Tell Tale Signs: The Bootleg Series Vol. 8 Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest collection of unreleased and rare songs recorded between 1989 and 2006.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Excitingly, Tell Tale Signs jumps decades ahead to offer an alternate history of a less leaky period: the creative renaissance that started at the end of the 1980s and has been bearing fruit ever since.
  2. As Dylan's official bootlegs go, this is one of the series' best.
  3. Tell Tale Signs makes plain that Dylan knows the caprices of the world he lives in, now more than ever.
  4. Blender
    80
    The eighth volume of the erractic and fancinating Bootleg Series, exhumes his unreleased music. [Nov 2008, p.80]
  5. The result is a wealth of different musical imaginings, which provides a fascinating glimpse of his creative process on Tell Tale Signs.
  6. The eighth treasure trove in Dylan's Bootleg Series of unreleased material and alternate takes further illustrates that there is no such thing as a definitive recording of a Dylan song, just a snapshot of the great man's prevailing mood.
  7. Q Magazine
    40
    Nothing here is essential, but there will always be enough completeist to warrent airing of Dylan's old laundry. [Nov 2008, p.127]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. ThomasL.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Hard to believe this may overtake Burial here on the top 10 list. All I can say is, "Thank God!" The level of brilliance here and the other Hard to believe this may overtake Burial here on the top 10 list. All I can say is, "Thank God!" The level of brilliance here and the other seven "bootlegs" and the sheer volume of fine songs will take years to digest. Long after Burial is buried we will be listening to this great music. Expand
  2. JaredT.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Absolutely essential! Well worth it for just two cuts alone -- 'Series of Dreams', and the live version of 'Ring Them Absolutely essential! Well worth it for just two cuts alone -- 'Series of Dreams', and the live version of 'Ring Them Bells'. Countless other standout tracks. A couple questionable alternate takes, but one of the strongest albums in the bootleg series. My assessment is based on the 2-disc set though -- the 3-disc set is 1 extra disc for $120 more? Yah right. Expand
  3. MatthewB.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    My only quibble, and it's a small one, is that I'd rather have more studio boots (more Bromberg sessions, please!), and less of the My only quibble, and it's a small one, is that I'd rather have more studio boots (more Bromberg sessions, please!), and less of the live stuff. The Bootleg Series has worked terrific when the live stuff has been specific shows (Live '66) or compilations of specific tours (Rolling Thunder). Taken out of those contexts and thrown in haphazardly...they just seem jarring and unexpected. I felt this way about Biograph, too. Still...there's not a track on there that won't become immediately essential to those who care about Mr. Dylan's work. The genius glows like burning coal (to steal from...let's see...who was that...?). Expand
  4. BaldB.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    OMG, what an album. There is a musicality to these songs that were missing from his last few albums. This is hypnotic stuff and extremely OMG, what an album. There is a musicality to these songs that were missing from his last few albums. This is hypnotic stuff and extremely well recorded. Expand
  5. GeneD.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    One of the best of the "official" bootleg series so far.
  6. JohnH.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    A dark and gloriously complex take on modern times, this album will be playing in my house every day for a long time. Rich, thick, beautiful.
  7. DeanD.
    Oct 10, 2008
    9
    Dylan, weathered to perfection.

See all 9 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings