Tha Carter IV

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 239
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    You have to be mentally unstable to listen to this album. First of all, lil wayne sings too much, when he shouldn't at all. His voice is so unbearable I'd rather watch spiderman 3 on replay. His flow has become so bad, I think Nicholas Cage can act better then that. I only give it a one because the outro and the interlude are good. YOU KNOW WHY? BECUASE LIL WAYNE ISNT IN THEM AT ALL.
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    5
    Tha Carter IV is a major flop with it's inconsistents lack of Lil Wayne. It has good songs but not enough to say it's better than Tha Carter III. Listening to this album it's almost like he's trying to be like Drake. The production is terrible having no stand out beat. He talks about the same things he has been saying. An album with Drake on there twice can't be terrible but it seems hasTha Carter IV is a major flop with it's inconsistents lack of Lil Wayne. It has good songs but not enough to say it's better than Tha Carter III. Listening to this album it's almost like he's trying to be like Drake. The production is terrible having no stand out beat. He talks about the same things he has been saying. An album with Drake on there twice can't be terrible but it seems has Wayne's laziness can reverse that. I wish I never bought this album! Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    1
    I simply do not understand what is so great about Lil Wayne. His voice is horrible (probably because of all the drugs he likes to use), and it is unbearable to have to listen through one of his songs. Surely there must be a more deserving and better artist to spend your money on, right?
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    0
    Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo watch the throne
  5. Sep 13, 2011
    4
    terrible punchlines+ crappy lyrics+ good production= ok album. this is the worst ive heard from lil wayne ever and arguably the worst album of the year
  6. Sep 17, 2011
    0
    this album is **** terrible. its like he went to a drive through and ordered a **** with extra cheese. the only good part about this album was when Cory Gunz killed it in "6 Foot 7 Foot" that's really about it.
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    Piss poor. Literally un-listenable. Wayne fell all the way off. From poor choice of beats to abysmal lyrics, this really is a terrible album and sits at the bottom with rebirth of Waynes discography.
  8. Sep 8, 2011
    2
    wow!! this is a album from a rapper who call himself the king of hip hop. i am amazed at the poor quality of this album. with songs as poor as how to hate, this album is total. worst CARTER ever. i used to admire lil wayne but not after this album. i thought carter 4 would be the best rap album of 2011 but i was wrong. hell the sequel is still the best rap album on my list.
  9. Sep 4, 2011
    0
    Lil Wayne is, by far, the worst rapper of all time. I cannot even fathom how he is so popular and how people find him so appealing. I listened to this garbage-tier album solely on the premise of wanting to hear his other collaborators like Bustah, Andre, and Tech (Arguably three of the best in the industry); and I wasn't disappointed by their performances, but as soon as Wayne's bansheeLil Wayne is, by far, the worst rapper of all time. I cannot even fathom how he is so popular and how people find him so appealing. I listened to this garbage-tier album solely on the premise of wanting to hear his other collaborators like Bustah, Andre, and Tech (Arguably three of the best in the industry); and I wasn't disappointed by their performances, but as soon as Wayne's banshee like voice started to screech out in the track, I was immediately overtaken by the sensation of wanting to gouge my eyes with a pen knife just so my mind would be distracted from what I was hearing... it was honestly that bad. Long story short, garbage rapper makes garbage album. If you really want to get your rap fix, pick up some Bustah Rhymes or Tech N9ne, or Mos Def, or somebody that's not Lil Wayne. You'll thank me later... Expand
  10. Oct 24, 2011
    3
    There's nothing of value here. He's not skilled, hard-core, interesting or original. Lil Wayne is an oil spill in the already polluted ocean of today's music that should have been cleaned up much quicker.
  11. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    Here's the thing. The guest artists (excluding Shyne) do a phenomenal job on the album. The beats are great too. Although some of them aren't made by A-list producers (ex. Megaman?), almost all of them sound great. The biggest problem in this album is Lil Wayne himself. Back in 2007-2008, Lil Wayne was known for being one of the most dextrous rappers that hip-hop had to offer. Listen toHere's the thing. The guest artists (excluding Shyne) do a phenomenal job on the album. The beats are great too. Although some of them aren't made by A-list producers (ex. Megaman?), almost all of them sound great. The biggest problem in this album is Lil Wayne himself. Back in 2007-2008, Lil Wayne was known for being one of the most dextrous rappers that hip-hop had to offer. Listen to Dedication 2 or Da Drought 3. Those mixtapes contain brilliant, thought-provoking, clever raps by Wayne. But here, in Tha Carter IV, his verses and punchlines are slow, regressed, and most of all, predictable. His verses are, in summation, BORING. I never thought I would use that word to describe an artist as eccentric and off-the-wall as Wayne. I would not recommend spending the money to buy this album. I really expected more from Weezy... Expand
  12. Sep 5, 2011
    0
    i use to love lil wayne, untill i heard this peice of poo of an album... what is this? its just hurting my ears. i just wanna call lil wayne and say SHUT UP YOU RAP TOO MUCH BULLSHEE IN THIS ALBUM. also carter 3 was 20times better thanks.
  13. Sep 6, 2011
    0
    where an album like illmatic, blueprint, and mbdtf is made for the people and have goals of advancing rap, the carter 4 is made for the sheep of society with the lone goal of seliing records.
  14. Sep 8, 2011
    4
    Whoever says this album has good production is blind. All the beats on this album are very generic and some even sound like past Lil wayne songs (Megaman = right above it?) The Weezy Rhyme scheme is nothing special here. theres some pretty wack lines. The best songs are President Carter, Nightmares of the Bottom, and She Will.
  15. Sep 11, 2011
    5
    Someone needs to take me back to a time when Lil Wayne was enjoyable. If he is planning to retire, he's sold enough but his legacy isn't as good as it should be. The features outshine Wayne, doesn't sound like Wayne at his level best.
  16. Oct 6, 2011
    0
    Lil Wayne has got be one of the worst rappers of all time, and this album proves it. Please do not buy this abomination, you will regret it. This is not Hip Hop, it's pop. And Wayne's singing is absolutely awful. I don't know how anybody could like this. The critic's that gave this album a good score must have been paid. Don't buy this.
  17. Jul 7, 2012
    2
    all the attention is put on the singles and that is not something bad but when you hear the other tracks you realise that his lyrics are the worst of any of previous wayne records.
    one of the biggest problem for me is the auto-tune in the album. and that although there are good guests like andre-3000 the rest suck like drake and nicki minaj (especially t-pain)
  18. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    It seems like Lil Wayne is just trying too hard. He seems to be rushing the songs and the album so that he can finally release it. Most of the songs (about 90% of them) off the album sound the same and have no potential of actually being a hit. For his next album, he should really work hard and try to take some time while making it.
  19. Aug 31, 2011
    1
    A terrible album. Wayne's flow is very sluggish and lazy, the beats are too simple and generic, and the wordplay is childish. The only thing keeping me from rating this a 0 is Tech N9ne and Andre 3000 killing the interlude and the possibility that this could be his last album.
  20. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    From time to time I would listen to the latest Hip Hop albums and Dwayne Carter (Little Wayne) has satisfied my needs in terms of his earlier work with gritty and plain ole' egoistic melodies and lyrics; I'm referring to Tha Carter I, II, and III. Tha Carter IV is a complete mess with vocals that isn't fitted for Hip Hop by any means and the content is beyond degrading and completelyFrom time to time I would listen to the latest Hip Hop albums and Dwayne Carter (Little Wayne) has satisfied my needs in terms of his earlier work with gritty and plain ole' egoistic melodies and lyrics; I'm referring to Tha Carter I, II, and III. Tha Carter IV is a complete mess with vocals that isn't fitted for Hip Hop by any means and the content is beyond degrading and completely moronic. I've given this album a chance, I really did but Little Wayne is going downhill after this, don't buy this album if you're looking for anything remotely like Tha Carter II or III or something innovative and creative. The vulgarity and profanity within in the content alone is just plain ole' unnecessary which will turn mature audiences off. Expand
  21. Aug 31, 2011
    1
    After spending time in jail, some do better, some do worse. Unfortunately in order to balance out MVicks success out of jail the universe has chosen Wayne aka "The greatest rapper alive" to be on the worse side. With few high points in the album, its hard to see why so many people defend him. Many rap fans and wayne fans were put off by "How to love",(The worst song by anyone in a longAfter spending time in jail, some do better, some do worse. Unfortunately in order to balance out MVicks success out of jail the universe has chosen Wayne aka "The greatest rapper alive" to be on the worse side. With few high points in the album, its hard to see why so many people defend him. Many rap fans and wayne fans were put off by "How to love",(The worst song by anyone in a long time) but gave him a chance to make up with some hopefully hard tracks to bob your head to. Well unfortunately my head bobbed about 4 times, one of those is to "Outro" which doesn't even have Wayne on the track. The issues i have with this cd is the way it feels when you play it. It seems like your listening to the exact same song for 9 hours; the tracks play slow, the cd has little flow to it. What usually saves Wayne are his lyrics, which is what he's known for. "How you ni**as want it? have it your way, Burger King" The Lyrics are just so lame. Another issue is what the hell is his name? Weezy? Wayne? Birdman Jr? Tunchi? I feel like the arrogance of Wanye has caught up to him, as he feels his name alone will sell albums, and sadly it will. But Tha Carter III was a good album, better overall flow, more good than bad songs, but on this album, its just not there. Everyone defending him because they are "real fans" can stop, he has money(as he mentions in every song) so he doesn't need everyone to defend a bad album. And please stop saying he's trying something new, because he did that already with his "rock" album. Do what made you millions. Talented yes, Tha Carter IV good? no. this album has very little replay value, and for just 4 maybe 5 decent tracks, ill save my old money Expand
  22. Sep 3, 2011
    0
    Well I'm a Little Weyne fan but i must say, this is pretty **** awful. Where oh where has my Little Weyne gone, where oh where can he be. Is he under my bed? Is he inside my closet? Is he in mothers room? My search for Little Wheeziyena has not been successful in the least sense. You can call it, unsuccessful. Yes yes, very bad indeed. But i shall end this with a goodbye, and perhaps aWell I'm a Little Weyne fan but i must say, this is pretty **** awful. Where oh where has my Little Weyne gone, where oh where can he be. Is he under my bed? Is he inside my closet? Is he in mothers room? My search for Little Wheeziyena has not been successful in the least sense. You can call it, unsuccessful. Yes yes, very bad indeed. But i shall end this with a goodbye, and perhaps a future hello. Hello, Goodbye. My name is Karim, who are you? Little Weyne? Wheezi? Exactly who art thou? Pleasure to meet you Dweyne Expand
  23. Aug 29, 2011
    2
    It's a shame that Lil' Wayne has to ruin perfectly good albums by rapping on them. He's clearly got the popularity and influence to pull a pretty inspiring array of collaborators. About half of these beats sound phenomenal until Wayne drops his vocals and the whole thing goes to hell; there are even terrific verses by Tech N9ne, Andre 3000, Nas, and Busta strewn around. Maybe they cameIt's a shame that Lil' Wayne has to ruin perfectly good albums by rapping on them. He's clearly got the popularity and influence to pull a pretty inspiring array of collaborators. About half of these beats sound phenomenal until Wayne drops his vocals and the whole thing goes to hell; there are even terrific verses by Tech N9ne, Andre 3000, Nas, and Busta strewn around. Maybe they came hard with it to mask Lil' Wayne's lack of ability on the mic, but they failed-- they just make him sound even worse by comparison, since it's difficult for a Lil' Wayne verse to stack up against a real emcee. And Weezy sounds worse than usual here, just pooling a ridiculous array of nonsequiters and punchlines rasped out in a processed-sounding croak. Weezy has the singing voice of Emperor Palpatine, but "How To Love" is better than most things on this album-- at least it's the one song here where he doesn't try to convince people that he's rapping. Apparently, when it comes to hip-hop, there's only one Carter worth talking about - and I can only hope he jacks that heavenly "Nightmares From the Bottom" beat and puts a real song over it.

