Testify - P.O.D.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. A collection that contains no weak links, no fillers, no afterthoughts and almost no mistakes.
  2. A mature and workmanlike metal monster-piece.
  3. 75
    P.O.D. too often fall back on vanilla "bang boogie." [Feb 2006, p.85]
  4. A sleek collision of burbling basslines, adversarial vocals and downtuned brutality. [Mar 2006, p.109]
  5. Adds a few improved grooves and hooks to their usual numbing pummel. [3 Feb 2006, p.70]
  6. With nothing to react against and few new ideas to air, P.O.D. mostly operates in default mode, relying on hitmaker-for-hire Glen Ballard to inject the music with new life. Sadly, he doesn't.
  7. 40
    New touches only further dilute P.O.D.'s already watered-down sound. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.96]
  8. The most notable aspect of Testify, in fact, is how little P.O.D., or their guitars, have to say.
  9. It is P.O.D.'s lyrics, which are stuck in adolescent neutral, that doom "Testify" to feeling like a relic. [28 Jan 2006]
  10. P.O.D.'s new album sounds exactly like all their other ones.
  11. There’ll be some splainin’ to do at the pearly gates.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. JonathanG
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    P.O.D. is the best. It is great music. and I don't care what any of you idiots have to say about it.
  2. NeonPredatorCalypsan
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    There are plenty of great tunes here to keep you interested. It is also a return to form for P.O.D., with rapcore elements reintroduced. The only problem is, it just isn't as original or memorable as Satellite. For example, no track stands out as much as a shout along "Youth of the Nation" or rap-metal-punk "Boom." And guitar riffs aren't as savage, and often drowned out by premade loops programmed by some dude in his mama's basement. However, songs like "Strength of My Life" make this a no-brainer for nu metal fans looking for something to chew on. Full Review »
  3. Olga
    Aug 7, 2006
    0
    I might have liked this album when I was eleven (before I heard any good music) ...... but probably not.