• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Teen Dream Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The CD/DVD set features the first album on Sub Pop for the dream pop duo from Baltimore.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Teen Dream sheds the uncertainties evident in past Beach House albums--each melodic turn (and there are many) balances the force of confidence with the momentum of curiosity.
  2. This is both the most diverse and most listenable of their three full-lengths, and yet it never seems like a compromise. It feels like the product of careful, thoughtful growth, bringing in new influences--bits of mid-1970s Fleetwood Mac, sparkling indie pop, even a few soul and gospel touches--while maintaining the group's core sound.
  3. They’ve made an absolutely magical record--the jagged edges of their past have been smoothed by the sea, making Teen Dream a soft shore gem in the crown of the great chronicles of youth.
  4. Leaps and bounds over the act's earlier material, "Teen Dream" allows Legrand and Scally to truly come into their own while leaving the listener aching for more.
  5. Overall, Teen Dream lives up to its promise of youthful fantasy. [Holiday 2009, p.76]
  6. Beach House have reached the point in their career where achieving grand melodic climaxes seems to come to them effortlessly, and on Teen Dream the climaxes are as thrilling as ever before.
  7. Underwhelming Third outing for nu-gaze duo.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. MarkO.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Why do the hot press and the guardian's scores even count? not to sound too pretentious, but if you're giving this album a 40/100 Why do the hot press and the guardian's scores even count? not to sound too pretentious, but if you're giving this album a 40/100 then maybe listening to music isn't for you. Expand
  2. JohnW
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, dreamy, best album from Beach House yet.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    It's easy to take a quick listen and respond with the basics: yeah it's slow, syrupy and melancholic. Did you forget who you were listeningIt's easy to take a quick listen and respond with the basics: yeah it's slow, syrupy and melancholic. Did you forget who you were listening to? Beach House has crafted their most emotional direct, lyrically challenging and honest record to date. It's strummy, honey like music with the force to break down walls. Genius stuff. Expand
  4. NicolasB.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    I didn't much care for their first album and their second garnered a few listens from me, but this album has completely enamored me. I didn't much care for their first album and their second garnered a few listens from me, but this album has completely enamored me. Legrand's wail is captivating with the sense of a mournful optimism in many of these songs. Trust me, even songs at first you don't care for become sustained in your head. This band has a great reverb heavy, pop sound that can surprisingly stick with you despite all the haze surrounding each song. Favorites are Walk In The Park, Zebra, Better Times & Take Care. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    A truly wonderful album. Their best work to date and, if it weren't for a certain Arcade Fire release, would undoubtedly be the best of 2010.A truly wonderful album. Their best work to date and, if it weren't for a certain Arcade Fire release, would undoubtedly be the best of 2010. 10 Mile Stereo is the highlight of the album and typifies the fine balance between ethereal and subtle struck throughout the album. Expand
  6. VT
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    Not perfect but mind-blowing.
  7. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    Beach House still aren't mainstream-suitable but they partly improved what bugged me in their previous records. One being the tedious and inBeach House still aren't mainstream-suitable but they partly improved what bugged me in their previous records. One being the tedious and in parts boring tone of their music and the other being unrecognisable hooks. Teen Dream is better in that, but is still a very strange release that doesn't fit my type of music. Nevertheless, I honour their talent in composing the lyrics. Collapse

See all 49 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.