Ten New Songs

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Oct 9, 2001
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Uncut
    100
    You have to adjust to its lack of ornamentation and let it settle, seep, uncurl like smoke or love. And there are songs here to equal his best. [Album Of The Month, Dec 2001, p.100]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    He's never sounded more sensuous. [12 Oct 2001, p.88]
  3. The first four tracks... [are] as powerful as any he's written.
  4. [Robinson's] kind of soft rock-- closer to "I Want to Know What Love Is" by Foreigner than I'm comfortable with-- probably isn't going to score many points with the indie crowd, but it's not going to throw off your concentration for very long.
  5. Ten New Songs manages to sustain loss's fragile beauty like never before and might just be the Cohen's most exquisite ode yet to the midnight hour.
  6. Blender
    80
    While Ten New Songs is not an attempt to break new ground, its sophistication and unassuming depth are almost worth the decade-long wait. [Oct/Nov 2001, p.103]
  7. Cohen's poetic vision remains the dominant element on this elegiac set.
  8. Mojo
    70
    His relentless intelligence is itself a consolation, bearing gifts of order and sly humour -- though not so many haunting tunes as on, say I'm Your Man. [Nov 2001, p.100]
  9. It's not inappropriate to think of Ten New Songs as an audio book of poetry with musical accompaniment.
  10. Beneath the plasticky politeness is the same old wry fatalism that the likes of Smog continue to strive for.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Dec 12, 2014
    3
    Cohen's songs are devoid of emotion, he sings like a robot with bronchitis. Every track follows a horribly simple cadence, and Cohen doesn'tCohen's songs are devoid of emotion, he sings like a robot with bronchitis. Every track follows a horribly simple cadence, and Cohen doesn't seem to know what he wants to write about. The instrumentals could've been made by some dude on GarageBand, and Cohen's backup singer outsings Cohen himself. If not for a handful of lyrical details, this album could be a complete failure. Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. "..we met when we were almost young/deep in the green lilac park..."

    I think about you every day. And I hope you are well. There's this version of "C'mon, Marianne" by Bill Callahan that just kills me. It makes me wonder what it would be like to be loved by you. But it's really a Leonard Cohen song. I have read so much about your condition. I'm a compulsive reader. Take care. Not in the cliched sense, but really, take care. If we ever see each other on the street, I hope you won't turn the other way.
    Full Review »
  3. PeterB
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    One exquisite poem/song, "Alexandra Leaving", makes this album a 10. The rest of the songs are very fine, but few songs of the last hundred One exquisite poem/song, "Alexandra Leaving", makes this album a 10. The rest of the songs are very fine, but few songs of the last hundred years are as fine as "Alexandra". Full Review »