Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    Apr 12, 2011
    60
    Despite the epic pretensions of the 16-miniute finale, "Tao Of The Dead Part Two,", sadly, this sort of tribute to rock's historical hinterlands yields fewer surprises each time. [May 2011, p.77]
  2. Mojo
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    Album seven hits a sweet spot between prog and power-chords. [March 2011, p. 108]
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    Tao of the Dead makes me, by turns, want to improve my attention span and want to listen to something else.
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    60
    Their decision to fuse the songs with a series of spaced-out instrumental passages is indulgent, to be sure, but the album's breathless, genre-spanning ambition makes it easy to forgive.
  5. Feb 14, 2011
    60
    Mixed so its songs blend together, Tao is such a cohesive record that when the second track, Pure Radio Cosplay, is reprised midway through, it seems like the end of an intense musical detour rather than a simple replaying of the song.
  6. It sounds reaching, like the band is lost and looking desperately for an audience and a voice. I hope they start looking somewhere else.
  7. Mar 14, 2011
    50
    While bombastic and ambitious as ever, Tao suggests that Trail of Dead have once again lost the taste for subtlety and texture that's past served to elevate their sound from the prog pack.
  8. Feb 3, 2011
    40
    I can't imagine why anyone would want to hear another half-hour of this crap, but if you've got brain cells to spare after Tao of the Dead's wonky, caterwauling sendoff, then by all means, put on your +2 Boots of Moshing and get to it!
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Killer album. (No pun intended). This crunchy, chaotic, powerful, poetic music will remind you to live while you're alive. Whether you wantKiller album. (No pun intended). This crunchy, chaotic, powerful, poetic music will remind you to live while you're alive. Whether you want to hear a great song or two or take a ride on this wave of rock. Here's your ticket. This will be the record to beat in 2011. Good luck with that... Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Just an amazing effort by Trail of the Dead. I can't get enough of this album. This is what real music is all about. If your a fan of goodJust an amazing effort by Trail of the Dead. I can't get enough of this album. This is what real music is all about. If your a fan of good music this is a MUST. Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    I was expecting to be disappointed but this is actually quite brilliant. The entire album is whirlwind. I'm still undecided about the 16I was expecting to be disappointed but this is actually quite brilliant. The entire album is whirlwind. I'm still undecided about the 16 minute closer though. Highly recommend it. Full Review »