    When the best thing one can say about your album is "hey, at least it's not Rebirth," it's probably time to hang it up.
    Expand
  24. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    I give this album a 4, but then switch it to a 0 because he calls himself the best rapper alive but dropped one of the weakest rap albums of this year. Every song sounds like a filler, and the punchlines sound like a grade 2 made them.
  25. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    this is pure trash, some of the weakest raps ive ever heard. do not buy this is a pure waste of money.. he should of just stayed in jail so we wouldnt have to him in his leopard pants.
  26. Sep 1, 2011
    2
    I''m a huge fan of Weezy and I couldn't wait for this album.

    The mixtapes are better than this, even in production value. I'm really, really, really disappointed with Lil Wayne on this one. I always said that if Weezy keeps putting out good mixtapes, I'd keep buying the albums. After this AND rebirth...I'll probably illegally download the next one and then decide if I want to buy it.
  27. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    Lil wayne lost a fan with this album, his performance last night at the vmas was disgraceful .. i dont think i will ever buy another lil wayne album ever.
  28. Aug 31, 2011
    2
    Just plain terrible. To be fair, I've never been a big Wayne fan, but these are the most uninventive lyrics I've heard from him yet, and the beats (which were fantastic on Tha Carter III) are TERRIBLE. The only redeeming qualities are that 6'7" is an awesome club song, and a few guests are worth listening to, like Jadakiss, t3ch 9ine, Nas, and Andre.
  29. Sep 3, 2011
    0
    its time for Lil Wayne to retire from rap. Dude's unstable mental state due to heavy drug use is stopping him from delivering a decent/solid effort. The Carter 3 made me a Lil Wayne fan but everything since then has been in the range from disappointing to straight trash. To date, this is the worst Lil Wayne album. Most of us that true rap fans can see straight through this weak attemptits time for Lil Wayne to retire from rap. Dude's unstable mental state due to heavy drug use is stopping him from delivering a decent/solid effort. The Carter 3 made me a Lil Wayne fan but everything since then has been in the range from disappointing to straight trash. To date, this is the worst Lil Wayne album. Most of us that true rap fans can see straight through this weak attempt that still tries to establish Weezy as the best rapper alive. With the corniest punchlines I've ever heard this year all being rolled up into one album Weezy is definitely feeling himself way too much. Also the song with Drake and Jada is laughable. Going at Jigga is probably the worst career move he can do at this time. That man was a selling factor for he both Drake and Weezy on their best albums to date. Morons!!!

    I try to see some good to this album but it doesn't stem from Weezy at all. The Interlude with Tech N9ne and Andre 3000 as well as the second one with Bun B, Busta, Nas & Shyne are the two best tracks on the entire album. "C'mon sahn", was these two even meant to be on the album? They don't fit at all and makes Weezy look dumb on his own **** I think "She Will" and "Nightmares from the Bottom" may give him some radio play but with the album having 19 cuts with the deluxe version I can only recommend four tracks giving worth a listen. I know some will say he can do better but honestly i don't think he can. Wrap it up son, take care of your kids and pass the mic to someone that's hungry and wants to make dope music, As far being the best alive, Jay-Z has that tied down, if you're still rapping at that age and make a solid album like Watch The Throne then maybe I might actually buy another one of Lil Wayne's albums.
    Expand
  30. Sep 4, 2011
    2
    Well this was pointless, Lil Wayne should've made this a mixtape instead of getting rich off of this **** The production is boring and cliched, the concept is nothing new, and the lyrics are just a mix of metaphors and similes anyone can think of. How to Love was surprisingly the best one. I think it's selfish dissing Beyonce and Jay-Z over money. Get real Lil Wayne, I don't care if youWell this was pointless, Lil Wayne should've made this a mixtape instead of getting rich off of this **** The production is boring and cliched, the concept is nothing new, and the lyrics are just a mix of metaphors and similes anyone can think of. How to Love was surprisingly the best one. I think it's selfish dissing Beyonce and Jay-Z over money. Get real Lil Wayne, I don't care if you are hard-working, it seems you haven't worked hard enough. Expand
  31. Feb 17, 2012
    7
    Lil Wayne is squeezing as much as he can off of Tha Carter series of albums. This album however does not match the quality of the previous three albums in the series. The signature Lil Wayne is still here and the best track on the album is easily 6 Foot 7 Foot. There aren't many other tracks on the album that match the ferocity and near perfect lyrical delivery. The punchlines, theLil Wayne is squeezing as much as he can off of Tha Carter series of albums. This album however does not match the quality of the previous three albums in the series. The signature Lil Wayne is still here and the best track on the album is easily 6 Foot 7 Foot. There aren't many other tracks on the album that match the ferocity and near perfect lyrical delivery. The punchlines, the figurative language and effortless flow is still here. Yet there is a finesse missing and a lot of the tracks feel more like fillers. Definitely a solid hip-hop album, but nowhere near Lil Wayne's best work. Expand
  32. Feb 22, 2012
    0
    F*** Lil Wayne. He was already the most overrated rapper in the history of rap, but this album made me want to throw up. The album is just flat out lazy. At least during his mixtape run several years back he was working his ass off. It's pretty pathetic that for he turned in this crap after all the hype for the Carter IV. There isn't one... repeat NOT ONE.... good song on this f***ingF*** Lil Wayne. He was already the most overrated rapper in the history of rap, but this album made me want to throw up. The album is just flat out lazy. At least during his mixtape run several years back he was working his ass off. It's pretty pathetic that for he turned in this crap after all the hype for the Carter IV. There isn't one... repeat NOT ONE.... good song on this f***ing album. His beats are generic, but his lyrics are even worse. His metaphors and wordplay are as elementary as they come. This album is just as often R&B as it is rap, and both aspects are s***. For a guy to call himself the best rapper alive, he better just stick to rap. Nobody wants to hear his crooning bulls***, but I guess that's what happens when you allow artists such as Drake and T-Pain on your album. The best song on this album is the track with Andre 3000 and Tech Nine, and it's funny because Lil Wayne isn't even on that song. I've realized that all of Waynes music is geared towards one age demographic. 12-18. If you're older than that and you like this album than you have no dignity. I will never listen to another Wayne song again, and I almost feel ashamed that I ever liked him to begin with. To hell with this corny fake a$$ poser. Go read the review from the Big Ghost Chronicles. If you hate this album as much as I do, you'll be grinning from ear to ear just reading it. Expand
  33. Aug 29, 2011
    1
    You have to be mentally unstable to listen to this album. First of all, lil wayne sings too much, when he shouldn't at all. His voice is so unbearable I'd rather watch spiderman 3 on replay. His flow has become so bad, I think Nicholas Cage can act better then that. I only give it a one because the outro and the interlude are good. YOU KNOW WHY? BECUASE LIL WAYNE ISNT IN THEM AT ALL.
  34. Aug 30, 2011
    0
    Its crap that is gonna sell regardless. He used to be soo good at rapping. bummer. He just spit lazy lines with no energy. the best song was by Tech 9ne and Andre 3000. the only reason he put Shyne on the album was so he would at least out-shine one person on his album.
  35. Aug 30, 2011
    0
    AS a french who understand a bit english this album is full of Weak punchline overused rhymes the album even with an intro interlude and outro doesn't got any "cohérence" but we can expect a great success worldwide because they"re is so many people who doesn't speak and understand English but lil Wayne slowly getting old sorry for my french
  36. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    When Lil Wayne came out with Rebirth, everyone thought that was the worst he could get. He then said that was just an album he was making in the midst of Tha Carter IV. I can tell people were disappointed, but Tha Carter IV is a pretty good album, just not what you had expected.
  37. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    Really disappointed by this album. I thought Tha Carter series was supposed to be his flagship, tentpole, "if-you-listen-to-nothing-else-I-do-listen-to-these" albums. If I wanted boring, formulaic beats, nondescript rhymes, and no energy...I would've bought or listened to one of his 10,000 mixtapes. But that's what this is. I've listened to this album three times now, and I can'tReally disappointed by this album. I thought Tha Carter series was supposed to be his flagship, tentpole, "if-you-listen-to-nothing-else-I-do-listen-to-these" albums. If I wanted boring, formulaic beats, nondescript rhymes, and no energy...I would've bought or listened to one of his 10,000 mixtapes. But that's what this is. I've listened to this album three times now, and I can't remember any of the tracks on it other than 6 Foot 7 Foot and John--the singles before the album came out. The rest is just...tired and formulaic. And that's something I never expected to say about Weezy. Expand
  38. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    When you thought he couldn't get any worse, he does. Lil Wayne is just a disgrace to hip-hop now. The saddest thing is that this terrible album will sell millions and he'll make another one. "If I die today, remember me like John Lennon". I can't listen to this without laughing. The worse thing is that line is from one of the least horrible songs on the album.
  39. Aug 31, 2011
    0
    i use to love lil wayne, untill i heard this peice of poo of an album... what is this? its just hurting my ears. i just wanna call lil wayne and say SHUT UP YOU RAP TOO MUCH BULLSHEE IN THIS ALBUM. also carter 3 was 20times better thanks.
  40. Sep 4, 2011
    8
    Some of y'all are on here just hating. Me I am not much if a fan, but the production alone on this album makes it atleast a 7. Lil' Wayne will always rap the same but with good production here it makes for his best album since The Carter 3.
  41. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    Lil Wayne did a horrible job on Tha Carter 4...it does not even closely match the level of Tha Carter 3 in quality. You would think after a year in jail he would have something else to talk about or have hundreds of great raps to spit...but no. His lyrics are nothing new, his flow is average, the beats are forgettable and generic and overall it is a bad experience
  42. Aug 30, 2011
    2
    I would've said that Lil Wayne, Dwayne Carter, the skateboarding rock/rap star has fallen off. Sadly, he wasn't on to begin with. And this album didn't put him on at all.
  43. Aug 30, 2011
    0
    This was terrible and a waste of time to listen to there was so much hype and it was not successfully fulfilled but hey I didnt expect much from a guy who fakes guitar playing and has completely sold himself out to the fame so sad when people like Wayne think they are bringing back the rap game but instead they are single handidly destroying it. Carter IV sucks and there is no arguingThis was terrible and a waste of time to listen to there was so much hype and it was not successfully fulfilled but hey I didnt expect much from a guy who fakes guitar playing and has completely sold himself out to the fame so sad when people like Wayne think they are bringing back the rap game but instead they are single handidly destroying it. Carter IV sucks and there is no arguing that. YMCMB=trash Expand
  44. Sep 1, 2011
    0
    Listening to this is like watching 2 guys (yes, guys :vom:) in 1 cup while you're sipping on a estrogen and sitting in a kiddie pol. **** is garabge listen to it and youre scarred for life
  45. Aug 31, 2011
    0
    Lil Wayne took a major dip quality wise from his past work. If you compare both Carter 2 and Carter 4 you can see how much he's fallen off. The beats are something like what one would hear on I Am Not A Human Being but the punchlines and lyrical ability from the artist is where i lost interest in the project. It's sad to say the best tracks on the record are the one the creator of theLil Wayne took a major dip quality wise from his past work. If you compare both Carter 2 and Carter 4 you can see how much he's fallen off. The beats are something like what one would hear on I Am Not A Human Being but the punchlines and lyrical ability from the artist is where i lost interest in the project. It's sad to say the best tracks on the record are the one the creator of the album isn't even on. Have fun watching the throne Mr. Tunechi, you need to get schooled on hip-hop again. Expand
  46. Sep 3, 2011
    1
    This album isn't dope nor is it very fresh -- in both senses of the word. Seems like I've heard this before, oh yes I have, on the radio. Just a bunch of shallow songs that just beg for airplay, that's it. Wayne uses his mixtapes to get his creativity out, and he uses his albums to remain the cash cow that he is. Simple as that.
  47. Sep 9, 2011
    0
    Lil Wayne is one of the worst rappers ever, he proves it here once again. Don't know where his popularity comes from but it's certainly not his talent.
  48. Oct 2, 2011
    1
    There's plenty of great rapping on Tha Carter IV, but it isn't coming from Lil Wayne. Lil Wayne has deteriorated as a rapper and because he has consistently focused on mainstream-pop songs, his rapping skills have too. Shame to the game.
  49. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    It's a shame. This thing could have been FANTASTIC after him coming out of jail. However, only about 3 or 4 tracks are great, and the rest just leave you scratching your head. Wasn't terrible, but wasn't anywhere near great. A lackluster performance is all I saw. I'm not a huge Lil Wayne fan but he does put out good stuff, so this was rather disappointing.
  50. Feb 4, 2012
    3
    Lil wayne has put so much effort in his albums that it becomes a trashy album. Ever Since Tha Carter III lil wayne went down hill. I dont like lil wayne but Tha Carter II is one of my favorite albums of all time. If lil wayne can go back to those days I'll start comparing him to artists lil Eminem, Nas, Jay-Z, Kanye & Canibus
  51. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    I remember the days when rap was about stuff that actually made sense, such as Tupac's "Changes." I expected Lil Wayne to be better than this. He reuses beats a LOT and has pretty much no originality in this album. This is not worth your money. Do not get it, unless you like whiny voices trying to relate to the "hood."
  52. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    Tha Carter III was good, but weezy has slowed his flow down and has no originality, also the beats are annoying. Nas drops a hot verse and so does tech n9ne but get their albums instead of this its really not very interesting and no tracks standout as easy on the ears or interesting
  53. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    waynes a beast its a classic every song is great. ppl who dont like is probably unhappy with rap now. waynes the truth.

