Tha Carter IV

Tha Carter IV Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 241 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth studio album from the rapper features special guests such as Drake, T-Pain, and Rick Ross.
Buy On

Top Track

6 Foot 7 Foot
Six-foot, seven-foot, eight-foot bunch Six-foot, seven-foot, eight-foot bunch Excuse my charisma, vodka with a spritzer Swagger down pat, call my... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Aug 31, 2011
    80
    If you thought him too weird for your tastes previously, Tha Carter IV is the album to introduce you to the never boring world of an artist whose importance remains so significant that, should he finally collapse like the star he is, he's likely to take half the rap game with him.
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    80
    Even with some lack of vulnerability and risk, Tha Carter IV displays the nonsensical approach that fans have grown to love. Future and previous aside, Weezy's present is bright.
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    70
    Because Lil Wayne has been so sharp, so dexterous in the past, it's tempting (and ultimately necessary) to overanalyze him. But even on this album's weak tracks, and there are several, he remains a commanding presence, deploying just enough of his insistent croak to tether the song together.
  4. Aug 29, 2011
    60
    For the last four years there's been no greater force in hip-hop, but this isn't the way President Carter should be launching his campaign for a second term.
  5. 60
    Overall, by the end of the album it feels like Wayne maybe pushed Tha Carter series one installment too far.
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    58
    There's plenty of great rapping on Tha Carter IV, but for the first time, most of it isn't coming from Lil Wayne.
  7. From an MC that would call himself King, shouldn't we all have hoped – nay, expected – well, better?

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 109
  2. Negative: 58 out of 109
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    his voice sucks and he shouldn't be in the music industry. i wish that he just quit. why is he allowed to make music? it is not good at all.his voice sucks and he shouldn't be in the music industry. i wish that he just quit. why is he allowed to make music? it is not good at all. how can anyone like it? ufr6sa35as5etrtdfygu its depressing how many fans he has. Expand
  2. EJA
    Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Wow, Weezy thinks hes the best rapper there is out there and VH1 gives him a one hour boring back story into his poor life and the guy fromWow, Weezy thinks hes the best rapper there is out there and VH1 gives him a one hour boring back story into his poor life and the guy from the show House puts out a better reviewed album than Lil Wayne. This guy needs to get over himself. He isnt that good Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2011
    7
    This might not be Wayne's best album, but it's pretty damn good. The reason everyone is being so hard on him is we've held him up to theThis might not be Wayne's best album, but it's pretty damn good. The reason everyone is being so hard on him is we've held him up to the outstanding standards he has created for himself. I'm still waiting to really get into this album, but Blunt Blowin, Megaman and President Carter are really fun tunes that find Weezy close to where he once was. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an abridged, track by track review of Lil' Wayne's 'Tha Carter IV'. Intro - This track contains an expected amount of barely innuendo rhymes. It has simple, straightforward lyrics. The beat has a production value of 5 out of 10, anyone with a Mac can pull it off.

    Blunt Blowin - Another easy to follow track, but still is a generally pointless rap song, almost out of character for Wayne. Also the same is the low production quality of the track itself; simple bass lines, nothing special to mention.

    Megaman - Once again, another simply produced track, and lyrics to be expected from Lil' Wayne. He strays away from the higher pitched voice he normally uses, and that isn't necessarily terrible.

    6 Foot 7 Foot feat. Cory Guns - Very little clever wordplay, absolutely terrible production. The featuring of Day-O by Harry Belafonte was bizarre, but the thought was killed by how absolutely unbearably annoying the repetitiveness of the song is. Cory Guns' verse almost revives the song, but it is almost too far beyond repair to fix.

    Nightmares of the Bottom - A song intended to be a slow jam, starting off with the signature lighter flick, vaguely reminiscent of the verses of Mrs. Officer. Still a mediocre track.

    She Will feat. Drake - A song about a girl, not too catchy, really just another song about how he wants to f**k. Drake conforms to this mentality.

    How To Hate feat. T-Pain - This track was actually one of my favorites on the album. In simplest terms, its a F**k You song to a girl. The track feels like its T-Pain's instead of Wayne's and features his brilliant use of autotune. In fact, Lil' Wayne's parts in the song sort of ruin it for me.

    Interlude feat Tech N9ne and Andre 3000 - Possibly the best track on the album, and that may be just because Tech has the Midas Touch. Andre on the other hand is a refreshing addition, and its nice to see that he still has talent.

    John feat Rick Ross - A song with a violent dirty south beat leaves no more than that to be desired.

    Abortion - I couldn't get past the first 20 seconds, it was that annoying.

    So Special feat John Legend - The only good parts are the ones that involve John Legend.

    How to Love - One of only two entirely bearable tracks on the cd, and I feel the only reason for that is because it has more of an R&B feel, and can be played on the radio. Through and through, easy to listen to on repeat.

    President Carter - *Lighter flick* The production quality is better than the lyrics, seems like it may have been an idea when someone was searching for lost Doritos. Hint, hint.

    Its Good feat Jadakiss and Drake - Beat was good, catchy, Jadakiss shines.

    Outro feat Bun B, Nas, Shyne, Busta Rhymes - Nas and Busta killed this track, amazing flow. Very glad that Wayne kept out of it.

    Out of the three bonus tracks, I decided to add in Mirror featuring Bruno Mars. This track should have been on the cd as a regular track, because bonus tracks usually imply they might have been discarded. I actually like this track, the overall feel of it is smooth and easy on the ears.

    All in all, the record blows. I feel it has reached the time that Wayne Carter just needs to throw in the towel and produced tracks for guests to come in on. As a rap record, I give this cd a 6 out of 10. As a Lil' Wayne record, it gets a 3.
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    1
    A terrible album. Wayne's flow is very sluggish and lazy, the beats are too simple and generic, and the wordplay is childish. The only thingA terrible album. Wayne's flow is very sluggish and lazy, the beats are too simple and generic, and the wordplay is childish. The only thing keeping me from rating this a 0 is Tech N9ne and Andre 3000 killing the interlude and the possibility that this could be his last album. Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Typical Lil' Wayne, Cursing and rhyming N@#$A with N@#^A in almost all of his songs, This is just as bad as Tha Carter III. Yeah, that'sTypical Lil' Wayne, Cursing and rhyming N@#$A with N@#^A in almost all of his songs, This is just as bad as Tha Carter III. Yeah, that's right boys, I said it. Tha Carter III is just as bad as this abomination, WAT IS WRONG WITH YOU 61 PEOPLES DAT GAVE DIS A POPULAR REVIEW?!?!?! Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    this is pure trash, some of the weakest raps ive ever heard. do not buy this is a pure waste of money.. he should of just stayed in jail so wethis is pure trash, some of the weakest raps ive ever heard. do not buy this is a pure waste of money.. he should of just stayed in jail so we wouldnt have to him in his leopard pants. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews