Tha Carter III

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 279

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2016
    4
    Lil Wayne's new stuff sucks. This is where it all started to suck. I used to love you lil wayne. Tha Carter 1 & 2, Tha Block Is Hot, Lights Out, and my personal favorite album of yours 500 Degreez were all really good. Then I heard Tha Carter 3, and my heart sank. Everything after that sucked balls. Tha Carter 4, I Am Not A Human Being 1 & 2, and the ugliest one of all, Rebirth. And don'tLil Wayne's new stuff sucks. This is where it all started to suck. I used to love you lil wayne. Tha Carter 1 & 2, Tha Block Is Hot, Lights Out, and my personal favorite album of yours 500 Degreez were all really good. Then I heard Tha Carter 3, and my heart sank. Everything after that sucked balls. Tha Carter 4, I Am Not A Human Being 1 & 2, and the ugliest one of all, Rebirth. And don't forget his slew of AWFUL mixtape's released after 2008 as well. Here's where Lil Wayne's quality went down by a lot.

    Now, this album does have it's high's. A Milli, Tie My Hands, Shoot Me Down, Lollipop, La La, and You Ain't Got Nutin to name all of the high's. That's it. The rest of the album consists of awful wordplay, bad vocal performances, uninterested features, and some really trashy instrumentation. The only exception I would make for features is Babyface, Robin Thick (surprisingly enough), T-Pain, and Brisco. The vocal performance part is SO bad on Got Money & Playing with Fire, my ears almost bleed. At least in his older albums he held back for the most part. but here he just let go and did a lot of **** terrible performances. His lyrics can get hard to bare, it's not the lyrics we got from the very witty Carter 2 Lil Wayne. He's not trying to be funny, but I can't help but laugh every time he says something really strange. That's not a good thing. The instrumentals are what ruined some of the songs on here too! Dontgetit was almost COMPLETELY ruined by a really terrible instrumental. Now, when this album has it's highs, believe me, they save the project. They brought what was great about the old Lil Wayne. My favorite song from him is actually on this album. La La is a very impressive track. I can't get it out of my head. A Milli is most likely a close second. So there are highs, but the lows, ARE REALLY LOW. I like a small handful, don't care for a large handful, and hate another handful. Weezy, I hope you kill Tha Carter 5. Cause I dont want to give that a

