of the slang song titles sound like she's trying to be cool. Highlights are there though, including Where Have You Been, We Found Love, We All Want Love and Drunk on Love. This album is undoubtedly rushed and a dip in standards from GGGB and Loud. Perhaps Rihanna should take a break for two or three years and take time with her next album. Expand
  20. Jan 5, 2012
    3
    Rihanna, like most pop artists, dabble into heavy electronic beats to make for lazy songwriting. Rihanna's past works wern't the musical opus of the 21st century, but at least they had decent hooks and a nice feel. Like the Black Eyed Peas, she's gone from a guilty pleasure to a throwaway pop act. This album should've just been called "The I've Stopped Trying Chronicals, Vol. 1". In aRihanna, like most pop artists, dabble into heavy electronic beats to make for lazy songwriting. Rihanna's past works wern't the musical opus of the 21st century, but at least they had decent hooks and a nice feel. Like the Black Eyed Peas, she's gone from a guilty pleasure to a throwaway pop act. This album should've just been called "The I've Stopped Trying Chronicals, Vol. 1". In a world where talents like Adele, Bon Iver Feist exist, why do we keep listening to Rihanna? Expand
  21. Feb 5, 2012
    5
    Definitely disappointing. While her fans (the so called Rihanna Navy) may defend this album to death, I consider this album kind of generic and not even half as good as her other albums. However, I blame Def Jam for this mess. This album was rushed and did not have proper production -in both production and lyrical content-. I strongly believe that if it hadn't been released so early, itDefinitely disappointing. While her fans (the so called Rihanna Navy) may defend this album to death, I consider this album kind of generic and not even half as good as her other albums. However, I blame Def Jam for this mess. This album was rushed and did not have proper production -in both production and lyrical content-. I strongly believe that if it hadn't been released so early, it would have been way better. It has some amazing tracks such as 'We Found Love' -Amazing job, Calvin!- and Talk That Talk, but I've seen Rihanna do way better than this (GGGB, Rated R). Expand
  22. Apr 1, 2012
    5
    After the masterpiece she delivered with Rated R, and a not-that-bad follow up called Loud, I tought Talk That Talk may be good... It is not. She seems to explore deeper the sound she devellopped in Loud, but lost the panache it had. Some songs sound like drafts (Birthday Cake). Well, I guess I'll have to wait another year to see if she understood that it is better to release a meaningfulAfter the masterpiece she delivered with Rated R, and a not-that-bad follow up called Loud, I tought Talk That Talk may be good... It is not. She seems to explore deeper the sound she devellopped in Loud, but lost the panache it had. Some songs sound like drafts (Birthday Cake). Well, I guess I'll have to wait another year to see if she understood that it is better to release a meaningful and deep album than danceable crap. Expand
  23. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    Overall, Rihanna's 'Talk That Talk' is a fun, gritty-edged album. It is her nastiest and dirtiest, to date with lyrics like 'Ooh, I wanna f**k You, right now', 'Just because I can't kiss back/Doesn't mean you can't kiss that', 'Suck my **** lick My persuasion.' So, you get the point! It's not the type of album you wanna buy for your little ones. The Low lights of the album consists ofOverall, Rihanna's 'Talk That Talk' is a fun, gritty-edged album. It is her nastiest and dirtiest, to date with lyrics like 'Ooh, I wanna f**k You, right now', 'Just because I can't kiss back/Doesn't mean you can't kiss that', 'Suck my **** lick My persuasion.' So, you get the point! It's not the type of album you wanna buy for your little ones. The Low lights of the album consists of feeling 'rushed' and 'incomplete'... If you spin the album a few times, You'll learn to love it. Expand
  24. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    I Loved Every Single Song Of This Album (Excluding Birthday Cake)
    She Is Improving So Much Vocally! Deserves A Grammy 100%!
  25. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Clearly Rihanna's second best album after Rated R. Every song fits into the album and there's a continuous flow of dancefloor domination. Highlights include "Where Have You Been" and "Red Lipstick."
