Temper Temper - Bullet For My Valentine
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    Though Bullet for My Valentine still have just enough post-hardcore and screamo in their sound to keep metal purists from coming completely around to their way of thinking, Temper Temper feels like a gateway album into thrash.
  2. 50
    Temper Temper probably sounds great played in an arena. But on the stereo, it just isn't enough. [Mar 2013, p.90]
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    40
    There is truly nothing edgy about this collection.
  4. 80
    There's a familiarity to much of the material which, while not quite formulaic, does sometimes hint at self-reference, brazenly so on Tears Don't Fall (Part 2). [Mar 2013, p.97]
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    60
    Ultimately it is telling that the best song present here is a re-imagining of a previous smash. But leveling criticisms of unoriginality or lack of innovation and evolution at bands like BMFV is almost redundant. They're judged on the size of their hooks and in that department Temper Temper largely delivers.
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    While it isn't Bullet's best album, it's certainly their most mature and interesting effort to date. [2 Feb 2013, p.52]
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    For all its flaws, it remains a tremendously fun record. But artistically speaking, it’s woefully weak.
  8. 60
    Clinical and precise rather than mind-blowing, Temper Temper will keep BFMV as a band with one foot in metal and the other in the mainstream, which is exactly where they want to be.
  9. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    Temper Temper, their fourth, adds an aggressive edge to their sound. [Apr 2013, p.96]
  10. Feb 8, 2013
    40
    Temper Temper is marred by cynicism and a lack of dirt under its nails.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    3
    Bad!! Temper Temper has got to be easily one of the worst albums I've heard in the last three years. There's quite a lot I could say but I'llBad!! Temper Temper has got to be easily one of the worst albums I've heard in the last three years. There's quite a lot I could say but I'll just sum it up as best as I can. The writing, the writing is horrid. Sounds like a angry thirteen year old who hates his parents because they wont give him the newest iPhone wrote it. Most of the songs are about being pissed off without much of any other variety. The music itself is bland and very boring, not bad just boring. There's nothing new or intuitive to make you want to listen. I ended up listening all the way through simply because I have enjoyed all three previous releases very much and wanted to give it a chance. To put it all simply, the album is way to predictable musically and lyrically. It's very boring and hard to recommend with much enthusiasm. Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    Yes, this is their worst album to date. But that doesn't mean its terrible. All the criticisms of it are fair, but they don't competley ruinYes, this is their worst album to date. But that doesn't mean its terrible. All the criticisms of it are fair, but they don't competley ruin the album. Yes, the lyrics sound like they were written by an angry thirteen year old. Yes, it sounds unpolished and uninspired. But tracks like Not Invincible and P.O.W. have some of that polish and grit the rest of the album lacks. Playing With Fire isn't half bad either. You just need to be able to look past all the problems and see the potential this album does actually have. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    Breaking Point: 7.5/10
    Truth Hurts: 8/10
    Temper Temper 5/10 P.O.W: 9.5/10 Dirty Little Secret 6.5/10 Leech 7/10 Dead To The World 7/10
    Breaking Point: 7.5/10
    Truth Hurts: 8/10
    Temper Temper 5/10
    P.O.W: 9.5/10
    Dirty Little Secret 6.5/10
    Leech 7/10
    Dead To The World 7/10
    Riot 6/10
    Saints n Sinners 9.5/10
    TDF part. 2: 8.5
    Livin Life: 9/10
    Not Invincible: 9/10
    Playing with Fire 8.5/10
    Full Review »