Temper Temper

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Temper Temper Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Don Gilmore returns to produce the fourth studio release from the Welsh metal band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    There's a familiarity to much of the material which, while not quite formulaic, does sometimes hint at self-reference, brazenly so on Tears Don't Fall (Part 2). [Mar 2013, p.97]
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    While it isn't Bullet's best album, it's certainly their most mature and interesting effort to date. [2 Feb 2013, p.52]
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    60
    Ultimately it is telling that the best song present here is a re-imagining of a previous smash. But leveling criticisms of unoriginality or lack of innovation and evolution at bands like BMFV is almost redundant. They're judged on the size of their hooks and in that department Temper Temper largely delivers.
  4. 60
    Clinical and precise rather than mind-blowing, Temper Temper will keep BFMV as a band with one foot in metal and the other in the mainstream, which is exactly where they want to be.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    Temper Temper, their fourth, adds an aggressive edge to their sound. [Apr 2013, p.96]
  6. 50
    Temper Temper probably sounds great played in an arena. But on the stereo, it just isn't enough. [Mar 2013, p.90]
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    40
    Temper Temper is marred by cynicism and a lack of dirt under its nails.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    It's not that this album is terrible, but the change of sound is drastic, and a lot of old fans won't enjoy.
    My own personal thoughts, are
    It's not that this album is terrible, but the change of sound is drastic, and a lot of old fans won't enjoy.
    My own personal thoughts, are the album is brought down by the change of guitar style. The screaming of course is good, and it's a little unfortunate that this album lacked it, but instrumentally is where it hit me the hardest.
    I loved Bullet for my Valentine for their very specific guitar style. But they left that behind completely. Specifically, the harmonized 3rds during every riff.
    Asides from that, it did manage to come with "Dead to the World", which is an amazing ballad, bringing back the same feeling of "Say Goodnight"'s release.
    All in all, I was a little disappointed, but still a fan regardless. Bands change, and they change as people. So it's nice to hear them take control of what they want to make for music.
    Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    Breaking Point: 7.5/10
    Truth Hurts: 8/10
    Temper Temper 5/10 P.O.W: 9.5/10 Dirty Little Secret 6.5/10 Leech 7/10 Dead To The World 7/10
    Breaking Point: 7.5/10
    Truth Hurts: 8/10
    Temper Temper 5/10
    P.O.W: 9.5/10
    Dirty Little Secret 6.5/10
    Leech 7/10
    Dead To The World 7/10
    Riot 6/10
    Saints n Sinners 9.5/10
    TDF part. 2: 8.5
    Livin Life: 9/10
    Not Invincible: 9/10
    Playing with Fire 8.5/10
    Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    Yes, this is their worst album to date. But that doesn't mean its terrible. All the criticisms of it are fair, but they don't competley ruinYes, this is their worst album to date. But that doesn't mean its terrible. All the criticisms of it are fair, but they don't competley ruin the album. Yes, the lyrics sound like they were written by an angry thirteen year old. Yes, it sounds unpolished and uninspired. But tracks like Not Invincible and P.O.W. have some of that polish and grit the rest of the album lacks. Playing With Fire isn't half bad either. You just need to be able to look past all the problems and see the potential this album does actually have. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2013
    6
    Bullet For My Valentine is finally back and not even great but still disappointed album of a year. The songs were just messed up. Riot still aBullet For My Valentine is finally back and not even great but still disappointed album of a year. The songs were just messed up. Riot still a great song, Tears Don't Fall 2 is a complete overrated song of this album. Temper Temper is a pretty mediocre album as I suggested it needs to make it better album. Unfortunately, Fever is an awesome album, Scream Aim Fire is God Like album and The Poison still rocks harder. BFMV's new album is just a flop and huge disappointment for a fans. Collapse
  5. Aug 17, 2015
    6
    Temper Temper falls a bit flat most of the time. "Riot", "Breaking Point", "Dead To The World", "Tears Don't Fall Pt. 2" and the bonus "NotTemper Temper falls a bit flat most of the time. "Riot", "Breaking Point", "Dead To The World", "Tears Don't Fall Pt. 2" and the bonus "Not Invincible" serve as the albums best cuts, with much of the rest coming off more as filler than thriller. The problems lie in production value (some of the meaty sound is missing from other albums) and the unusual need to have some clever intro to almost every song which, by the time you get to the first verse, might have you pressing the skip-track button before you ever get into the song. This might be Bullet's most lacking effort to-date, and alarms me after such amazing works from Scream Aim Fire and Fever. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    The fourth album by the Welsh metal quartet was born out of inter band troubles and alcohol and personal problems. It is a strange album withThe fourth album by the Welsh metal quartet was born out of inter band troubles and alcohol and personal problems. It is a strange album with both positive and negative points. Opener "Breaking Point" is classic BFMV with a catchy riff and aggressive lyrics. It is the title track where the album first falls down. A 3 minute song that sounds more nu-metal than BFMV and has a pretty dreary chorus. However "P.O.W" and "Dirty Little Secret" picks things up a bit only to fall down again on "Leech". Although said song has a catchy guitar riff, it has pretty juvenile lyrics (like many songs on the album). A contribuition from Fozzy singer Chris Jericho helps to improve things on "Dead To The World" but this is followed by possibly the worst song Bullet For My Valentine have ever recorded, "Riot". WIth cheesy lyrics, a dreary riff and an out- of-place guitar solo. This song is followed by the easily forgettable "Saints & Sinners" once again ruined by the poor lyrics. However, the album is finished by the solid (yet unnecessary) "Tears Don't Fall (Part 2)" and "Not Invincible" to conclude the mediocre record. It's not quite the return we had wanted but it makes for some interesting listening. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    3
    Bad!! Temper Temper has got to be easily one of the worst albums I've heard in the last three years. There's quite a lot I could say but I'llBad!! Temper Temper has got to be easily one of the worst albums I've heard in the last three years. There's quite a lot I could say but I'll just sum it up as best as I can. The writing, the writing is horrid. Sounds like a angry thirteen year old who hates his parents because they wont give him the newest iPhone wrote it. Most of the songs are about being pissed off without much of any other variety. The music itself is bland and very boring, not bad just boring. There's nothing new or intuitive to make you want to listen. I ended up listening all the way through simply because I have enjoyed all three previous releases very much and wanted to give it a chance. To put it all simply, the album is way to predictable musically and lyrically. It's very boring and hard to recommend with much enthusiasm. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews