Tha Carter III

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 305

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. r0ckc1ty
    Feb 12, 2009
    0
    Massive disappointment. If your a genuine fan of "Weezy F Baby" (ie you knew of him before MTV told you to like him) then you should find this album a slap in the face. After the wait from The Carter 2 I expected something with a bit of substance, but what I got was Wayne selling out and trying to win out the 50 Cent crowd with trash like "lollipop". The only track that reminds me of Massive disappointment. If your a genuine fan of "Weezy F Baby" (ie you knew of him before MTV told you to like him) then you should find this album a slap in the face. After the wait from The Carter 2 I expected something with a bit of substance, but what I got was Wayne selling out and trying to win out the 50 Cent crowd with trash like "lollipop". The only track that reminds me of anything that makes Wayne good is "A Millie" but that is decidedly average and not a scratch on "Money on my mind". What disapoints me most is that Waynes mixtapes leading up to this completely transcend the quality contained in this album. "Pray to the Lord" "I feel Like Dying" and the Moby remix "1000 Degrees" are vastly superior to drivel like "Mrs Officer" and "La La". Everything about the album is a departure from the LW of old. No Mannie, no Baby, no production from the runners and no collabos with the collective that he has been spittin bars for these past few years (Rick Ross, Joe Crack etc) Im not surprised there are high critical reviews. Most of these pompous idiots didnt know who Wayne was six months ago so subsequently dont know what they are missing out on. A typical passage to pop territory guarantees Birdman Jr the positive reviews in the 'hip' publications and an entry point into the playlists of many morons' ipods. But for the real fans Wayne has made a mediocre record, and I hope the Drought 4 rectifies this drop in quality. Expand
  2. KrishB
    Jun 18, 2008
    0
    This album is straight garbage and Lil Wayne is overrated trash.
  3. CedricW.
    Jul 16, 2008
    0
    This shit sucks monkey ass
  4. maxl
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Obviously the reviewer from Spin is the only smart one.
  5. DavidC
    Jun 11, 2008
    3
    Mediocre... nothing new here, listen to it at least twice, then send it straight to the recycle bin.
  6. ChadS.
    Jun 22, 2008
    2
    This by far a good album. With mediocre beats and stupid analogies. Whoever thinks Lil Wayne is the best rapper alive needs to listen to the track on this album feat. Jay-Z and listen to Jay-Z murder him.
  7. datsun1978
    Jun 26, 2008
    1
    Now I ain't never been a chicken but my fitty cocked Say I ain't never been a chicken but my semi cocked um yea. lyrically dogpoop rap music is for kids and criminals.
  8. Stoo
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Guess what ? It's an amazing album. It's crazy controversial because it's audaciously and crazily good, and different, and it scares those who can't deal with something that is actually progressive quality music developing out of the mainstream rap they were already becoming way out of touch with. When all the reviews of an album are mostly very positive, praising its Guess what ? It's an amazing album. It's crazy controversial because it's audaciously and crazily good, and different, and it scares those who can't deal with something that is actually progressive quality music developing out of the mainstream rap they were already becoming way out of touch with. When all the reviews of an album are mostly very positive, praising its uniqueness, or reviews that give it a 0 saying "OMG THIS IS HORRENDOUS TRASH I AM PERSONALLY OFFENDED", you KNOW that there is something good going on there. every innovative artist faces the same narrow-sighted critics. Expand
  9. tim
    Sep 13, 2008
    4
    Insanely unoriginal. But what would you expect with a guy who has Lil' in his name? He tries that whole robotic vocal thing that everyone and their dog is doing and he's just a sleezy stereotype.
  10. KennyM
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    "rap isn't music," says a anonymous coward who calls him/herself 'A Normal Person.' He/She should retreat back to the hipster hole from whence he/she came, turn death cab for cutie back on, and cry him/herself to sleep. On another note, this album is great, but by no means the best in years. There are some incredible songs on the album (3 peat, mr. carter, dr. carter, shoot "rap isn't music," says a anonymous coward who calls him/herself 'A Normal Person.' He/She should retreat back to the hipster hole from whence he/she came, turn death cab for cutie back on, and cry him/herself to sleep. On another note, this album is great, but by no means the best in years. There are some incredible songs on the album (3 peat, mr. carter, dr. carter, shoot me down...etc.), but there's also some commercial bullshit (lollipop, got money, a milli). Overall, a great album. Lil Wayne does things with his voice that no other commercial rapper would ever dare. Lastly, "Normal Person," before you spout your hip-as-fuck wisdom again, listen to Aesop Rock's "Labor Days", or "None Shall Pass," and if you can create something more musical and groundbreaking, then and only then do you have the right you deny rap the hip-hop a classification under "music." by the way, death cab sucks. Expand
  11. DavidA
    Jul 7, 2008
    4
    First and foremost the person that said that weezy has proven he is better then biggie is on some mad drugs WEEZY WILL NEVER BE ON THE LEVEL OF BIGGIE, PAC, JAY-Z, NAS, RAKIM, AND ALL THE OTHER GREATS now back on topic this album has some hot songs and some really unnecessary songs the featured artist are amazing in this jay-z rips weezy on his own track good choice of production but the First and foremost the person that said that weezy has proven he is better then biggie is on some mad drugs WEEZY WILL NEVER BE ON THE LEVEL OF BIGGIE, PAC, JAY-Z, NAS, RAKIM, AND ALL THE OTHER GREATS now back on topic this album has some hot songs and some really unnecessary songs the featured artist are amazing in this jay-z rips weezy on his own track good choice of production but the album lacks flare and for the people that say that the cool was can't stick up to this are mentally challenged they do not understand the sophisticated lyrics of lupe so they have to listen to weezy to make themselves feel good. Expand
  12. CraigS
    Jun 15, 2008
    4
    There are a couple good songs on the album, but most of this is filler. The themes are also weak too often focusing on money and sex as if Wayne is incapable of living a deeper life.
  13. LiamF
    Nov 18, 2009
    4
    This album is alright but used to really like lil wayne during his earlier albums, IE Pre "Tha Carter" and some Carter songs. To someone who hasn't really heard weezy before this album and before he became really mainstream this is a good album but to fans of his it really isn't.
  14. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    I think Lil 'Wayne proves that you can make good rap music and at the same time cover broader musical genres. This is an album that contains the best rap mixtapes of 2007 and a good production that is pleasant to listen in any radio station.

