Ten Thousand Fists

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 20, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 135

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PoldoG
    Oct 25, 2005
    5
    It's all about shouting and nothing else...
  2. PattiT.
    Jul 31, 2008
    6
    I really like the raw quality of Down With the Sickness. Believe and Ten Thousand Fists have a polished, preachy, glam quality that I'm sorry to say disappoints me. I really like the band. They are tight and talented. It just seems like after their first album they sold out to the corporate machine. Now they seem to play the same general song over and over. No more Dropping Plates. I really like the raw quality of Down With the Sickness. Believe and Ten Thousand Fists have a polished, preachy, glam quality that I'm sorry to say disappoints me. I really like the band. They are tight and talented. It just seems like after their first album they sold out to the corporate machine. Now they seem to play the same general song over and over. No more Dropping Plates. No more Stupify. Just glam-slick, Believe-style heavy metal with David's vocals glistening with slick sound effect. I guess some people might like that. I liked the raw better. Metallica always had the ability to keep the rawness. I guess their music evolved with them, and not every one of their songs is totally amazing. You could really tell that music was their living. I wish Disturbed had been able to keep the powerof their first album. I haven't heard their newest album, Indestructable. I will be looking forward to it, and hoping for the best! Expand
  3. ScottL
    Nov 22, 2005
    6
    Clearly the weakest album they've made to date. It's not terrible just disappointing.
  4. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    Stupid but cool. I liked a lot of the songs on here but it's not one of those albums you want to listen to over and over again as a whole. The Sickness was a lot better in my opinion, so if you want to hear the talent of Disturbed go listen to that. But honestly the metal genre has much better things to offer than this.
  5. Feb 27, 2015
    6
    I am a big fan of Disturbed. They are my second favorite band. That being said, not all of their songs are good. Not all of the songs on this album are good. But they at least have the rebellious spirit that I absolutely love in a metal song, or the inspiring battle music that I can't get enough of. However, some of their songs make the same mistakes that most pop songs make by justI am a big fan of Disturbed. They are my second favorite band. That being said, not all of their songs are good. Not all of the songs on this album are good. But they at least have the rebellious spirit that I absolutely love in a metal song, or the inspiring battle music that I can't get enough of. However, some of their songs make the same mistakes that most pop songs make by just repeating the same line over and over again. They sound great, their songs can be really inspiring, but they often sound like pop trying to be metal. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2017
    5
    it was okay........................................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Ten Thousand Fists does start to sound the same after a while. But those bloody zombies aren't going to stop pouring though the doorway, so it's a good thing it has at least 12 burly alt-metal rockers.
  2. The album isn't without its problems––come the halfway mark ("Sons of Plunder") vocalist David Draiman and his mates lapse into the expected, with a series of songs that are good but rarely as remarkable as those found in Act I.
  3. Billboard
    40
    It is hard to hear much difference between each cut. [24 Sep 2005]