    intro 10/10
    blunt blowin 10/10
    6 foot 7 foot 12/10
  54. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    I think to enjoy Lil Wayne's albums, you have to realize that most of his songs does not convey a centralized theme - meaning most of lyrical verses make no sense. Once you are in the mindset, listening to Lil Wayne becomes entertaining as he expresses simple subjects in clever lyrical verses. Does Carter IV match up to his older albums (Carter III as everyone so much wants to compareI think to enjoy Lil Wayne's albums, you have to realize that most of his songs does not convey a centralized theme - meaning most of lyrical verses make no sense. Once you are in the mindset, listening to Lil Wayne becomes entertaining as he expresses simple subjects in clever lyrical verses. Does Carter IV match up to his older albums (Carter III as everyone so much wants to compare with) - yes and no. Why Carter IV matches with his other albums: 1) Older albums contained more lyrical bombs wheras Carter IV extends that to beats, cross in genres and collaboration in artists; more dimensions to this album 2) Carter IV shows that Lil Wayne has more creativity not limited to rap. Yes, the autotune is played out, his singing is not John Legend caliber but its the willingness to experiment and have that nothing to lose attitude that impresses me. e.g "How to Love". 3) The collabs. Boy, did I get excited when I heard Nas on the Outro track, and I had just gotten the jitters having just listened to John Legend. This album blew my mind in the number of artists each putting their stamp here and there. I love an album that not only the artist himself/herself but also how he/she can merge with other artists in the industry. What I didn't like about Carter IV: 1) I want more speaker blasting tracks! Megaman was spot on. Two Shots got my speakers blast full blown but other then It's Good and maybe one other, I don't see the same blast-ability for this album compared to others. 2) Although the beats from this album was overall was good, some of them was missing the point, e.g Abortion, John (sorry, I never liked Rick Ross) and the ufo-type Tay Dizm beat really annoys me.
    So sum it up, you really have to be a fan of Lil Wayne, rap and beats to enjoy this album or any other works from Lil Wayne. He has a distinct voice and rhyme that caters to the very specific audience - not everyone enjoys/accepts that. Would I rank this album as the best of all Lil Wayne's works? No, but then again, no album is perfect.
    Expand
  55. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    his voice sucks and he shouldn't be in the music industry. i wish that he just quit. why is he allowed to make music? it is not good at all. how can anyone like it? ufr6sa35as5etrtdfygu its depressing how many fans he has.
  56. Sep 4, 2011
    2
    This album has some very good production. I really like the production on songs like 6 foot 7 foot, It's Good, She Will, Megaman, Nightmares of the Bottom and the chilling President Carter.
    These beats are really nice and I can listen in pleasure. Nothing Kanye West or The Neptune's level but still excellent nonetheless. Where this album falls apart is the lyrical
    This album has some very good production. I really like the production on songs like 6 foot 7 foot, It's Good, She Will, Megaman, Nightmares of the Bottom and the chilling President Carter.
    These beats are really nice and I can listen in pleasure. Nothing Kanye West or The Neptune's level but still excellent nonetheless. Where this album falls apart is the lyrical aspect. Other than President Carter and maybe 2 or 3 other verses here and there this is a criminal perpetration both against the lyrical aspect of hip-hop and the English language itself.
    Punch-line after punch-line after punch-line after more and more punch-lines. This would be slightly forgivable if 2 things were to occur.
    A. The jokes were actually funny.
    B.They said anything even close to substantial in regards to society, politics, or even anything other than gangster culture and braggadocio.
    IN FACT, as sad as this may be, the best songs on the album lyrically DON'T EVEN FEATURE LITTLE WAYNE But they feature verses from greats like Nas, Andre 3000, Tech N9ne, and a great verse from Cory Gunz. Not only is that sad but when Nas mentions great lyricists ON LIL WAYNE'S ALBUM he doesn't even mention Lil Wayne but mentions Kanye West and Eminem as "lyrical tyrants".
    Wayne's flow is very boring and his voice is incredibly annoying at times. Experimenting with autotune ended when Kanye West did 808's and heartbreak and made autotune amazing (though literally nobody else repeated the success) and then killing it. Lil Wayne obviously didn't get the memo.
    This album has so many abysmal jokes and punchlines it's like a Yakof Smirnoff comedy show with some good musical interludes in-between breaks(The production on some songs).
    Here are some brilliant quips from both the self proclaimed AND consumer proclaimed "greatest rapper alive".

