Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Tears on Tape proves that H.I.M. moves forward and back but remains mostly in one place.
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Tears On Tape doesn't reinvent the wheel, but within HIM's impressive canon, it's among their best. [May 2013, p.90]
  3. 80
    A glorious return to form for one of the world's most peculiarly successful bands. [Jun 2013, p.92]
  4. Jun 12, 2013
    60
    Tears On Tape isn't bad, then--it's just not as seductive as HIM can be. [25 May 2013, p.53]
  5. May 10, 2013
    60
    While they have the gift for a great chorus that’ll stay in your head even after a single listen, their verses continue have a disappointing tendency to act as indistinct filler between the peak moments, steadily pacing along with their chugga-chugga riffs until the song sees fit to lift itself up for the refrain.
  6. May 13, 2013
    60
    Soppiness has become overbearing on recent records, This eighth LP, though, rediscovers their heaviness. [Jun 2013, p.99]
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    Suffice it to say, Tears on Tape is a sentimentally sweet, sonically stunning, and beautifully packaged album.
  8. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Its insidious charms may well draw in a larger mainstream audience.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    As a big HIM fan for ~8 years now I was really anticipating this new album. It took a few listens for it to grow on me, but once it did I fellAs a big HIM fan for ~8 years now I was really anticipating this new album. It took a few listens for it to grow on me, but once it did I fell in love with Tears On Tape.
    Not my absolute all-time favourite of theirs, Razorblade Romance refuses to lessen its grasp, but certainly a high ranking record. HIM fans will love it, and for any of those who are new to the band, you should definitely give it a go. Combining a large doomy Black Sabbath influence, really catchy melodies and that classic HIM sound, it shows that HIM are one of those rare bands who are incapable of putting out a bad album.
    Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2013
    8
    With it's huge walls of guitars and sentimentality, Tears On Tape doesn't redefine HIM, but shows that Finland's most successful band is stillWith it's huge walls of guitars and sentimentality, Tears On Tape doesn't redefine HIM, but shows that Finland's most successful band is still rockin'. Full Review »