Talking To You, Talking To Me Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hailing from Los Angeles by way of Kentucky, Chandra and Leigh Watson--aka the Watson Twins--follow up 2008's "Fire Songs" with "Talking to You, Talking to Me." It features members of Everest and My Morning Jacket's Bo Koster.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. 80
    Having grabbed attention for their collaboration with Jenny Lewis on "Rabbit Fur Coat," then their own "Fire Songs," this takes a bold shift in direction. [Mar 2010, p.104]
  2. Gossamer. That's the best way to describe the new album by The Watson Twins. Like strings of gossamer and gauze, Talking To You, Talking To Me is a supple, soothing effort that's relaxed, reflective and decidedly old-school.
  3. The Twins come out of hiding. Unlike the dual harmonies previously heard, they alternate with lead and backing vocals. [Winter 2010, p.70]
  4. Over half of the album would benefit from a more lived in persona that the twins evade for the majority of their sophomore set.
  5. In looking beyond the confines of the often stuffy alt-country style of Rabbit and their underwhelming debut, Fire Songs, Leigh and Chandra come up with a sound that capitalizes on the richness of their vocal harmonies.
  6. Sadly, the songs here are slight and flimsy. Most of them sound like blink-and-you’ll-miss-it backing tracks for under-performing American drama series, pleasant and wholesome as a high-street sandwich, but instantly forgettable.
  7. Their spectacularly boring new album has so little dynamic variance that it literally pains the ear.

See all 16 Critic Reviews