User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FaithB
    Aug 3, 2006
    9
    True expression of her soul; it seems to be a heartfelt revelation of herself to the world
  2. JC
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    These "professional" critics are crazy! This just goes to show you that white people just do not understand soul music. Now, don't get me wrong, I am far from racist, but I can't help but be irritated by the fact that she was given a lower overall rating than Paris Hilton! This can only mean one thing, they just don't get it! Calling her self-righteous, simplistic, and These "professional" critics are crazy! This just goes to show you that white people just do not understand soul music. Now, don't get me wrong, I am far from racist, but I can't help but be irritated by the fact that she was given a lower overall rating than Paris Hilton! This can only mean one thing, they just don't get it! Calling her self-righteous, simplistic, and clumsy? You certainly MUST be kidding me! If you don't understand the music, that's fine. If you don't know where she is coming from, that is also fine. But DON'T attack her creativity, musicality, and overall talent because she is the realist thing to hit the music industry in years! Try again critics, I give YOU a 51. Expand
  3. JuanH
    Jun 28, 2006
    6
    India is the girl! I already love this album and I
  4. Kisha
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    2 words. Outstanding and Remarkable. This CD has taken my demeanor to a new level. India's words has calmed my spirit and my soul has become serene and poised. You can recognize true talent easily in her, all she needs is her guitar and her voice and she can sell millions. She is actually in my opinion becoming the next Lauryn Hill, and for those of you that KNOWS music and neosoul 2 words. Outstanding and Remarkable. This CD has taken my demeanor to a new level. India's words has calmed my spirit and my soul has become serene and poised. You can recognize true talent easily in her, all she needs is her guitar and her voice and she can sell millions. She is actually in my opinion becoming the next Lauryn Hill, and for those of you that KNOWS music and neosoul you will know Lauryn Hill is one of the greatest and that is hard to compare to anyone. Go India. Keep doing ya thang and I have become your number one fan!!! Expand
  5. JassyK
    Jul 3, 2006
    8
    I love India. I've followed her nonstop for years...even have her DVD of her trip a few years ago to Brazil where she met the guy she sings of on one of the cuts and first debuted "India Song". I was anxious to hear the new CD. It's good but I must admit that you can detect her sadness in this album and that makes it a little hard to put into heavy rotation. Unlike the first two I love India. I've followed her nonstop for years...even have her DVD of her trip a few years ago to Brazil where she met the guy she sings of on one of the cuts and first debuted "India Song". I was anxious to hear the new CD. It's good but I must admit that you can detect her sadness in this album and that makes it a little hard to put into heavy rotation. Unlike the first two albums, I think this is one I have to be in more of a "mood" to listen to. "The Heart of the Matter" and "Good Morning" are great but maybe that is just because I recently had a breakup too so I was feeling where she was coming from but I ended up feeling a little too blue. But "There's Hope" is upbeat and a good drive to work in the morning song. I think her albums are reflecting/deflecting alot of pain. Voyage to India seemed to be her attempting self-affirmation after the Grammy losses for Acoustic Soul --"God is Real, The Little Things, etc." Overall I give it 2 thumbs up but I hope that she is in better spirits with Vol. 2. I'll be praying for her contentment. If she's this good sad, imagine what a happy India will come with. Expand
  6. Lorraine
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best cds of the year. She sings with conviction which we don't find in many artist today. The music is full of life which transcends through all bounderies. This is what we need more of today in music!
  7. AmeikanS
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Thanks india for your true testimony which has given me the courage to face my biggest fear of leaving an unhealthy relationship and move on to finding and understanding myself. My god bless you. This album is amazing
  8. middlechild
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    I can just soak up the awesomness
  9. PatrickM
    Jun 27, 2006
    5
    Terrible R&B! Exept Im not in my hair ft. Akon,
  10. JanV
    Jun 28, 2006
    9
    Great cd from the woman with the best voice in misic.
  11. juanl
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    Absolutely wonderful!
  12. gregw
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    anyone who has followed this artist knows that there has been great growth and if u are a true music lover you have to appreciate an artist who goes against traditional definitions of what music should be. India is special she is validated by her people and her earthyness is a welcome change to the typical predictable sound of r&b/hip hop that exists today. if she were alicia keys or some anyone who has followed this artist knows that there has been great growth and if u are a true music lover you have to appreciate an artist who goes against traditional definitions of what music should be. India is special she is validated by her people and her earthyness is a welcome change to the typical predictable sound of r&b/hip hop that exists today. if she were alicia keys or some other fair skinned female most critics would be singer her praises.. coodos India!!! Expand
  13. SeanH
    Jun 30, 2006
    7
    While we all need to be lifted up at times, I couldn't help feeling a bit overwhelmed...except "Summer" and "I am Not My Hair". The album contains daily affirmations put to melodic guitar rhythms...nice, but I'd imagine it would be hard to market.
  14. LynneS
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Beautiful and healing. I have always loved "Heart of the Matter", but now, post my own break-up, and in a woman's voice, it resonates. Beautiful album.
  15. TsongG
    Jul 25, 2006
    8
    The metacritic average score certainly is crap. The scoring is based on what? Don't try to put this album down with stupid assessment of the critic's opinion with scores. It's very subjective. How can you say it's 80 and not 90 or 100 when all the critic's comments are good? When do you give a 40 and not a 50? Stop pretending Metacritic. Just count the favorable The metacritic average score certainly is crap. The scoring is based on what? Don't try to put this album down with stupid assessment of the critic's opinion with scores. It's very subjective. How can you say it's 80 and not 90 or 100 when all the critic's comments are good? When do you give a 40 and not a 50? Stop pretending Metacritic. Just count the favorable and not favorable reviews and don't put "scores" and then average them. Expand
  16. AunS
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    India's best album yet! There's more variety musically and lyrically, with hope and optimism fully intact. I don't see how the album can be perceived as forced regarding its positive messages, unless it is judged by someone who feels down most of the time. My Favourites: Heart of the matter, good mourning, and there's hope. God bless you India!
  17. JohnR
    Apr 27, 2009
    6
    As much as I like India's music, this is by far her weakest effort so far. The lyrics are somewhat over the top, and the music just isn't up to par with what she produced before. Some of the songs are just... dull... However, there are also good moments, and India's honesty is as always to be admired.
  18. AaronW
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    best r&b album in a long time. inspiring and positive without being sappy or fake. Her voice is such an instrument.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. All of it works, and works wondrously.
  2. 60
    Her lyrics drown in anti-gangsta correctives... but her best tracks transcend daily affirmations. [Jul 2006, p.96]
  3. 70
    The album has its puzzling moments. [Jul 2006, p.139]