    "Bitch I'm straight, but my girl is a faggot."
    "All hail Weezy, call it bad weather."
    "All my bitches nasty like a cold dinner."
    "Don't **** up with Wayne/ 'Cause when it Waynes it pours."
    "Nothing standing in my way, like nothing's my security"
    "We jack son then light up that 'L'/ Samuel." "Boy I send them bloods at your ass,like a tampon"
    "Go bald, Steve Harvey."

    And of course this gem of lyrical dexterity-
    "I woke up this morning, dick rock hard, and I ashed my blunt in my Grammy award." from the song "Abortion" P.S this song has nothing to do with the emotional, social or political effects of abortions let alone abortions themselves.
    I never liked Lil Wayne before I admit, but I didn't constantly bash his awfulness. After being subjected to this I have to ask why people ever respected or listened to him in the first place and why wasn't I bashing him.
    Expand
  57. Aug 31, 2011
    7
    This might not be Wayne's best album, but it's pretty damn good. The reason everyone is being so hard on him is we've held him up to the outstanding standards he has created for himself. I'm still waiting to really get into this album, but Blunt Blowin, Megaman and President Carter are really fun tunes that find Weezy close to where he once was.
  58. JRG
    Aug 29, 2011
    2
    Lil Wayne gets away with too much. His latest work has been absolutely horrendous and his fans gobble it up, the critics go easy on him, and his team of yes men gives him the okay on nearly any travesty you could imagine.

    This album has close to zero replay value. The only tracks I have revisited have been She Will and Mirror because Drake and Bruno kill the hooks, and the Outro because
    Lil Wayne gets away with too much. His latest work has been absolutely horrendous and his fans gobble it up, the critics go easy on him, and his team of yes men gives him the okay on nearly any travesty you could imagine.

    This album has close to zero replay value. The only tracks I have revisited have been She Will and Mirror because Drake and Bruno kill the hooks, and the Outro because of the guests. Nas is the highlight of the album, bringing the best verse on a track where Wayne is nowhere to be found.

    Throughout, Wayne has TERRIBLE lines galore. Some that make you facepalm, some that make zero sense, and an abundance of lines that make you shake your head. Wayne's flow is stale and repetetive, and he never truly goes in on a verse. In fact, nearly every verse is ruined by one of his many ADHD punchlines. They rendered me unable to take Wayne seriously, and made me wonder how Wayne could have seriously thought people could like them.

    The only redeeming factors are the Interlude, Outro and a few of the beats, and Wayne didn't take part in any of these either.

    This album gets one point for the beats, and one for the guest verses. Wayne himself gets a 0 for effort.

    Sadly, millions are inevitably going into the pocket of one of the laziest and most useless men on the planet.
    Expand
  59. Aug 29, 2011
    1
    Let Me start by saying this, The album had potential. Some of these beats are phenomenal like "John" (A.K.A. The song he stole from Rick Ross, look up "I'm not a Star" By Rick Ross, it sounds exactly the same), and "She Will". The guests are great as well as Drake, Rick Ross, Nas, and Tech N9ne lay down some sick rhymes in this album. Overall its just a fantastic album... BUT This littleLet Me start by saying this, The album had potential. Some of these beats are phenomenal like "John" (A.K.A. The song he stole from Rick Ross, look up "I'm not a Star" By Rick Ross, it sounds exactly the same), and "She Will". The guests are great as well as Drake, Rick Ross, Nas, and Tech N9ne lay down some sick rhymes in this album. Overall its just a fantastic album... BUT This little guy who goes by the rapper name "Lol Wayne"... *Ahem* excuse Me "LIL Wayne" decides its a good idea to take a giant dump on all of these songs and then release it under his name. In all seriousness, Lil Wayne has the most annoying, disgusting, nasty voice in all of music. This is a pathetic excuse for rap, Why does he have such a big fan base? His voice is vomit inducing. You have to be deaf to like the piece of bull crap. Expand
  60. Aug 29, 2011
    1
    I've never been a huge fan of Lil Wayne but some of his past projects have been solid. But its sad when the best thing about your album is a Nas verse. Or that the second best thing is the 3stacks verse, or that the five best verses on your album don't include any of your own. Especially when some dude (Shyne) who sounds like an elderly man without dentures who's been smoking all his life,I've never been a huge fan of Lil Wayne but some of his past projects have been solid. But its sad when the best thing about your album is a Nas verse. Or that the second best thing is the 3stacks verse, or that the five best verses on your album don't include any of your own. Especially when some dude (Shyne) who sounds like an elderly man without dentures who's been smoking all his life, at the age of 31 sounds better than you. And you can accept lines like "Faded, f-ckin faded, aww yeah im f-ckin faded" from someone on your label, and still be barely over par from them.

    Lil Wayne has had a fairly okay run, music wise and has a good fan base and lots of recognition and respect. He should hang it up before he ruins all of that.
    Expand
  61. Aug 30, 2011
    3
    Doesn't need to be a hip hop stan or lil wayne haters to know that this album is the lowest common denominator in hip hop: corny punchlines, far from cohesive beat selections/empty-head-banger & corny punchlines. Too bad, as Lil Wayne used to be one of the standard-bearing of mainstream hip hop.
  62. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    This is probably the worst Lil Wayne album he has ever made, how can you call this a hip hop album? This album is so bad, production is cheap and sad. I'm not hating, I was truly a Lil Wayne fan, but from my bottom of my heart, this is the worst album of this year. I'll give 1 point just because Tech N9ne, Bun B and Nas are featured in this album.
  63. Aug 30, 2011
    0
    This album is one big uterus! I see why there is a track called â
  64. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    The punchlines were bad, the beats were bad, the features were alright, and the lyrical ability of wayne was weak. By far the worst Carter album out of the 4. I was expecting better but he failed to deliver.
  65. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Dont care what any one says but Lil Wayne cannot rap anymore, the album has bad production, the songs sound weird. It's an album that proves lil wayne should just retire. HE CAN't RAP.

