User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 98
  2. Negative: 6 out of 98

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. deanb
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    This album is unbelievably good, i first flung it off as some silly shenanigans but not only is it funny its incredibly furious and rocking, theres a real sense of musicianship when listening to this album 5 stars for me.
  2. SergeiS.
    Feb 20, 2002
    10
    Best!
  3. BrianK.
    Oct 31, 2001
    9
    This CD freaking rocks...I always thought Jack Black gave a great performance at the end of "High Fidelity" he gives even a better one on this CD, The lyrics are so out there its funny but its also childish what makes it so good is that these guys sound better than any other band out now, they play better, they mix better, they sound better these guys are real fucking good my only gripe This CD freaking rocks...I always thought Jack Black gave a great performance at the end of "High Fidelity" he gives even a better one on this CD, The lyrics are so out there its funny but its also childish what makes it so good is that these guys sound better than any other band out now, they play better, they mix better, they sound better these guys are real fucking good my only gripe is some songs though sounding great are way too short. Other than that I can never get tired of this mess of weirdness nad good tunes "Tribute" is a winner! Expand
  4. GregS.
    Dec 8, 2001
    10
    The great thing about this band: They are funny, and they make GOOD music. The music is better than most new stuff today. A combination of rockin' tunes and comedy. Now there's something I'd like to see more of today.
  5. BrandonS.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Not as good as the book.
  6. DanC
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    Truly a great comedy album!
  7. matthewb
    Feb 11, 2004
    9
    It kicks bum
  8. N&K
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    owns many many arses
  9. natew
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    Jack and Kyle are geniuses
  10. travisb
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    Holy shit this album rocks. JB and KG rock my fuckin rocket sauce!!!
  11. Andy
    Feb 25, 2004
    9
    For some people, there's just no explaining some things; they'll never get them no matter what. For just about everyone else, this album is a breath of fresh air - and it's really hard not to like the D and their album. Let's just hope they come out with another one sometime - preferably soon.
  12. Wnderboy
    Aug 26, 2004
    10
    Fucking awesome! Especially Inward Singing and Fuck Her Gently
  13. r.travis
    Aug 24, 2004
    10
    Obey the D
  14. redfirepixie
    Nov 13, 2004
    9
    Bloody brilliant.
  15. Sparky
    Mar 21, 2004
    10
    The greatest album in the world. 'Nuff said.
  16. johnl
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    bad ass
  17. KiddiK
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    It's brilliant. the best in many years. and it shows that jack black is just a brilliant musican. And this record ROCKS
  18. JB
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    The Best of The best
  19. SeanP
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Warning if you want your ass blown off listen to this C.D.
  20. WodekS.
    Oct 25, 2001
    9
    I learned much from this. It has saved more than one relationship. A triumph.
  21. CarlingEpp
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    This is the NUTTIEST CD...best drinking CD ever!!!!! JB is the Hottest
  22. ErikW.
    Oct 15, 2001
    10
    Hilarious. Period.
  23. TylerD.
    Jul 30, 2002
    10
    Amazing album! It combines so many different styles and influences that you don't know where to turn, but everywhere you do, you hear something that you like. Jack Black CAN SING! The humour is great, but the awesome part of their songs, is that even if you took the humour out of them, you would very cool, very melodic, songs, not just a throw-away tune that is no longer worth it.
  24. CoryB
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    this album is hilarious, and the guitar is excellent
  25. MikeyMikey
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This is such a rocking album, it will make you want to implode. The songs are funny, but most importantly, they be good. KG rocks!
  26. PaulCool
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Greatness comes to mind
  27. KellyR
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    Kick ass CD!
  28. jackm
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    awsome
  29. [Anonymous]
    Apr 26, 2005
    9
    It's sort of a novelty album, but rather than just silly songs, they actually do very good guitar work and have pretty high production values. They have some DVDs out that are also worth checking out.
  30. jablesc
    May 5, 2005
    10
    4 years later and it still in heavy rotation on my listening list. Great album, I can't wait for the next one but I guess I'll have to. C'mon guys
  31. AlexG
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    soooooo funny brilliant !!!!!!!!Buy it!!!!!!!
  32. jone
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    absolutely fantastic and easy hard rocking listening a truly magificent laughable album
  33. MartinB
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    What is there to say? Rock ma F****ing sox off baby
  34. phils
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Cant stop....listening.....when will I have to time to utilize their advice?!
  35. GregH
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    This album rocks! I could care less about the profanity.
  36. mike
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    Theres not much to say they set out to change rock history and they done it and more they are absolutly great and its not just a novelty album there are some brilliant songs that are completely normal note: tribute or wonderboy buy this album you will never stop the CD playing
  37. sweetman
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    this was awsome
  38. BenN
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    Hmm. well i just think that is great. My whole family likes it along with Zappa and all the other weird great stuff. I recommend it to everyone!
  39. Andy
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    Incredible. Amusing. Sing along lyrics. Brings a smile to my face at every listen. Especially when it randomly comes on iTunes. Genius
  40. MichaelB
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    The best album around by far
  41. davet
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    it rocked so hard
  42. JK
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    This ROCKS. If you do anyhting buy this album, and the new album which is out soon.
  43. kylef
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    i was in stitches after listening to tis album.
  44. CraigA
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Very suprisling good. a lot of variety in styles and use of the f bomb. very good over all
  45. JeffG
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Jack Black and Kyle Glass kick some major motherfuckin ass in this one. Jack Black is a musical mastermind and Kyle Glass just plays guitar like a god.
  46. MattF
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    like the tunes. like the speaking parts.i was laughing my ass off. Drive Thru, inward Singing, Karate Schnitzel, are my fav skits, Tribute, Wonderboy,Friendship,karate are my fav songs
  47. JackM
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    If you dont like it, you should rot in hell this satan himself!
  48. darrons
    May 3, 2007
    10
    tenacious d is the greatest fucking band alive
  49. NathanB
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    As if this isn't the best album ever, swear words and all.
  50. AndrewG.
    Jun 8, 2002
    10
    Very few rock albums, let alone comedy albums accomplish what The D has done on thier first album. Catchy tunes mixed with humor, adding lots of rock and also energy that is very hard to match by most rock bands.
  51. Aug 9, 2010
    8
    Your first thoughts after hearing about Jack Black being the front for a rock band would be he is doing a parody. But, his band is actually good and he can sing. The lyrics are pretty funny as well.
  52. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    Who thought that Tenacious D would be so fun to listen to (as long as you don't mind the strong language). With Jack Black's awesome voice and Kyle's funky acoustic guitar skills, makes this album (and the band) a really good one. Yes, Tenacious D is 'the best band in the world'.
  53. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    8
    It's hard to rate Tenacious D's self-titled debut, while it's well made and relatively funny. You can't help but think why would they make this album. Did Jack Black really sell his soul to the devil to write "greatest song in the world" or was he just bored. Regardless it's a fun listen.
  54. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Hardest and funniest rocking I've ever heard... Can listen to it all day, every day. Best band, period. Nothing else to be said. Long live the D!
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Take away the insane lyrics, and you’ve still got music worth listening to. Granted, it sounds like Journey being raped by Ronnie James Dio, but you have to admit that’s intriguing.
  2. Not since Bob and Doug McKenzie have two jokers nailed the clod-metal aesthetic so accurately: Nearly every lyric here comes straight from your high school's bathroom wall.
  3. They're profane, bursting with rage and lust, and they deliver more laughs than anyone since Richard Pryor.