    4/10

    IT BARELY ESCAPES A 3!
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2015
    5
    While Lil Wayne fans call this a masterpiece, it is actually far from it. Does it have some good tracks? Yes and even the most poppy one Lollipop is catchy. But, this album is a pop rap album and was made to appeal to the masses, not give you thought-provoking lyricism and insight. You won't find lyricism here. For those that call themselves Hip Hop heads, this is not a record that's goingWhile Lil Wayne fans call this a masterpiece, it is actually far from it. Does it have some good tracks? Yes and even the most poppy one Lollipop is catchy. But, this album is a pop rap album and was made to appeal to the masses, not give you thought-provoking lyricism and insight. You won't find lyricism here. For those that call themselves Hip Hop heads, this is not a record that's going to do anything for you. Sure it was entertaining at the time, but there's nothing here that is groundbreaking, influential or worth remembering really. This album gets a five purely because of the fact that it was entertaining and had a few moments of Wayne actually saying some decent rhymes. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2015
    6
    6/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  4. Oct 4, 2014
    4
    I had high expectations for Tha Carter III as it was universally praised. To be honest, I must have overestimated the album as most of the tracks were boring and the production wasn't the best. I noticed he mentions Kanye West a few times in separate tracks, and speaking of him this album kind of sounds like Lil Wayne's version of College Dropout in a way. Lil Wayne lays down some creativeI had high expectations for Tha Carter III as it was universally praised. To be honest, I must have overestimated the album as most of the tracks were boring and the production wasn't the best. I noticed he mentions Kanye West a few times in separate tracks, and speaking of him this album kind of sounds like Lil Wayne's version of College Dropout in a way. Lil Wayne lays down some creative wordplay like usual and shows some direction but not enough to make it a great album. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    6
    Another Hip Hop album in which the singles almost ruin the album. Singles like "Got Money," "Lollipop," "Mrs. Officer," and "A Milli" disgrace, what would be, a solid Rap album. This album was Wayne's transition from Hip Hop to Pop which is evident in songs like "Lollipop" and "Prostitute 2." Other than that, Lil Wayne displays creativity, and some not-so-often seen raw emotion. AlthoughAnother Hip Hop album in which the singles almost ruin the album. Singles like "Got Money," "Lollipop," "Mrs. Officer," and "A Milli" disgrace, what would be, a solid Rap album. This album was Wayne's transition from Hip Hop to Pop which is evident in songs like "Lollipop" and "Prostitute 2." Other than that, Lil Wayne displays creativity, and some not-so-often seen raw emotion. Although the album is flawed, Lil Wayne shows his strengths through songs like "Mr. Carter," "Dr. Carter," "Tie My Hands," and "Let the Beat Build." Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Guilty pleasure pop/rap album. It's very fun and the final respectable Lil' Wayne album. Mr. Carter is Maybe his best song ever (but he still thinks he's better than he is)
  7. LiamF
    Nov 18, 2009
    4
    This album is alright but used to really like lil wayne during his earlier albums, IE Pre "Tha Carter" and some Carter songs. To someone who hasn't really heard weezy before this album and before he became really mainstream this is a good album but to fans of his it really isn't.
  8. AlexH
    May 17, 2009
    6
    The only song on "Tha Carter III" which should have been the bestselling track on the album is, "Shoot Me Down." The song has a bittersweet melody and so does most of the album.
  9. HomerS
    Dec 17, 2008
    6
    The guy claims to be the best rapper alive right? So why am I not feeling he lived up to it. The production is by far the best part of the album and that's why it got a 6. Lil Wayne mumbles half of the album, forces punchlines, make shit rhyme just for it to rhyme and just plain make shit up until it sounds good. I'm surprised people haven't seen this yet. Overall, okay The guy claims to be the best rapper alive right? So why am I not feeling he lived up to it. The production is by far the best part of the album and that's why it got a 6. Lil Wayne mumbles half of the album, forces punchlines, make shit rhyme just for it to rhyme and just plain make shit up until it sounds good. I'm surprised people haven't seen this yet. Overall, okay album. Nothing special and this is as disappointing as it comes from a self-proclaimed best rapper alive Expand
  10. tim
    Sep 13, 2008
    4
    Insanely unoriginal. But what would you expect with a guy who has Lil' in his name? He tries that whole robotic vocal thing that everyone and their dog is doing and he's just a sleezy stereotype.
  11. BennyA
    Aug 9, 2008
    6