    Yh he can get some big names to rap with him, but that doesn't matter when lil wayne ruins every song with his vocals and slow and uninspiring rapping. Most disappointing rap album of the year.
  66. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    What can you say about Tha Carter IV....With the heavy anticipation, promotion by updates on the album by magazines and radio stations such as Hot 97 and 105.1, after hearing the album, you will say to yourself...was it worth the wait. Your answer is, not really! All the work and delays i can say affected the quality of the fourth installment in tha carter series. Yeah you have those hitsWhat can you say about Tha Carter IV....With the heavy anticipation, promotion by updates on the album by magazines and radio stations such as Hot 97 and 105.1, after hearing the album, you will say to yourself...was it worth the wait. Your answer is, not really! All the work and delays i can say affected the quality of the fourth installment in tha carter series. Yeah you have those hits the ballad, "How To Love" "6 Foot 7 Foot" and "John", but what about the other songs. I can say the only moderate hit on the album was that dis song towards Jay Z. titled "It's Good"...Fans say if weezy goes back to the weed and syrup like when he recorded the other carters, his verses will be better. But honestly, weezy needs to sit down and write lyrics down and have a meaning or bottom line to his songs, because he sometimes rattles off rap lyrics like 6 foot 7 foot, i didn't really get the song to be honest. I feel fans were very disappointed in the way the album came out with all the hype and etc. Expand
  67. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Why all tha hate?
    Overall I say It's a pretty damn good record, better than that "Rebirth" abomination. It started really strong (Intro, Blunt Blowin, Megaman, 6F/7F, Interlude), and those track are proving that Wayne still has it lyrically. The really show was the other tracks incorporating other artists (Outro, It's Good, Mirror), and those tracks worth the price tag alone. The rest of
    Why all tha hate?
    Overall I say It's a pretty damn good record, better than that "Rebirth" abomination. It started really strong (Intro, Blunt Blowin, Megaman, 6F/7F, Interlude), and those track are proving that Wayne still has it lyrically. The really show was the other tracks incorporating other artists (Outro, It's Good, Mirror), and those tracks worth the price tag alone. The rest of the songs (How to Hate/Love, John) were good as a fillers. Overall It's a love or hate album after all, some lines felt reused after 9 albums from Wayne, but definetly worth a purchase if you're a fan.
    Expand
  68. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Find it to be more accessible than anything he has done before. Not crazy about the three love songs but I am crazy about the other 12 cuts. Every album he has put out has had throw way songs, In my opinion this has less of those than any other 'tha carter' album.
  69. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    Wayne does it again with his entertaining and word play and wit, reminding us how intelligent and unforgiving he is when it comes to spitting bars. All his special guests killed it and brought up the album a notch and really saved it from being just an average album (Nas, Tech N9ne, Rick Ross to name a few). Critics who say that Wayne is missing on those tracks with those rappers don'tWayne does it again with his entertaining and word play and wit, reminding us how intelligent and unforgiving he is when it comes to spitting bars. All his special guests killed it and brought up the album a notch and really saved it from being just an average album (Nas, Tech N9ne, Rick Ross to name a few). Critics who say that Wayne is missing on those tracks with those rappers don't understand that it is one beat that is being spread out into intro, outro, etc. It was part of the album composition. It is also unfortunate that bonus tracks like "Novacane" and "Up up n away" are not on the album and not being involved in the whole critique because in my opinion those two bring up Carter IV a level. The production on the beats are top knotch, and Wayne has shown that he is still hungry and passionate about the game and making his mark in the world. I will admit however, that the composition of the album as a whole is all over the place. At times it seems like a classic Carter album, and at others like a hip hop radio album. You can tell he is trying to reach out to all his fan base, which is without a doubt the most diverse in rap/hip hop. In my opinion compared to his previous Carter albums this stands under the Carter III and possibly to others under the first two as well. But on its own this album is definitely not a dissapointment but not on another plateau either. People who love Wayne like me will enjoy this album forever and it's a step forward, just not a leap like we all thought. Expand
  70. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    When it comes to Weezy, you expect nothing but bizarre. Tha Carter IV is for the most part, a retread of what Wayne's done. To tell the truth, Carter IV sounds more like a mixtape rather than an album. There isn't much in the album to call bizarre or weird. Wayne sounds lyrically on top even though he does happen to use that damn staccato flow way too often (not to mention, the numerousWhen it comes to Weezy, you expect nothing but bizarre. Tha Carter IV is for the most part, a retread of what Wayne's done. To tell the truth, Carter IV sounds more like a mixtape rather than an album. There isn't much in the album to call bizarre or weird. Wayne sounds lyrically on top even though he does happen to use that damn staccato flow way too often (not to mention, the numerous **** jokes). The production doesn't really help much, as they sound more like the songs any rapper would make. The saving grace is still in the end Wayne himself. The twisted personality he brings to his songs replete with the numerous similes and metaphors. But sometimes you would wish that he would just quit throwing punchlines and actually rap about something. 7.5/10 Expand
  71. Aug 29, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an abridged, track by track review of Lil' Wayne's 'Tha Carter IV'. Intro - This track contains an expected amount of barely innuendo rhymes. It has simple, straightforward lyrics. The beat has a production value of 5 out of 10, anyone with a Mac can pull it off.

    Blunt Blowin - Another easy to follow track, but still is a generally pointless rap song, almost out of character for Wayne. Also the same is the low production quality of the track itself; simple bass lines, nothing special to mention.

    Megaman - Once again, another simply produced track, and lyrics to be expected from Lil' Wayne. He strays away from the higher pitched voice he normally uses, and that isn't necessarily terrible.

    6 Foot 7 Foot feat. Cory Guns - Very little clever wordplay, absolutely terrible production. The featuring of Day-O by Harry Belafonte was bizarre, but the thought was killed by how absolutely unbearably annoying the repetitiveness of the song is. Cory Guns' verse almost revives the song, but it is almost too far beyond repair to fix.

    Nightmares of the Bottom - A song intended to be a slow jam, starting off with the signature lighter flick, vaguely reminiscent of the verses of Mrs. Officer. Still a mediocre track.

    She Will feat. Drake - A song about a girl, not too catchy, really just another song about how he wants to f**k. Drake conforms to this mentality.

    How To Hate feat. T-Pain - This track was actually one of my favorites on the album. In simplest terms, its a F**k You song to a girl. The track feels like its T-Pain's instead of Wayne's and features his brilliant use of autotune. In fact, Lil' Wayne's parts in the song sort of ruin it for me.

    Interlude feat Tech N9ne and Andre 3000 - Possibly the best track on the album, and that may be just because Tech has the Midas Touch. Andre on the other hand is a refreshing addition, and its nice to see that he still has talent.

    John feat Rick Ross - A song with a violent dirty south beat leaves no more than that to be desired.

    Abortion - I couldn't get past the first 20 seconds, it was that annoying.

    So Special feat John Legend - The only good parts are the ones that involve John Legend.

    How to Love - One of only two entirely bearable tracks on the cd, and I feel the only reason for that is because it has more of an R&B feel, and can be played on the radio. Through and through, easy to listen to on repeat.

    President Carter - *Lighter flick* The production quality is better than the lyrics, seems like it may have been an idea when someone was searching for lost Doritos. Hint, hint.

    Its Good feat Jadakiss and Drake - Beat was good, catchy, Jadakiss shines.

    Outro feat Bun B, Nas, Shyne, Busta Rhymes - Nas and Busta killed this track, amazing flow. Very glad that Wayne kept out of it.

    Out of the three bonus tracks, I decided to add in Mirror featuring Bruno Mars. This track should have been on the cd as a regular track, because bonus tracks usually imply they might have been discarded. I actually like this track, the overall feel of it is smooth and easy on the ears.

    All in all, the record blows. I feel it has reached the time that Wayne Carter just needs to throw in the towel and produced tracks for guests to come in on. As a rap record, I give this cd a 6 out of 10. As a Lil' Wayne record, it gets a 3.
    Expand
  72. Sep 1, 2011
    6
    Not a bad album but not a great one. The Carter IV failed to meet its anticipation and is no where near as good as The Carter 3. The best song was "outro" thanks to a stellar Nas verse and "Its good" with Lil Wayne going back to old weezy. Overall I'm disappointed .
  73. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I have been waiting for a long time this album to be released. like all of his music this one is a hit. I think that he maybe one of the best lyricist off all time. I am sure that Kanye West would agree with me.
  74. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    It's been 3 years since Lil Wayne's Grammy-Award winning album Tha Carter III, but since then Wayne's very public problems, most significantly his 8 month jail term, have overshadowed his career and there have been constant delays regarding Tha Carter IV. However, after months of delays Tha Carter IV has finally been released.

    Tha Carter III was a very consistent album which only featured
    It's been 3 years since Lil Wayne's Grammy-Award winning album Tha Carter III, but since then Wayne's very public problems, most significantly his 8 month jail term, have overshadowed his career and there have been constant delays regarding Tha Carter IV. However, after months of delays Tha Carter IV has finally been released.

