Tears on Tape

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 25, 2013
    80
    A glorious return to form for one of the world's most peculiarly successful bands. [Jun 2013, p.92]
  2. Alternative Press
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Tears On Tape doesn't reinvent the wheel, but within HIM's impressive canon, it's among their best. [May 2013, p.90]
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Its insidious charms may well draw in a larger mainstream audience.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    Suffice it to say, Tears on Tape is a sentimentally sweet, sonically stunning, and beautifully packaged album.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    As a big HIM fan for ~8 years now I was really anticipating this new album. It took a few listens for it to grow on me, but once it did I fellAs a big HIM fan for ~8 years now I was really anticipating this new album. It took a few listens for it to grow on me, but once it did I fell in love with Tears On Tape.
    Not my absolute all-time favourite of theirs, Razorblade Romance refuses to lessen its grasp, but certainly a high ranking record. HIM fans will love it, and for any of those who are new to the band, you should definitely give it a go. Combining a large doomy Black Sabbath influence, really catchy melodies and that classic HIM sound, it shows that HIM are one of those rare bands who are incapable of putting out a bad album.
    Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2013
    8
    With it's huge walls of guitars and sentimentality, Tears On Tape doesn't redefine HIM, but shows that Finland's most successful band is stillWith it's huge walls of guitars and sentimentality, Tears On Tape doesn't redefine HIM, but shows that Finland's most successful band is still rockin'. Full Review »