Th1rt3en - Megadeth
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    Much of the aptly named Th1rt3en feels vintage, from the familiar political themes on "We the People" and the tightly wound, Dio-esque riffing on "Public Enemy No. 1" to the soft, melodramatic military snare intro of "Never Dead," which eventually explodes into a wicked blast of retro-thrash that feels positively invigorating, not redundant.
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    70
    Overall, though, Th1rt3en is the latest in a series of well-composed and well-executed albums for Megadeth.
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    Basically, it's a Megadeth album; no more, no less, no change. [Jan 2012, p.124]
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    75
    With Th1rt3en, Megadeth seems positioned to chug into middle age in remarkably sturdy shape.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    It is something of a slow burner, and familiarity with their back catalogue will certainly add depth to the whole experience, but those who come to it cold will find the immediacy and vigour of the likes of Public Enemy No. 1 irresistible.
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    70
    The quartet's stubborn refusal to evolve yields genuine thrills on their typically irascible 13th album.
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    80
    Th1rt3en is the followup to 2009's widely lauded Endgame and again showcases the flame-haired firebrand's ability to pen smart, succinct and thrillingly powerful metal anthems that strike a sublime balance between dazzling technicality and good, old-fashioned, catchy-as-hell songwriting.
  8. 70
    Subtracting pretentious weight from a band that boasts several loose concept records in its catalog, TH1RT3EN might not don a full sense of humor, but it is 13 tracks of unadulterated hard rock in a classic package
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    60
    In between standout tracks like Public Enemy No. 1, Never Dead and Fast Lane is less remarkable filler, and Mustaine's socially conscious lyrics are sometimes cringe-worthy. But his snarling vocals and guitar work never get old, and the production has a warmer, more vintage feel than steely recent albums.
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    70
    Not a bad album, but not one for the ages.
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    70
    Lyrical content aside, Thirteen sees Megadeth do very little wrong.
  12. 75
    Here Mega Dave isn't even that annoying. Perhaps it's because the music is so strong, or maybe it's that he's giving exactly what you expect and doesn't try to be anything else.
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    60
    Megadeth are simply a little bit mid-paced, even monochromatic. [5 Nov 2011, p.51]
  14. Oct 24, 2011
    70
    The Deth's 13th album (how'd you guess?) gravitates between classy thrashers and hokey anthemic rock with scorching guitar work and Mustaine's snarling voice expectedly leading the charge.
  15. Oct 24, 2011
    70
    It swings and swaggers like no Megadeth album in recent memory. [Nov/Dec 2011, p.87]
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    8
    The thirteenth Megadeth album, this album has some fantastic thrash metal songs, Dave Mustaine (vocals,lead/rythm guitar) and Chris Brodericks (lead/rythm guitar) back and forth guitar solo's really light up the tracks, some great and heavy bass lines from the returning David Ellefson (founding member, left in 2002), and some fantastic and heavy drumming from Shawn Drover, really make this a great, modern Megadeth album you dont want to miss out on. The album includes the singles Sudden Death, Public Enemy Number One, and Who's Life Is It Anyway's, and some old re-recorded demos, like New World Order, millennium of the blind, and Black Swan. Most of the tracks on this album are pretty great and stand out, but there are a few more forgettable tracks. i find sometimes a few of the songs can tend to blend in together, but i love that a lot of the tracks almost have a different tone each. Public enemy number one, we the people, and whose life is it anyways are really catchy, solid tunes that will have you tapping your foot or shaking your head along uncontrollably. Then it has tracks like millennium of the blind, black swan, and especially thirteen, that have a lot of of feeling to them, and has a very powerful sound. Of course then you have tracks like sudden death, never dead, and fast lane, which are straight up intense and heavy tracks. the lyrics are pretty great on songs like public enemy number one, we the people, and especially 13, but on some other tracks the lyrics aren't as memorable. We the people, guns drugs and money, and new world order, have a lot of intense, great political lyrics, and the song 13 has some of my favorite lyrics from any Megadeth song. The riffs are great and catchy, the solo's are incredibly intense, the bass lines are solid, Daves vocals have a very vintage, almost old sounding tone to them, which sounds great, and the drumming, while very intense, could be a bit more varied, as many of the songs have very similar beat and fills. Now having recently undergone back surgery, of which they went through his throat, Dave singing abilities are less than what they used to be. his very high range from before has been brought down quite a bit for this album and endgame, but his voice has a heavier, more grunt like tone to it, which makes Daves voice sound pretty great. Also, the riffs, rhythms, and solo's that Dave Mustaine has written for this album are top notch, he can lay down a wickedly complex rhythm while Chris solos away, and when its his turn to solo, get ready to head bang, as Daves solos's on this album are fantastic. I wouldn't say as good as endgame, if we use the previous album for comparison, but he still shreds wildly fast, integrates feeling as well in the solo's, and keeps the back and forth soloing as intense as ever. And Chris Broderick once again rocks the songs with his insanely fast and technically appalling guitar solos. after an 8 year absence, David Ellefson makes a comeback and returns as Megadeths bassist. and Shawn Drover once again pounds on the double kick and fantastic drumming. Dave Mustaine said his inspiration for the album name, and the song Thirteen, is how often the number 13 has showed up in his life. While i don't think this album tops endgame, which i think was an amazing snap back to pure thrash, i still think that this is a great, heavy thrash metal album, and i would recommend it to any metal fan. I really think that with this album, Megadeth has hit a new sound, Daves vocals keep getting better and better, stronger and stronger since the back surgery, and his guitar solos, riffs, rhythms, and writing styles have aged fantastically, Chris's solo's keep getting more and more intense, Shawn keeps using wild drum techniques and styles to keep us head banging, and David Ellefson is back in action. I think the best of megadeth is yet to come, and this album has definitely paved the way, to Megadeth's new modern sound. Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    4
    eh. I'm a huge Megadeth fan, but this was a pretty mediocre effort. Endgame took fans by surprise when it saw Megadeth return to it's thrash metal roots, but Th1rt3en is mearly a compilation of redone tracks from old demos. Sure there are a few new songs, but those were only written for soundtrack albums to video games. New World Order, Black Swan, Never Dead, and Sudden Death are really the only standout tracks here, and 3 out of those 4 had already been released. Here's hoping your next release is better. Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    This album starts off very slow; so slow in fact, I almost considered returning it before I got halfway through the CD. But as the tracks past and time flew by, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this purchase was not a total let down. Being a huge Megadeth fan, I was really hoping for an awesome follow up to "Endgame" and "United Abominations". In this regard, I was severely disappointed. The album is mediocre at best. Dave should have left the first four tracks off the final album. So skip to track five if you want to avoid a total let down. The lyrics are really the worst part about the album. I found little depth and meaning to the lyrics compared to all the previous Megadeth albums. Of course, if you are a fan you'll buy the album. Just don't expect too much. Full Review »