    Lil 'Wayne made ​​a radical shift in what we were used to seeing in previous rap albums that were talking about the same issues and the same beats
    I think Lil 'Wayne proves that you can make good rap music and at the same time cover broader musical genres. This is an album that contains the best rap mixtapes of 2007 and a good production that is pleasant to listen in any radio station.

    Lil 'Wayne made ​​a radical shift in what we were used to seeing in previous rap albums that were talking about the same issues and the same beats and productions. Looking backwards, it is clear that since this album was released rappers began to make good use of auto-tune until a few years ago.

    The best album of 2008 and the best of Lil 'Wayne.
    Expand
  15. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. Those users giving him Negatives and 0-5, really? This album shook up Hip Hop and is one of the most significant mainstream albums out there. This album is a great mainstream crossover, and features one of the greatest songs in the whole Hip Hop genre, "Dr. Carter". Those hating on this album need to remember, he's a legend and your reviews won't tarnish his legacyAmazing album. Those users giving him Negatives and 0-5, really? This album shook up Hip Hop and is one of the most significant mainstream albums out there. This album is a great mainstream crossover, and features one of the greatest songs in the whole Hip Hop genre, "Dr. Carter". Those hating on this album need to remember, he's a legend and your reviews won't tarnish his legacy whatsoever. Great job, Wayne. Hoping Carter 5 could be another classic. Expand
  16. Oct 17, 2014
    9
    This album isn't the Blueprint, Get Rich or Die Trying, or The Eminem Show, but it is a step below which is good enough to have an ninety rating. The album is a little bit of both the mix-tape Lil Wayne, like A Milli and the friendlier Lil Wayne, like Got Money.
  17. Undergroundmystery
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    Absolute garbage. Lil wayne is not close to the top 100 rappers living. I would like to see him battle against nas. Has no talent whatsoever as evident by his lyrics. Yeah, the lollipop beat is good but the lyrics are shit and it ruins the song.
  18. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    To start off, he doesn't actually rap once during this piece of sh*t album. He talks slowly and auto-tunes his voice so he doesn't sound like a retarded monkey, even though he ends up sounding like one. He should kill his dumbass manager who lets him continue making this music and then kill himself, that way nobody has to hear any of his new music.
  19. BartSimpson
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    Ugh. disgustingly overrated. he's sounds brain dead and the beats are all either similar, annoying, or uninspired. plus horrible lyricism. really find it hard to believe that this garbage album appeared in so many top ten lists. what's next?
  20. Iknow
    Jul 6, 2009
    1
    I wanted to know what the hype was about Lil' wayne and I was disappointed that so many people listen to this garbage. Songs like "lollipop" and "mrs. officer" have great beats, but the lyrics bring the whole song down. What has the world come to to call songs about oral sex great music? I have no clear idea why critics managed to give this album a higher score than Lupe's Cool.
  21. Aug 23, 2011
    1
    this album sucks lil wayne is inded the worst rapper alive he does not know how to rap he is one seriously one lousy lazy musician he is a waste of life lil wayne claim's he is the best rapper alive when he truly is not the best rapper he is and always will be the worst rapper alive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  22. Oct 23, 2011
    0
    This Album Sucks. Tha Carter III Is Relying Too Much On Autotune And Beats. His Lyrics Needs A Huge Improvement. But Other Than That, The Other Albums Released In 2008 Is WAY Better Than This. I Did Not Enjoy Any Tracks On This Album Whatso Ever. Jay-Z Murdered Him On Mr. Carter.
  23. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    1
