Tears Of The Valedictorian

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddW
    May 3, 2007
    6
    Every time I hear of yet another offering involving Spencer Krug I think of the actress Sally Field and her Oscar acceptance speech when she gushed, "You like me; you really like me!" I mean, how many bands is this guy involved with? Let's see, there's Frog Eyes, Sunset Rubdown, and Wolf Parade, to say nothing of side projects in which he guests. ENOUGH! Spence, concentrate on Every time I hear of yet another offering involving Spencer Krug I think of the actress Sally Field and her Oscar acceptance speech when she gushed, "You like me; you really like me!" I mean, how many bands is this guy involved with? Let's see, there's Frog Eyes, Sunset Rubdown, and Wolf Parade, to say nothing of side projects in which he guests. ENOUGH! Spence, concentrate on making one master work every year or so, which I know you can do based on your recent output, instead of two or three basically O.K. albums. Trust me, the mammon will continue to flow. Yes, we like you. But moderation is the key to our happiness. Would that it was a key to yours, instead of pummeling us with your metronomic offerings. Expand
  2. danj
    May 2, 2007
    10
    album of the year? this record is flawless.
  3. MattK
    May 30, 2007
    1
    This album, although unique, sounds like garbage - too many noises all at once. I just listened to it and I never want to listen to it again, hence the rating of 1. I gave it a point for being unique, but other than that it has nothing going for it.
  4. TurkT
    May 4, 2007
    10
    From start to finish,this is an awesome recording.
  5. LoganF
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Simply amazing. I want to give it a 10, but I'll have to wait a year or so and see where it stands then. For now, It's my favorite album of the year, just slightly above Person Pitch (and just a few weeks ago I didn't think anything could top that). Even though I'm a long time fan, Tears was a bit of a challenge, and I needed a number of listens before it fully Simply amazing. I want to give it a 10, but I'll have to wait a year or so and see where it stands then. For now, It's my favorite album of the year, just slightly above Person Pitch (and just a few weeks ago I didn't think anything could top that). Even though I'm a long time fan, Tears was a bit of a challenge, and I needed a number of listens before it fully revealed itself. It's going to warrant a number more to revel in it, and I don't think this album can be exhausted. Expand
  6. RobertD
    May 10, 2007
    10
    ive only listened to a couple songs on here and ill tell you this much. i cant get them out of my head at all. wolf parade is my favorite band... and i finally decided to venture forth and give frog eyes a shot. i cant even tell you why i love this stuff.. i think its just sheer whackiness and the sounds that mercer creates much like krug. i wasnt a true fan of swan lake.. but i think i ive only listened to a couple songs on here and ill tell you this much. i cant get them out of my head at all. wolf parade is my favorite band... and i finally decided to venture forth and give frog eyes a shot. i cant even tell you why i love this stuff.. i think its just sheer whackiness and the sounds that mercer creates much like krug. i wasnt a true fan of swan lake.. but i think i may have to give it another try knowing full well how talented these canadians are... and lemme tell you.. canadians own rock... the US here doesnt come close. Expand
  7. ByronW
    May 18, 2007
    8
    To Todd W...Not Spencer Krug. Look closer. Long rant for nothing.
  8. RichieK
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Yes!
  9. JesusH
    May 3, 2007
    9
    Frog Eyes is the coolest band in the universe. Frog Eyes!!!
  10. JohnnyD
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This album is wonderful. I'd say as of right now it's the best of 2007 next to Panda Bear's Person Pitch. It captures just the right emotions from start to finish and is their most consistent record yet. You have to hear it to believe it. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED.
  11. Amortortak
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    The Krug/Bejar/Mercer triumvirate is the best thing going in indie rock these days. Sure this record can sound like a pointless squall of noise before you've figured it out, but that's kinda why it's so great...the rewards to figuring it out are considerable. I can't think of a better song than "Bushels".
  12. j-ol
    May 1, 2007
    10
    while many bands decline after issuing their defining albums, frog eyes have improved upon the golden river and the folded palm. this is a masterful album, and should be listened to 4-5 times before judgment is passed. the songwriting is terse and the album passes quickly, despite the sprawling and kaleidoscopic sonics. essential canadian indie music.
  13. GioS
    May 14, 2007
    10
    It took a few listens through to really appreciate the subtle nuances of this album, but in the end it was more than worth it. I wish Canada's artistic credibility would get more credit, there is a lot of phenomenal work coming out of the great white north heh.
  14. JoelS
    May 19, 2007
    10
    I'm entranced by this album. I can't get "Bushels" out of my head. An incredibly dense album that wraps you up until you've figured out what the hell is going on.
  15. Jeremy
    May 2, 2007
    2
    Load of shizzz. It's an annoying clump of noise. The only reason I gave it a two instead of a 0 is because I like the artistic vision they have. And the structure is okay. They just have such an immense load of work to do. There's too much going on, basically.
  16. ErikH
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    To Byron W: Spencer Krug is also in Frog Eyes, he just isn't the lead singer. Do your research. Short insult for nothing.
  17. seand
    Jul 29, 2007
    8
    not as great as either the folded palm or the golden river but a very awesome record and they have an awesome consistant sound which i usually hate in bands but i love in this band
  18. ShaneequaJ
    May 25, 2007
    10
    It sounds messy at first, but after a few listens, Tears of the Valedictorian grows on you and becomes an amazing experience.
  19. PaulC
    Jul 11, 2007
    2
    This album sounds like what would happen if you played three Bowie albums at once. I can't take much of it without wanting to make ch-ch-ch-changes to an album that is actually good.
  20. DavidV
    Jul 21, 2007
    9
    My favorite this year. I am not giving it ten stars because there is a song that, if ommitted, would have made the album a lot better. Favorites: Bushels, "Stockades," Reform Your Countryside

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Under The Radar
    80
    This album sees Frog Eyes as a band fully realized. [#17, p.85]
  2. Tears of the Valedictorian is an incredibly dense record and may take several passes before you can even begin to peel away its layers. That sense of rigor, though, is what makes it so arresting.
  3. Before, the most crazed cacophony could impossibly capitulate into swooning grandeur, but now that disparity just isn’t so striking. The dynamic is still in play, but with the edges rounded off, any tension is diminished.