• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 24, 2010
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 957 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2010
    1
    Apparently on a mission to exemplify how deep the inanity pool goes, Katy Perry provides us with a collection of dumb that can't even be saved by calling it comedy. Reaching out to the "OMG-she-made-a-penis-reference" preteen crowd, Katy wants to see your "Peacock-cock-cock-cock" ... which is about all you need to know about this album. If you're into boorish puerility on steroids, goApparently on a mission to exemplify how deep the inanity pool goes, Katy Perry provides us with a collection of dumb that can't even be saved by calling it comedy. Reaching out to the "OMG-she-made-a-penis-reference" preteen crowd, Katy wants to see your "Peacock-cock-cock-cock" ... which is about all you need to know about this album. If you're into boorish puerility on steroids, go buy "Teenage Dream" and enjoy the tingling sensation of your IQ plummeting. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2015
    3
    Ok, I find most of the songs catchy I won't deny, but this album just feels so overdone, everything about it is so "plastic" and doesn't really show any true feeling, typical commercial piece.
  3. Dec 19, 2016
    0
    By far, this is the best pop album ever! I mean how can it not be, it has five number ones! Who cares about art, just make the subject matter about sex, fart jokes, and such nonsense. Forget about progressive music structures, just make the most generic melodies ever. And if all else fails...just bribe major radio station companies to play your stupid songs! I recommend having loads ofBy far, this is the best pop album ever! I mean how can it not be, it has five number ones! Who cares about art, just make the subject matter about sex, fart jokes, and such nonsense. Forget about progressive music structures, just make the most generic melodies ever. And if all else fails...just bribe major radio station companies to play your stupid songs! I recommend having loads of money for that to happen, though, because it will lead you to have several number ones on Billboard. Corporate is cool.

    Why be able to sing, when you can just fill your stage with candy? Why write about homelessness, AIDS, stress, or the aftermath of war when you can write about peacocks and fireworks? Why have Tom Hanks or even Charlie Sheen when you can have Rebecca Black? Why not obtain breast implants if that's how people will be attracted to your music? Why not be as stupid and anti-intellectual as possible?

    Okay, but take note that Katy Perry hasn't broken any chart records in UK, Germany, France, Switzerland, etc. Other countries do not allow payola/radio airplay to be taken account in their charts.
    Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2015
    2
    When will people understand that creating hits does not necessarily mean that the songs are good? I think Katy Perry is the perfect example for this statement. On this album, she creates 5 #1 hits on the Hot 100, drawing people to disrespectfully compare it to Bad by Michael Jackson. This is grown woman who is making music and has the lyric talent of a cliche little kid. If she wants toWhen will people understand that creating hits does not necessarily mean that the songs are good? I think Katy Perry is the perfect example for this statement. On this album, she creates 5 #1 hits on the Hot 100, drawing people to disrespectfully compare it to Bad by Michael Jackson. This is grown woman who is making music and has the lyric talent of a cliche little kid. If she wants to anything like Joni Mitchell, in terms of songwriting (which she has stated is her career goal), then she needs to stop singing about childish subjects and write something genuine. Switch it up boo.
    Best Songs:Circle the Drain, Teenage Dream & The One That Got Away
    2,8/10
    Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2016
    3
    3/10 - "With music as rigidly formulaic as this, no wonder the teens in her songs want to party until they blank out" - Chicago Tribune.

    I like hearing Katy's singles on the radio when I'm in the car but I really don't think I could ever listen to this album from start to finish again.
  6. Nov 27, 2011
    2
    Most of the songs in this album are overrated/overhyped and full of AutoTune. Despite that, I like one song from this album, which is California Gurls. On the other hand, I used to love this album last year and even rated this as 10/10 until I was aware of singers using AutoTune to disguise their poor talent and that singers nowadays are untalented and overrated as in too popularMost of the songs in this album are overrated/overhyped and full of AutoTune. Despite that, I like one song from this album, which is California Gurls. On the other hand, I used to love this album last year and even rated this as 10/10 until I was aware of singers using AutoTune to disguise their poor talent and that singers nowadays are untalented and overrated as in too popular especially among the teenage demographic. Therefore, I renounced my love of Katy Perry and I now rate this album a LOW score. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    1
    absolutely terrible i can't even listen to this horrible crap, katy go away we don't need you in the music world!!!! your music makes no sense. You are so overrated just go away.
  8. Jun 9, 2017
    0
    This is actually a garbage, Katy always gave us the same plastic pop, she should to took over her musician career. Just The one the Got Away is the most passed out from them
  9. Aug 25, 2015
    1
    This album is nothing but a big stinking pile of rubbish. I only gave it a 1 because Firework is an alright song, but my ears would bleed from the rest of the album's songs. This needs to stop.
  10. Sep 23, 2011
    1
    Further proof that a mediocre voice, throw-away beats and infantile lyrics all take a back seat to a pretty face. This one's the poster child for corporate Pop.
  11. Feb 11, 2012
    3
    Extremely generic. Catchy beats, unoriginal lyrics with some sex references and, summarizing, it's not innovative at all. Just a bunch of radio-friendly songs directed to a teen public with the objective of making profit.
  12. Jan 16, 2013
    1
    typical pop artist who just wants to get money with no repetitive sounds new & mediocre. Katy Perry as the musical field is mediocre, do not know how has succeeded so if you want to enter the top 50, you better be devoted to something else, because a woman as old as she may not be singing music for girls 10 and 11 years.
  13. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  14. Aug 28, 2015
    3
    If you want to write ballads its OK, but if you're going to do this, then just return to party songs. It seems that she sings the first thing that comes from her mind and it's annoying that she just make songs to be on the top of charts and her fans think that this album is the best thing ever. One Of The Boys and PRISM are MUCH better.
  15. Dec 4, 2011
    1
    Awful and annoying. Most songs are catchy, but they irritate me after 2 seconds. She has the most annoying voice I've ever heard...not mentioning her live singing -.-
  16. May 7, 2011
    0
    Terrible, absolutely awful. I find Katy Perry VERY overrated, but then again all crappy pop singers are. I find this worse than Justin Bieber and THAT is saying something.
  17. Nov 21, 2012
    2
    This is just a damn mess. Getting through this album is like running a 5k that you don't care about running fast in but some jerk is screaming in your face telling you to speed up.
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    So, Katy Perry is still triyng to pass herself as a teenange pop singer. But she is not, not anymore. This album is so forgettable than her first one. Silly lyrics, too-much-screamy voice, and bad songs, this might be the worst album of this 2011. Nothing to recommend.
  19. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    omg what the he... is this mess? Is this generic music real music ? She should hire new personnal and try to be a real artist if she wanna ... She does payola for every single and thats so bad... so sad about the plastic perry girl....
  20. Aug 26, 2010
    1
    I sincerely believe that this album is worst than One Of The Boys, and no surprise me, an album full of simple melodies, a basic teen pop, not found in the album originality, creativity and if Katy had something different to the current pop singers on this album is proven to be a more... Teenage Dream is the perfect album for "teens" not for everyone ...i'm really expecting more ofI sincerely believe that this album is worst than One Of The Boys, and no surprise me, an album full of simple melodies, a basic teen pop, not found in the album originality, creativity and if Katy had something different to the current pop singers on this album is proven to be a more... Teenage Dream is the perfect album for "teens" not for everyone ...i'm really expecting more of her...this is pure garbage Expand
  21. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got her noticed in the first place. Tracks like California Gurls and Last Friday Night are bouncy pop ballads that are just all about fun whilst also capturing Katy's personality as a bubbly California beauty. Firework is the megahit, with her vocals poweringKaty Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got her noticed in the first place. Tracks like California Gurls and Last Friday Night are bouncy pop ballads that are just all about fun whilst also capturing Katy's personality as a bubbly California beauty. Firework is the megahit, with her vocals powering through the song. Teenage Dream as Hummingbird Heartbeat are both adorable love songs with catchy beats - the cheeky aspect is still there as Hummingbird Heartbeat boasts about how fantastic sex is with her former husband Russell Brand. The One That Got Away is a beautifully sung break-up song that shows another side to Katy and takes the bubblegum candy canes away so she can show off her vocal talent. One of the best pop albums of the past few years and I'm sure Katy will make the next album even better. Expand
  22. Apr 26, 2012
    3
    Getting sick of hearing her on the radio all time. Although her songs here are probably better. I just don'tt know. It is all generic pop music that has been done a million times before. Katy Perry on a cloud too for the album cover. Sleaze.
  23. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    A little less rock, a little less good lyrics but much more sex! That was probably the motto for Perry's sophomore release. 'California Gurls' 'Teenage Dream' or 'Circle The Drain' are one of the better songs on the CD, however, the album is a pretty mess. But I'm giving a plus point for her voice.
  24. Oct 13, 2013
    2
    Pesimo disco, le doy un punto por que No Like The Movies es la unica cancion buena, y Firework se salva, pero lo demas cambio mucho su estilo comprarandolo con su anterior album, sus letras llegan a ser un poco vulgares y huecas. se hubiera quedado mejor en la era One Of The Boys
  25. Jun 16, 2017
    0
    terrible. terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.terrible.
  26. Jan 26, 2018
    3
    3 pq ET é tão maravilhosa que merece, o resto é só horrível mesmo......

    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .

    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .

    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
  27. May 18, 2017
    1
    Semejante cagada podría hacer Katy Mierdy, asco total, me vomité y se me salió la diarrea de tanta cerilla que me causó escuchar esta porquería sidosa, intento suicidarme cada vez que veo su portada cagona, mierdísima sidaty, que asco quien compre y escuche esta cagada, realmente no tienen oídos
  28. Jun 16, 2017
    0
    Aun no entiendo como sus fans retrasados llaman a esto "biblia del pop" cuando no tuvo nada innovador. Es el típico pop cliché, ritmos genéricos y letras simples y sin sentidos.
  29. Nov 10, 2017
    0
    What an immature album oh my god people actually like this hahahaha. Saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. After some severe front-loading, the album is filled out by songs that are too dark or lifeless to work alongside the Candyland motif of the cover and sunbeamy splash of California Gurls.
  2. Teenage Dream is the kind of pool-party-pop gem that Gwen Stefani used to crank out on the regular, full of SoCal ambience and disco beats.
  3. There's none of the ABBA or Cardigans influence she claimed, nor any of the fun she seems to have in real life. For now she just sounds like another of pop's Stepford Wives.