Testimony: Vol. 1, Life & Relationship

Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. All of it works, and works wondrously.
  2. If you're not turned off by earnest expressions of self-righteousness set to comforting folk-tinged R&B, then Testimony just may be your cup of decaffeinated jasmine tea.
  3. Vibe
    70
    The album has its puzzling moments. [Jul 2006, p.139]
  4. An ambitious, aurally rich suite of storytelling songs.
  5. The album is a major production.
  6. Blender
    60
    Her lyrics drown in anti-gangsta correctives... but her best tracks transcend daily affirmations. [Jul 2006, p.96]
  7. By the end of the album, the listener will surely be overwhelmed by Arie’s earnestness, both musically and personally, but like her previous albums, Testimony is for those who seek a motivational guide for living a conflict-free life.
  8. Rolling Stone
    50
    The sentiments are so genuine and earnest, it's hard to fault Arie for this gauzy blend of New Age-y self-help babble and sunny, plucky folk. [10 Aug 2006, p.98]
  9. Arie's smooth, husky voice isn't enough to forgive the jaw-dropping simplicity and clumsiness of her songs.
  10. New Musical Express (NME)
    40
    Sounds like an even less energetic Alicia Keys. [24 Jun 2006, p.43]
  11. Q Magazine
    40
    Her sauntering melodies struggle under the weight of their worthy load. [Aug 2006, p.110]
  12. Spin
    40
    The feel-good vibe... mak[es] you feel crappy for not being as upbeat as India. [Aug 2006, p.80]
  13. Mojo
    40
    Lacking the wit and lyrical dexterity of a Jill Scott or the raw power of Angie Stone, the songs can feel airless and unengaged. [Sep 2006, p.98]
  14. Uncut
    30
    Finds her plumbing new depths of pomposity. [Aug 2006, p.84]
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. JohnR
    Apr 27, 2009
    6
    As much as I like India's music, this is by far her weakest effort so far. The lyrics are somewhat over the top, and the music just As much as I like India's music, this is by far her weakest effort so far. The lyrics are somewhat over the top, and the music just isn't up to par with what she produced before. Some of the songs are just... dull... However, there are also good moments, and India's honesty is as always to be admired. Full Review »
  2. middlechild
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    I can just soak up the awesomness
  3. JC
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    These "professional" critics are crazy! This just goes to show you that white people just do not understand soul music. Now, don't get These "professional" critics are crazy! This just goes to show you that white people just do not understand soul music. Now, don't get me wrong, I am far from racist, but I can't help but be irritated by the fact that she was given a lower overall rating than Paris Hilton! This can only mean one thing, they just don't get it! Calling her self-righteous, simplistic, and clumsy? You certainly MUST be kidding me! If you don't understand the music, that's fine. If you don't know where she is coming from, that is also fine. But DON'T attack her creativity, musicality, and overall talent because she is the realist thing to hit the music industry in years! Try again critics, I give YOU a 51. Full Review »