    Tha Carter III was a very consistent album which only featured a couple of bad songs towards the end of the album. With Tha Carter IV, some songs do feature the style of III, but there are a few songs throughout which, are not awful, but are worse than other songs on the album. The obvious songs that shine on the album are She Will, 6 Foot 7 Foot, So Special and the Outro. These are definitely the best songs on the album and you'll have these on repeat after listening to them. However, songs like How To Hate, Abortion and Nightmare's of the Bottom are the songs which aren't on par with the rest of the album. While it may have it's highlights, it doesn't have the same consistency or natural flow that Tha Carter III had and no serious hit-makers like Lollipop and A Milli from III.

    You can sympathise with Wayne, his highly-publicized troubles have overshadowed his career, and his post-Carter III album Rebirth was dreadful, and to bounce back with another 'blockbuster' album like III would've taken some style. Let's hope if Lil Wayne decides to make one more album, he'll learn from the mistakes of this album and make the album that everyone is waiting for.
    Expand
  75. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    I love this album!!! It's so great. 6 Foot 7 Foot, She Will, John & How To Love. My fav and only Tha Carter album i've heard. Oh yeah Blunt Blowin & How To Hate are good too. Lil Wayne is always great. Who doesn't like him (well people who don't like rap of course). So you should listen to this album clearly.
  76. EJA
    Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Wow, Weezy thinks hes the best rapper there is out there and VH1 gives him a one hour boring back story into his poor life and the guy from the show House puts out a better reviewed album than Lil Wayne. This guy needs to get over himself. He isnt that good
  77. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Easily not Wayne's best work, but still a very solid album. Tha Carter III was a classic album, and sadly this will not be. There are some high points in this album, namely "Blunt Blowin", "6 Foot 7 Foot", "Interlude (Tech N9ne & Andre 3000)", and "John".
  78. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    You people are crazy for not liking this drop of "Tha Carter." Tha Carter IV is what real Weezy fans should expect out of the newly reinvented star. Wayne is so busy doing drops on every other artist's albums, and is on so many "hit" radio songs that people think Weezy is a pop star. He is not a "pop" star; he is a rap/hip hop super star.

    This may not be the "best" rendition of Tha
    You people are crazy for not liking this drop of "Tha Carter." Tha Carter IV is what real Weezy fans should expect out of the newly reinvented star. Wayne is so busy doing drops on every other artist's albums, and is on so many "hit" radio songs that people think Weezy is a pop star. He is not a "pop" star; he is a rap/hip hop super star.

    This may not be the "best" rendition of Tha Carter series, but it is WAY better than what is being showed on here. I would give it an 85/100 if I could, but the way people have butchered this rating system I went with a 9.

    I can understand a Weezy nut to give it a mixed score, because its not as "hardcore as previous drops. As fans we also must understand he may never be able to top Tha Carter III again (Tha Carter III is one of raps top 20 albums definitely and arguably top 10), but we have to look at this album how it is. Two albums removed from Tha Carter III (with rock album "Rebirth" and compilation style album "I am Not a Human Being" in the middle) and a prison sentence are huge reasons Wayne has had a chance to better educate himself and become more lyrical. He does not speak in as many similes in this album, but I am impressed with the new educated Weezy.

    If Wayne can put together his new style with the rawness of his earlier work he just may put out the best album ever released. Everyone knows he has the talent for it!
    Expand
  79. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    Lil Wayne continues to impress. There is only one or two tracks with Lil Wayne singing, so I'm not sure what the other reviewers are complaining about. It's Good is worth the album price alone.
  80. Sep 1, 2011
    6
    definitely not the Wayne we remember from Tha Carter III; there are some great songs on the album like How to Love, 6 Foot 7 Foot, How to Hate, John, President Carter - but for the most part his punchlines seem tired, his flow has become expected & overused, im getting tired of hearing "weezy f baby, and the f is for..." and the best verses on the album don't even come from Wayne, himselfdefinitely not the Wayne we remember from Tha Carter III; there are some great songs on the album like How to Love, 6 Foot 7 Foot, How to Hate, John, President Carter - but for the most part his punchlines seem tired, his flow has become expected & overused, im getting tired of hearing "weezy f baby, and the f is for..." and the best verses on the album don't even come from Wayne, himself - Tech N9ne, Andre 3000, and Nas all showed him up on his own album... Overall, im disappointed by this album and further annoyed by all the hype it's getting. Expand
  81. Sep 4, 2011
    7
    Lil wayne's carter iv is pretty good. in my opinion it is better then Carter 3. It contains more depth and a huge list of guests. Overall my favourite songs are 6 foot 7 foot, Abortion, So Special, Mirror, Outro, She Will,and Its Good
  82. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    I loved this album. I am a huge weezy fan so when this album dropped I couldn't wait to go get it. The production was pretty good, some of his mixtapes were a little better, but this album was still amazing
  83. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This album is getting a very bad rap. If you dont like new school hip hop then dont listen to this. Please do not compare this to Tupac, this is a different generation, the album as a whole is not actually as bad as people are making it out to be. Carter 3 was amazing this is almost as good. 8.4/10
  84. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    WOW this was an extreme disappointment. there r songs on here that completely show what the state of hip hop is like. mindless rapping about **** drugs and running the hood. ive waited for this album since i heard the carter 3 and want to punch lil wayne in the face with a classic hip hop album. its so underwhelming that it makes me regret me waisting any time listening to it. its sadWOW this was an extreme disappointment. there r songs on here that completely show what the state of hip hop is like. mindless rapping about **** drugs and running the hood. ive waited for this album since i heard the carter 3 and want to punch lil wayne in the face with a classic hip hop album. its so underwhelming that it makes me regret me waisting any time listening to it. its sad people defend this album because lil wayne is whats hot right now. this selling close to a million in a week doesnt mean its good it just means close to a million people r stupid as **** Nas tech n9ne busta n andre 3 stacks deliver outstanding versus bu otherwise go check out watch the throne, Cole world, or the r.e.d. album for musical quality. Expand
  85. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    I am really not liking the 0's because of hate for Lil Wayne, and I still don't know why people waste their time talking about how much they hate someone just to blog about it... Anyways Tha Carter IV is not the album Weezy fans have been searching for. Tha Carter III was a fantastic album, and this one doesn't quite live up to the hype. Now, comparing to the Carter III this album is weakI am really not liking the 0's because of hate for Lil Wayne, and I still don't know why people waste their time talking about how much they hate someone just to blog about it... Anyways Tha Carter IV is not the album Weezy fans have been searching for. Tha Carter III was a fantastic album, and this one doesn't quite live up to the hype. Now, comparing to the Carter III this album is weak (no offense Wayne) but when you listen to it as a rap album all on it's own, it's not too bad. I just wish Lil Wayne put more time and effort into this one. I have to admit, this album could've been worse, but it should've been much, much better. Expand
  86. Oct 4, 2011
    7
    Come on guys it wasnt that bad some songs were terrible but others were really good but i agree that he definately didnt put enought time on this album or his lyrics he can do much better