    I really don't understand how this guy gets so much props for this garbage (oh yeah, it's all opinion). In my opinion with all the auto-tune and (stupid) ridiculous rhymes, this album adds up to one stinky turd that'll be forgotten a couple years from now (see 50 Cent).
  24. sashaj
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    I was expecting good from Lil Wayne on this album considering the horrible guest appearences of him on various songs in the months prior to the release. On June 5th, a friend of mine sent me a link where I could download the album. I did, and after hearing 3 Peat and Mr. Carter I was amazed and decided that I would buy it in stores. After I bought it I thorougly listened to it and decided I was expecting good from Lil Wayne on this album considering the horrible guest appearences of him on various songs in the months prior to the release. On June 5th, a friend of mine sent me a link where I could download the album. I did, and after hearing 3 Peat and Mr. Carter I was amazed and decided that I would buy it in stores. After I bought it I thorougly listened to it and decided that this is the first album where I didn't have to skip any songs. Some might say the album did not have had a concept or a general idea but trust me it did. The general message was: All of these songs are the new Lil Wayne. Expand
  25. [Anonymous]
    Sep 2, 2008
    3
    If I wanted to hear an auto-tune ridden pop-tastrophe I would've just bought a T-Pain album. I guess I was mistakenly anticipating Weezy's attempt to bring his underground Drought 3 and Dedication 2 prowess to the mainstream. Woe is me.
  26. NickO
    Oct 1, 2009
    0
    Lil Wayne has the lyrical ability of a retard.
  27. ZekeM
    Sep 13, 2009
    0
    Lil Wayne is overly overrated and i think its because fans of other genres like him due to his watered down music. The Carter II is a lot better than this; if you ask any core hiphop fan they will tell you that this album is a massive flop. It is a massive dissapointed that people see him as the "best rapper alive". . . I could name 10 albums that are better than this but dont have a Lil Wayne is overly overrated and i think its because fans of other genres like him due to his watered down music. The Carter II is a lot better than this; if you ask any core hiphop fan they will tell you that this album is a massive flop. It is a massive dissapointed that people see him as the "best rapper alive". . . I could name 10 albums that are better than this but dont have a higher rating on metacritic (N). Expand
  28. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    The best album of 2008. Lil Wayne shows his rap skills and out-does his singing skills. Even though with autotune, the effect has a unique way with him. Album of the year... No Doubt!
  29. ANormalPerson
    Jul 8, 2008
    0
    I agree with datsun and all the other low scores. technically rap isn't music, so how can you give it a metascore?
  30. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    This is a pretty awesome album the reason is is because if this album wasnt aound lil wayne wouldnt be half as popular as he is now because rebirth and im not a human being failed everyone hated carter 4 this album had great songs some songs like lollipop were just stupid but a milli and got money were great

    1 A milli
    2 got money
    3 let the beat build
    4 3 peat
    5 Dr carter
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Filled with bold, entertaining wordplay and plenty of well-executed, left-field ideas, Tha Carter III should be considered as a wild, somewhat difficult child of Weezy's magnum opus in motion, one that allows the listener an exhilarating and unapologetic taste of artistic freedom.
  2. That said, it's not an instant classic, but it is the best rap album since Kanye West dropped "Graduation" last year.
  3. We should have known. If his raspy, cartoonish voice didn't mark him as different, his quick wit, offhanded wordplay and quirky subject matter should have in a genre populated largely by grim-faced imitators.