    I got the hype for Carter II, but everything after that, including this...the hype is somewhat mind-boggling to me as he's never able to live up to it. He picks great producers, but I can't help but get the feeling he just wasn't trying with his flow anymore. People are like "oh, that's what makes it interesting and awesome!" I say...no, he recorded this all drunk and I got the hype for Carter II, but everything after that, including this...the hype is somewhat mind-boggling to me as he's never able to live up to it. He picks great producers, but I can't help but get the feeling he just wasn't trying with his flow anymore. People are like "oh, that's what makes it interesting and awesome!" I say...no, he recorded this all drunk and high in one take. For real. Not to mention for every nice punchline he makes there are also really stupid ones: "my back, my neck / isn't it weird how that song isn't old yet?" And to the person below that said hip-hop isn't music: grow the hell up. Seriously. Expand
  12. CaseyN
    Jul 8, 2008
    6
    From an artist claiming to be the greatest alive this album severly disappoints. Lack of original tracks really makes this album average. While there are songs such as Dr. Carter, where he really shows his skills, there are others on the album in which you feel like you have heard from most other artist out. Flow from Wayne is also somthing holding him back heavily, no pronunciation or From an artist claiming to be the greatest alive this album severly disappoints. Lack of original tracks really makes this album average. While there are songs such as Dr. Carter, where he really shows his skills, there are others on the album in which you feel like you have heard from most other artist out. Flow from Wayne is also somthing holding him back heavily, no pronunciation or empahsis really makes it worse. Expand
  13. DavidA
    Jul 7, 2008
    4
    First and foremost the person that said that weezy has proven he is better then biggie is on some mad drugs WEEZY WILL NEVER BE ON THE LEVEL OF BIGGIE, PAC, JAY-Z, NAS, RAKIM, AND ALL THE OTHER GREATS now back on topic this album has some hot songs and some really unnecessary songs the featured artist are amazing in this jay-z rips weezy on his own track good choice of production but the First and foremost the person that said that weezy has proven he is better then biggie is on some mad drugs WEEZY WILL NEVER BE ON THE LEVEL OF BIGGIE, PAC, JAY-Z, NAS, RAKIM, AND ALL THE OTHER GREATS now back on topic this album has some hot songs and some really unnecessary songs the featured artist are amazing in this jay-z rips weezy on his own track good choice of production but the album lacks flare and for the people that say that the cool was can't stick up to this are mentally challenged they do not understand the sophisticated lyrics of lupe so they have to listen to weezy to make themselves feel good. Expand
  14. JohnG.
    Jul 5, 2008
    6
    Good, but not great. Wayne seems to force a lot of his raps....too many references to pop culture to be considered as creative, and when you recite a rap from another song, that's just filler. Producing is flawless, but the content is less than spectacular. Kanye and Lupe are the best rappers alive, not he.
  15. CraigS
    Jun 15, 2008
    4
    There are a couple good songs on the album, but most of this is filler. The themes are also weak too often focusing on money and sex as if Wayne is incapable of living a deeper life.
  16. BobF
    Jun 14, 2008
    6
    A lot of his best material is missing from this album in favour of songs that have yet to leak. NOT A CLASSIC. but it is good for the most part.
  17. Mike
    Jun 13, 2008
    5
    Ok, the album is entertaining, but lyrically it doesnt hold a candle to The Cool, American Gangster, or even Graduation. I'm not saying wayne is bad, he's got a lot of swagger but that doesn't correlate with talent! Both Kanye and Jay-z make wayne sound like an idiot on his own album. Both jay's verse on mr. carter and Kanye's verse on lollipop blow wayne out of Ok, the album is entertaining, but lyrically it doesnt hold a candle to The Cool, American Gangster, or even Graduation. I'm not saying wayne is bad, he's got a lot of swagger but that doesn't correlate with talent! Both Kanye and Jay-z make wayne sound like an idiot on his own album. Both jay's verse on mr. carter and Kanye's verse on lollipop blow wayne out of the water. They are both just so much more creative and have a much better flow! Expand
  18. zorg
    Jun 13, 2008
    5
    So overrated its unreal. A handful of nice tight beats. His rhymes are smart, but miles below the underground scene. His flow is okay, but too many disjointed jams. NOT the best of the year. NOT the best rapper alive. Not even close.
  19. PatrickN
    Jun 12, 2008
    5
    There's absolutely no reason that Lollipop should be on this cd. It had already been played out by the time III dropped because of the leaks, so Wayne should've just relegated it to mixtape material. There are some solid songs, but like a friend of mine said, "it just doesn't sound inspired."
  20. rayb.
    Jun 11, 2008
    6
    Not bad, but Lil Wayne is no lupe! The album is entertaining but it lacks provocative lyrics and interesting concepts. But there are some awesome beats and songs on this album!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Filled with bold, entertaining wordplay and plenty of well-executed, left-field ideas, Tha Carter III should be considered as a wild, somewhat difficult child of Weezy's magnum opus in motion, one that allows the listener an exhilarating and unapologetic taste of artistic freedom.
  2. That said, it's not an instant classic, but it is the best rap album since Kanye West dropped "Graduation" last year.
  3. We should have known. If his raspy, cartoonish voice didn't mark him as different, his quick wit, offhanded wordplay and quirky subject matter should have in a genre populated largely by grim-faced imitators.