    1 She will
    2 Megaman
    3 Mirror
    4 Its good
    5 Inturlude
  87. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    WEEZY! Let me just say that I'm not a big fan of Lil Wayne, or wasn't until I heard this album. I know people are saying that this album sucks or is no where near as good as Tha Carter 3 but honestly I loved this album. I mean there were a couple of tracks that I didn't care for or couldn't stand like How to Hate & John :P But other songs like President Carter, She Will, Megaman were allWEEZY! Let me just say that I'm not a big fan of Lil Wayne, or wasn't until I heard this album. I know people are saying that this album sucks or is no where near as good as Tha Carter 3 but honestly I loved this album. I mean there were a couple of tracks that I didn't care for or couldn't stand like How to Hate & John :P But other songs like President Carter, She Will, Megaman were all highlights in this album for me. Also, Mirror was an amazing track that I feel really exploited Wayne's lyrical ability. Overall, very sick album! Expand
  88. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wayne Is Like More Intact With His Rapping. His Flow Improved, The Hooks Are Genius, And The Composition Is Excellent. "John" Turns Out To Be The Best Track On The Album, While "It's Good" Is The Second Best On The Album Expand
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Tha Carter IV was an album i was waiting for so many time, and it ended up disappointing me, he just lost his flow and whats up with the excessive punch lines, i'm getting bored of the punch lines, i think Intro/Interlude/Outro is a great part of the album even doe Wayne doesn't rap on the last two (Interlude/Outro), but theres a great play from the guests. The key tracks to the albumTha Carter IV was an album i was waiting for so many time, and it ended up disappointing me, he just lost his flow and whats up with the excessive punch lines, i'm getting bored of the punch lines, i think Intro/Interlude/Outro is a great part of the album even doe Wayne doesn't rap on the last two (Interlude/Outro), but theres a great play from the guests. The key tracks to the album are: President Carter and It's Good. And in It's Good forget about the Jay-Z diss it's Lil Wayne's best verse on the album. And after those songs the other songs don't add up to any ones expectations. Watch The Throne is a way more better album, but yes the Carter IV sold more than that. Expand
  90. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    I truly like a lot of songs on this album. 6 Foot 7 Foot, President Carter, Megaman and John go so unbelievably hard but there are a few awful songs. I feel like i'm being pretty generous with the 6/10 considering how much better Tha Carter, II and III are than this. Oh yea and the Outro is DOPE, nas went the hell in.
  91. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't get why those hatin ass n**as be dissin my Young Mula crew. Me and my billionares took ages to release my s**t because I was in jail and I didn't get to record it with Baby, Drizzy, and all my other homies. People are sayin How To Love was terrible but I personally made that song and I think it's the best **** out of all my girl's on the album. And 6 foot 7 foot, I hired Gunz to be featured. He's part of my gang but he can't f**k s**t and he only got to be on here because he wasn't on my earlier albums. For John, I remember tellin that gay p***y n***a Rick Ross that I wanted Drizzy on but that ho said he'd sue me if I didn't include him because I was using his song's. It probably wouldn't have gone to court anyway unless that white cracka judge was Georgia... Bush. She Will was my second best song on this album and it had Drizzy Drake who tracks are real s**t. He a real YMCMB n***a. To finish this, I have to say, this album is the real b***h and all you hatin ass n***as are f***ing p**sies.

    From,
    Lil Wayne
    Expand
  92. Nov 18, 2012
    3
    Well, what can I say about an artist whom everyone has talked about? Everyone has an opinion on him, so what makes mine different from everyone elses? Well I can say this, there was a gap (from 2004 to 2008 maybe 2009) when I could safely say I liked Lil Wayne. Tha Carter I & II were terrific albums. No they weren't classics, but they were very impressive, his mixtapes were great too andWell, what can I say about an artist whom everyone has talked about? Everyone has an opinion on him, so what makes mine different from everyone elses? Well I can say this, there was a gap (from 2004 to 2008 maybe 2009) when I could safely say I liked Lil Wayne. Tha Carter I & II were terrific albums. No they weren't classics, but they were very impressive, his mixtapes were great too and Lil Wayne was in his prime. I was probably one of the few people who defended Tha Carter III, not because I loved it, but because I thought there were enough good songs to outweigh the bad. Then Rebirth dropped and my opinion of him dropped as well. So yeah I wasn't really excited for this project. But hey, you know what Wayne was out of prison, he sobered up from cough syrup and I even liked 6'7' a lot. I got a little bit excited when I saw Tech N9ne, Andre 3000 and Nas were on the album. So of course I listened. And, big shock, I didn't like it. The production sounds bland compared to his other albums, he sounds tired as hell and every feature (except Shyne and T-Pain of course) sounds better than Lil Wayne here. It's sad when people say the two highlights of your album are the songs YOU are not on. Not only that, but Wayne's lyrics are as goofy as ever. With lines like "Hear no evil, see no evil, #HellenKeller" or "We're in the belly of the beast and she wants an abortion" or "All about my riches, My name should be Richard" or "All I had to do was put two and two together/ But that just makes four, but not 'four-ever'" or especially "Don't **** up with Wayne/ 'Cause when it Waynes it pours." I don't remember Tha Carter III ****ing up this badly. The worst thing is Weezy's singing on songs like How To Love and Abortion. By the way, when I saw the title Abortion, I thought to myself "Wow Lil Wayne is actually going into details about the tough time going through an abortion, for both the male and female. Shedding a new light on the subject". I perhaps gave him too much credit. So yeah this album sucks, what did you expect? Wayne will probably continue down this path until it stops making him money and he'll find something new to do. Whoopty doo. Expand
  93. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Typical Lil' Wayne, Cursing and rhyming N@#$A with N@#^A in almost all of his songs, This is just as bad as Tha Carter III. Yeah, that's right boys, I said it. Tha Carter III is just as bad as this abomination, WAT IS WRONG WITH YOU 61 PEOPLES DAT GAVE DIS A POPULAR REVIEW?!?!?!
  94. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    the best album of the year hands down who's with this legend? there is so much to explain about such a work of art and is is hard to explain. if i had to describe it in one word it would be Classic
  95. Mar 22, 2015
    3
    3/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  96. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This album is terrible. Compared to Tha Carter 3 and 2, this pales in comparision. Every song on here is except for 6 foot,7 foot. Don't buy this album EVER. Your ears will bleed.
  97. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    the best album and the best sound ever but tha carter 4 is a epic fail to hip hop but i give it 10 stars and that i have to say about this album intro 3/5
    blunt blowin 2.9/5
    megaman 3.7/5 6 7 4/5 night of bottom 5/5 she will 5/5 how to hate 1/5 interlude 3/5 john 5/5 abortion 2/5 so special 4/5 how to love 5/5 present carter 4.6/5 it good 3.5/5 outro 5/5 i like the view
    the best album and the best sound ever but tha carter 4 is a epic fail to hip hop but i give it 10 stars and that i have to say about this album intro 3/5
    blunt blowin 2.9/5
    megaman 3.7/5
    6 7 4/5
    night of bottom 5/5
    she will 5/5
    how to hate 1/5
    interlude 3/5
    john 5/5
    abortion 2/5
    so special 4/5
    how to love 5/5
    present carter 4.6/5
    it good 3.5/5
    outro 5/5
    i like the view 1.9/5
    mirror 5/5
    two shots 0.7/5
    final average: 3.7/5
    Expand
  98. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Haters depress me. I think Lil' Wayne is awesome, and at least 1 million people think so too, because most of his albums are platinum albums! Keep going weezy!
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. 40
    In short Tha Carter IV flops not because it's straight-up bad, but because it's boring.
  2. Sep 11, 2011
    50
    We know he's capable of better. Whether it ever comes together on a Carter release is anybody's guess, but the prognosis isn't good.
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    78
    Beat-wise, IV doesn't attempt to outdo the top-dollar Carter III production, whose murderer's row of producers and beats is likely to remain unparalleled for some time. But Wayne uses the less showy selection this go-round to deliver a definitively rawer album that only smartens the impact of some of his career's best vocals.