Tempest - Bob Dylan
Tempest Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Jack Frost, the 35th studio album from the singer-songwriter was released in 2012, the 50th anniversary of his debut album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    100
    Tempest is Dylan's best musical album of this century, a vibrant maximising of strict rules and the savaged-leather state of that voice. [Oct 2012, p.84]
  2. 90
    Tempest is fantastic, but being impressed by Dylan is old hat. That he still finds ways to surprise us is an achievement beyond all comprehension.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    90
    Surprisingly, Dylan has never been more deliberate or so overtly savage. [No. 93, p.54]
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    80
    The music is the same stew of beautifully played blues, rockabilly, folk and country as every Dylan album for the last 12 years.
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    80
    It's his strongest album since Love and Theft in 2001, and still there's no pinning him down.
  6. 70
    Tempest is a relentless exploration of bleakness.
  7. Sep 7, 2012
    50
    Though all are blessed with a wry and dusty charm that's hard to dislike, too many are rolled out in a way that seems more to do with autopilot than passion. Narrow Way and Duquesne Whistle mighty be jaunty toe-tappers but they're also examples of the lightweight fluff that blows around the album.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Dylan has always been hit and miss even within his greatest albums. that may be changing. There are simply no misses in Tempest. It's theDylan has always been hit and miss even within his greatest albums. that may be changing. There are simply no misses in Tempest. It's the best Dylan we have seen in years and quite possible the best album of the year. Stunningly good songs with lyrics so achingly sorrowful that you cannot remain unmoved. Beautiful. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    So here we have it, what could possibly be Bob Dylan's final album. What can be said that hasn't already been said? This is his, in mySo here we have it, what could possibly be Bob Dylan's final album. What can be said that hasn't already been said? This is his, in my personal opinion, his finest album since 1997's Time Out Of Mind. What I may say is that the album does feel more than the sum of its parts. Not all songs are fantastic with the lowest points being Roll On John and Soon After Midnight. While these songs are forgettable, they are by no means bad in any way with Roll On John being a sweet tribute to his old musical colleague John Lennon. Meanwhile highlights include the freewheelin ' style of Duquesne Whistle, the hypnotic Tin Angel and the epic 14 minute and 45 verse long title track. The most interesting aspect of the album is, as always with Bob Dylan, the lyrics. The imagery on this album is among the most vivid of his 50 year career with Tempest (the song) giving such a full picture that it is comparable to watching a film. And in the end of this song, the only one who remains is the watchman, lonely and pondering over events passed. One can only imagine that this is a metaphor for Dylan who stands alone in American music giving us his unique take on the world and still as ever, deep in his thoughts. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    Spellbinding start to finish. Dylan's best in years. This release is meant to be heard at one sitting. Not a weak song on theSpellbinding start to finish. Dylan's best in years. This release is meant to be heard at one sitting. Not a weak song on the document----even if the title song may drag a bit. Outstanding production and sound. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    My opinion is that this is the best Bob Dylan album since Time Out of Mind and in some ways I like it even more than that. Grew on me ratherMy opinion is that this is the best Bob Dylan album since Time Out of Mind and in some ways I like it even more than that. Grew on me rather well with the first 7 or 8 listens. Lots of highlights. So many that the album itself is a magnificent highlight and it's the best thing I have heard so far this year, by far. I also think it's one of Dylan's strongest efforts ever that has paid off in big dividends. High praise for great work here. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    9
    His best since Love and Theft. Maybe not an all-time Dylan classic, but certainly a fantastic album and a best-of-the-year finalist. IHis best since Love and Theft. Maybe not an all-time Dylan classic, but certainly a fantastic album and a best-of-the-year finalist. I really didn't think he had another album this strong in him. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    Tempest won't convert anyone who hasn't enjoyed Love and Theft or Modern Times but it's Dylan's best album in years. Great songwriting, theTempest won't convert anyone who hasn't enjoyed Love and Theft or Modern Times but it's Dylan's best album in years. Great songwriting, the best band Dylan has had since The Band and, surprisingly given his past aversion to recording studios, Dylan's self-production is superb, crystal clear with his ravaged voice to the fore. Fantastic stuff. I suspect Nick Cave or Bonnie Prince Billy would've been happy to put their names to some some of these dark tales. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Much acclaimed by the critics and topping the charts all over the world, I was expecting a lot of Bob Dylan's latest work. 'Tempest' has onlyMuch acclaimed by the critics and topping the charts all over the world, I was expecting a lot of Bob Dylan's latest work. 'Tempest' has only got 10 songs, but lasts more than one hour as a whole. The thing he's doing here is versifying, actually. All of this 8 minute songs or so tell a long story, which is underlined with relaxing music. The problem is: the main riff stays the same in virtually all songs and that's bothersome. Musically it's relatively poor but the lyrics are pretty well, "Tin Angel" has the very best, I opine.
    All in all, 'Tempest' is average, additionally getting a minus point because of his voice, which got worse and worse over the years.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 28, 2012
    Listen to the best albums released over the past month, including new releases from Grizzly Bear, Bob Dylan, Amanda Palmer, and more.