Teflon Don

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jul 20, 2010
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 4, 2015
    8
    Teflon Don is, in my opinion, Rick Ross' best album. The best feature of Teflon Don is the production that is provided by J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, The Inkredibles, No I.D., Clark Kent, Danja (although I did not like his beat), Lex Luger, the Olympicks and the fantastic Kanye West. Although it did come off as unimpressive on a few songs, and the second half being a noticeable step down fromTeflon Don is, in my opinion, Rick Ross' best album. The best feature of Teflon Don is the production that is provided by J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, The Inkredibles, No I.D., Clark Kent, Danja (although I did not like his beat), Lex Luger, the Olympicks and the fantastic Kanye West. Although it did come off as unimpressive on a few songs, and the second half being a noticeable step down from the first half, I did love the luxurious and soulful vibe that was brought by these producers for the most part. I especially like Lex Luger's trap beats (even though I think that "MC Hammer" could have been removed because it so blatantly obviously resembles "B.M.F.", the superior track). Ross also compliments the beats very well, with his great flow and loud but interesting delivery, with an impressive lyrical performance to back it up for the most part (though nothing exceptional), especially on "Free Mason". He even gets introspective on "All the Money in the World". However, despite that this is Rick Ross' best album being said, that really isn't saying much because this album does have its noticeable faults. Teflon Don doesn't really offer any super original ideas, even though he does have his unique style of braggadocio rap over luxurious beats. Sometimes his lyrics hint toward the generic, and the second half is considerably weaker than the first half. Though I did enjoy "Aston Martin Music" and "All the Money in the World" neither of them were as good as "Free Mason" or "Super High". "MC Hammer", though enjoyable, sounded exactly like "B.M.F.". "No. 1" was not good at all. It isn't necessarily a BAD song, it just prevents Teflon Don from being cohesive with its unimpressive Diddy verse and Trey Songz feature and an average pop beat from Danja as opposed to the soulful production and great guest performances of the rest of the album. Overall, despite the faults with the second half of the album, it is a great listening experience overall and should mostly challenge all stereotypes of Ross being a former corrections officer. Grade: B+. Highlights: "Free Mason", "Live Fast, Die Young", "Super High", "B.M.F. (Blowin' Money Fast)". Worst song: "No. 1" Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    1
    Metacritic must be trolling. Apparently Rick Ross, who's entire personality is fabricated and stolen from Crack dealer "Freeway Ricky Ross" (rick ross was a mall cop), is a better rapper than Eminem. Lyrics are lying trash. Subject matter is repetitive garbage (as usual). Anybody who likes this album for anything past it's production, shouldn't be allowed to review music.
  3. Duu
    Oct 11, 2013
    9
    This is a classic rap album, period. Here Rick Ross has an album that paints an overall picture of a guy who sees the street life as almost a political rebellion against an oppressive and the answer is capitalism. He paint himself as the Don and succeeds at it: his lyrics get deep at various points; features a lot of talented artists and he sounds great on almost every song. Despite RickThis is a classic rap album, period. Here Rick Ross has an album that paints an overall picture of a guy who sees the street life as almost a political rebellion against an oppressive and the answer is capitalism. He paint himself as the Don and succeeds at it: his lyrics get deep at various points; features a lot of talented artists and he sounds great on almost every song. Despite Rick Ross being very corpulent, this rap album has no fat at all. Absent are the unnecessary skits and interludes and filler songs. This is one of the best edited, leanest albums I've ever heard; it proves that Ross understands that greatness is not only having something to say, but knowing when you've said enough. There are no less than 3 classics on this album and no less than 8 (out of 11 total) really good songs. There are no bad songs on this albums and the texture of the sounds are consistent. After 2 years I can still listen to this album without skipping songs and with the same enjoyment that I got initially. This is Rick Ross's best album. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    the first half of the album is great, while the other half is not quite. the beats on the first half are not like mainstream rap and feature people like kanye west ceelo green, t.i., jadakiss, and jay-z. while the last half contains diddy, drake, gucci mane, and other mainstream artists, just listen to the first 6 songs
  5. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Best album of 2010, tremendous work. BMF was a classic, so was MC Hammer. Free Mason was tremendous, Im Not A Star was even better. Ross cemented his status as the best in the biz with this one
  6. NJR
    Nov 5, 2010
    8
    Ricky without doubt wins 2010's "Most Improved" award! His albums have been getting progressively better, I really wasn't a fan of the first three LP's but this CD is up there with the best this year, I could name less than 5 Hip Hop albums better than Teflon Don so far. The best feature of the album is definitely the production and the Collaboration with Cee-Lo is brilliant. The onlyRicky without doubt wins 2010's "Most Improved" award! His albums have been getting progressively better, I really wasn't a fan of the first three LP's but this CD is up there with the best this year, I could name less than 5 Hip Hop albums better than Teflon Don so far. The best feature of the album is definitely the production and the Collaboration with Cee-Lo is brilliant. The only reason that the album doesn't deserve to be more than an 8/10 is Rick's lyrics, not awful but they could use a bit of work, this album has (Shockingly) made me excited for his next attempt. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    A surprisingly well done fourth album.

    I never thought much of Rick Ross. Port of Miami was average and Trilla was horrible. Deeper Than Rap was ferocious but still lacking. Teflon Don though represents his peak. It feels lavish, luxurious, and soulful. The production is carefully mixed and crafted to perfection in a very alluring manner. It feels like a billionaire's club. The leisure,
    A surprisingly well done fourth album.

    I never thought much of Rick Ross. Port of Miami was average and Trilla was horrible. Deeper Than Rap was ferocious but still lacking. Teflon Don though represents his peak. It feels lavish, luxurious, and soulful. The production is carefully mixed and crafted to perfection in a very alluring manner. It feels like a billionaire's club. The leisure, the success, the danger.

    Take for example, Maybach Music 3, a orchestral masterpiece that enchants as well as warns. And Super High feels like a jazzy rich guy song that feels supreme with the Ne-Yo's flavor of contemporary R&B in the chorus. Blowin Money Fast is a pounding beat that resonates not as a part track but as a siren that even rich dudes know how to play bad.

    Rick Ross himself is a reason for the album's high rating. Lyrically, he gives more punchlines and has become funnier adding to the album's level of interest. He has become more focused and more diverse in his themes. One of the best lines is "My top back like JFK/They wanna push my top back like JFK!". It's funny at the same time serious.

    However the album still has weaknesses. The guest spots once again outshine the main star. Kanye West comes in on Live Fast Die Young and rips it to millions of pieces before Rick Ross can come back with a good chunk. Another problem is the repetitiveness of the album. MC Hammer and BMF are basically the same beat (Ross should have combined them both as one track). And the rich thug raps get too weary. After all, we are way past the age of gangsta rap (no offense to Ice Cube) and the "I-used-to-sell-crack" rap. It seems like everyone has done it.

    But Teflon Don is still a good listen and it is proof that it stands against shots coming from Ross' detractors because it emphasizes on musical quality.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Rick Ross would like you to know he has sodomized women in Acapulco. Lord knows we all aspire to such Olympian heights, but in that admission lies the crux of the impotence of Rawse's extensive discography: this is all pretty unnecessary.
  2. Ross' ear for lush, expansive beats has become keener and his industry Rolodex deeper, 
allowing him to make every track but the intro feel like an epic, costarring major talents like Jay-Z, Kanye West, Erykah Badu, and Drake.
  3. One of the best summer blockbusters in recent memory, Teflon Don proves how thin the line is between a flight of fancy and something fantastic.