  26. Dec 3, 2011
    3
    So called "princess of pop" would be wise to stick to one genre, instead of multi-dipping in electronic rave from Harris, less-then-unoriginal teary ballads and reggae rhythms. I wish I could support her bipolar attempt to rule all kinds of dancefloors, but I simply don't seem to be able to follow her.
    Talk That Talk is an overproduced, shallow album with absolutely nothing ambitious and
    So called "princess of pop" would be wise to stick to one genre, instead of multi-dipping in electronic rave from Harris, less-then-unoriginal teary ballads and reggae rhythms. I wish I could support her bipolar attempt to rule all kinds of dancefloors, but I simply don't seem to be able to follow her.
    Talk That Talk is an overproduced, shallow album with absolutely nothing ambitious and enjoyable.
    Expand
  27. May 30, 2012
    10
    Rewind Rihanna Loud which launched a year ago. This sixth album starts fairly unoriginal and the first three titles - even the appearance of a single with Calvin Harris - bring the listener ever so slightly turned in reflections on the very slow evolution of dance music / club, despite its large production facilities, tired by its lack of innovation. Then Jay-Z arrives and takes the sauce.Rewind Rihanna Loud which launched a year ago. This sixth album starts fairly unoriginal and the first three titles - even the appearance of a single with Calvin Harris - bring the listener ever so slightly turned in reflections on the very slow evolution of dance music / club, despite its large production facilities, tired by its lack of innovation. Then Jay-Z arrives and takes the sauce. Unlike his colleagues (BEP, Beyonce, Gaga, Katy Perry), Rihanna has the merit of having crafted a cohesive album (it's raw and it's about ass) who listen from beginning to end. Special mention for Drunk on Love, hinged on a sampling of The XX Intro. Strange hybrid that works against all odds. Expand
  28. Jan 16, 2012
    6
    Nothing that Ke$ha or DEV cannot do. Good album though despite the generic things she refused to use in her past albums. Bad vocals, non-creative lyrics. The fillers are Drunk On Love and Farewell.
  29. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    Just a year after LOUD Rihanna delivers yet another album. Luckily this one is slightly better than her last disappointing effort, only successful for the massive singles "Only Girl" and "S&M". "Talk that Talk" represents perfectly what pop music is nowadays, whether it is good or not. Infectious choruses, electronic beats and simple lyrics. Not as good as "Rated R" or "Good Girl GoneJust a year after LOUD Rihanna delivers yet another album. Luckily this one is slightly better than her last disappointing effort, only successful for the massive singles "Only Girl" and "S&M". "Talk that Talk" represents perfectly what pop music is nowadays, whether it is good or not. Infectious choruses, electronic beats and simple lyrics. Not as good as "Rated R" or "Good Girl Gone Bad", but I feel she is going in the right direction if she wants to be a pop princess for a long time. However it is very sad to see that this quite enjoyable music is just manufactured, and that she is not involved in the writing, composing or production at all. I fear we will never see nothing like "Fire Bomb", "Te Amo" or "The Last Song" if she continues to ignore her role as a lyricist. Most current pop stars write their songs (Adele, Lady GaGa, even Katy Perry), and that really gives them some credibility as musicians, even if the quality of their music is sometimes discussable. Rihanna should take some time off and write her own material to make an album that makes sense for her and is more than just a track list full of catchy unorganised songs. Albums like "Talk That Talk" are enjoyable, but throwaway, and she will remain as a trash pop girl, an enjoyable trash pop girl, but trashy after all, if she continues this way.

    Highlights: "We Found Love", "Where Have You Been", "Red Lipstick"
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Musically, this is pop without shame‑-her hookiest and most dance-targeted album.
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    30
    It's sure to sell on brand recognition alone, but I doubt a series of mannered and soulless hooks are going to find much life outside of the European remix circuit.
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    It's easy to criticise Talk That Talk but it's actually a fun and enjoyable record.