Tamer Animals

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    90
    It's the most uniquely sublime, meticulous and heroic 40 minutes of 2011.
  2. Those who enjoy seeking out the layers of composition and the finest of details will no doubt appreciate and gravitate towards a record as expertly crafted as this.
  3. Feb 1, 2012
    88
    A study in subtly, Tamer Animals proves that more of less isn't just memorable--it's damn near magical.
  4. Q Magazine
    Feb 15, 2012
    80
    It's transporting enough to leave haunting echoes all its own. [Sep 2011, p.114]
  5. Mojo
    Feb 10, 2012
    80
    The next must-have pastoral American sensation, from Oklahoma.[Sep 2011, p.97]
  6. Uncut
    Feb 2, 2012
    80
    Other Lives are clearly kindred spirits of The National, but there's not a single clunky or derivative note here. [Sep 2011, p.93]
  7. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    This is sublime, transportive music to spend hours with.
  8. Feb 1, 2012
    74
    Even if the emotional intent often feels recycled from other records, Tamer Animals is a record that takes you places.
  9. Bar a few tracks that outstay their welcome, there is a lot to love about this album.
  10. 70
    Simply feel inspired, because you can't help but be taken on a journey upon listening.
  11. Feb 1, 2012
    70
    Layers of strings and piano (the droney "Old Statues") or ghostly backing voices (the haunting "As I Lay My Head Down") are usually enough to keep Tamer Animals from feeling too domesticated.
  12. Feb 1, 2012
    70
    The result is an album that manages to sound both elegant and organic, like classical music made by people living off the land.
  13. Feb 1, 2012
    50
    It's not that there is anything abrasive or unpleasant or wrong with these songs, it's just that they all feel cut from the same pattern.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    I decided to give this album a listen, simply because I knew the band had toured with Radiohead. I really liked the album initially, but as II decided to give this album a listen, simply because I knew the band had toured with Radiohead. I really liked the album initially, but as I listened again and again I began to lose myself in the ethereal soundscapes that Other Lives have created on this album. It is a simultaneously joyful and somber listening experience, and I love every minute of it. Comes highly recommended to those who like Radiohead, Grizzly Bear, or Fleet Foxes. It is a multi-layered, subtly hypnotizing masterpiece. Full Review »