Talk That Talk Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Barbados-born singer's sixth studio album features guest appearances by Calvin Harris and Jay-Z.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Musically, this is pop without shame‑-her hookiest and most dance-targeted album.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    Sure, like much of the album, Rihanna is mining her past glories all over again, but she does it with such swagger, such enthusiasm, that the end result is a definitive thrill-ride of a success.
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    It is meant to be fun, catchy, sexy, and danceable, and while it isn't groundbreaking by any means, it succeeds in reaching all of its goals.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    It's easy to criticise Talk That Talk but it's actually a fun and enjoyable record.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    60
    When she's not challenging herself in that way [trying to emulate the established RiRi formula], she can sound a little bored, but you could argue that's part of her ice-queen R&B appeal.
  6. 50
    A so-so album which suggests it may be time for Ms Fenty to take a holiday.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    30
    It's sure to sell on brand recognition alone, but I doubt a series of mannered and soulless hooks are going to find much life outside of the European remix circuit.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 126
  2. Negative: 24 out of 126
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have to say every single of rihanna's CD has been a master piece and actually talk that talk is an awesome continuation to that maestry workI have to say every single of rihanna's CD has been a master piece and actually talk that talk is an awesome continuation to that maestry work and i will just use random letters now cause i need 150 characters and this album is just amazing sooo odnasofbiafoka. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. There's a lot of tracks with potential to be big hits, such as Talk That Talk and Where Have You Been. Still think Rated R isAmazing album. There's a lot of tracks with potential to be big hits, such as Talk That Talk and Where Have You Been. Still think Rated R is her best album, but this one is great. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Rihanna's sixth album in six years. Impressive! And she still has that something. With this album, she will surely confirm her spot in the topRihanna's sixth album in six years. Impressive! And she still has that something. With this album, she will surely confirm her spot in the top of the music industry. As for the album, it has a similar "Loud" concept, with a few club bangers, heartbreaking ballads and R&B songs.
    The strongest songs are, in my opinion Where Have You Been, a song that is definitely going to be a bigger success than We Found Love and maybe, but just maybe, Umbrella. Another very good song is Drunk On Love, a great mid-tempo song that shows the power of her vocal. As for the singles, I think that she could've chosen another song to be second single, but the choice was obvious, trying to repeat the success of What's my Name. Of course, there are some shockers, that are no shockers when we hear them on Rihanna album. Song **** is, I must say, one of the weakest from the album. Another very playful and dirty "song" is Birthday Cake, which would've been great for a urban single if it wasn't long for less than 80 seconds. Overall, it's a good album that will keep your attention until she releases a new one, and that could be very, very soon.
    Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Album #6 has a nice selection of hits and gave us one of her best tracks in 'We Found Love'. It's not the perfect album and not her best fromAlbum #6 has a nice selection of hits and gave us one of her best tracks in 'We Found Love'. It's not the perfect album and not her best from her catalogue but there is enough here to make it an enjoayble album. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    I was hoping for more. Maybe it will grow on me. Either way i like this album alot more than Loud. Loud was too generic to me. I think ifI was hoping for more. Maybe it will grow on me. Either way i like this album alot more than Loud. Loud was too generic to me. I think if Rihanna Grows more she will begin to mature and maybe put her all into her music. I know she worked hard on this; However, i beleive there is more room for improvement. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2012
    5
    Talk That Talk.Rihanna's 6th studio album.Totally rushed , meaningless pop album.Yes i agree , songs are really catchy and fun but that is notTalk That Talk.Rihanna's 6th studio album.Totally rushed , meaningless pop album.Yes i agree , songs are really catchy and fun but that is not the point.MTV said this album outmuscles Femme Fatale and Born This Way.They even mentioned that this album would outsell 21 by Adele.I just laughed at that when i first read the review.
    First of all ''You Da One'' is a fun production but not a masterpiece at all.Same tunes , silly lines.
    We Found Love is like the best song on the album.Lyrics are not good but the way that they use the dubstep is really cool.
    Where Have You Been is like the same sh*t with We Found Love.In fact they are the only 2 good songs on the album.
    Talk That Talk feat. Jay-Z is more like a classic Rihanna song but sorry - i did not like that.
    We did not even heard the full version of Birthday Cake yet so i can't say anything about it.
    We All Want Love is a nice try for ballad but no.It did not work Riri.Well the other songs don't even worth your precious time.
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    EPIC DISASTERPIECE!!!, The Only good songs are You da one, talk that & Red lipstick. Thats it :/ 2/5. Her WORSE album to date! & I thoughtEPIC DISASTERPIECE!!!, The Only good songs are You da one, talk that & Red lipstick. Thats it :/ 2/5. Her WORSE album to date! & I thought loud was Generic :? Expand

See all 126 User Reviews