Thank Me Later

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 250

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChaoseK
    Jun 16, 2010
    0
    This autotune strash is just awful. His Lyrics are WACK as hell, & his flow is even more stupid. I hate Auto tune & his rapping is even worse. None of his songs are beyond just O.K, He gets by only because of his style & the fact that his futuristic music takes you to a place, a very strange place but a place nonetheless. I kinda like
  2. JMartinsS
    Jun 19, 2010
    0
    Awful, he can't sing, so what does he do all album? Sing. WIthout auto tune, this guy would be a laughing stock
  3. JamieRitchie
    Jun 23, 2010
    1
    amazing album
  4. CodyT
    Jun 17, 2010
    3
    Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you look elsewhere for in your face spitting, because you won't find it here on this lackluster debut. Expand
  5. KCc
    Jun 18, 2010
    0
    One of the most disappointing debuts in hip hop!!! Drake sounds like a whiny f**kin' teenager looking for love. The problem is Drake has no pain or real issues to deal with. I guess when you grow up rich you're biggest problem is worrying about what happened to your high school jump off. This album sucks!!!!
  6. MarkC
    Jun 19, 2010
    2
    This album was hyped to be so much, but was a completely let down. As a Hip hop fan, this is awful, Drake may as well call himself a Pop artist, he cant sing and just uses Autotune like theres no tomorrow.
  7. AjayD
    Jun 15, 2010
    2
    Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then this. In the end, I would recommend this Album to the young listeners. The Adults need to listen to better Hip Hop like Joe Budden, Crooked I, Nas, Tech N9ne, Atmosphere, Jedi Mind Tricks, Chad (Canadian), and others. Collapse
  8. Dec 16, 2010
    0
    This is the most depressing CD I have ever heard. Considering he's Lil Wayne's protege I expected more flash and fun, but wow was I dissappointed. I don't feel sorry for this guy, stop whining so much and stop talking about being the greatest, you got a long long way to get there. Flash in the pan.
  9. Jan 9, 2011
    3
    I couldn't even listen to the whole album. I've heard better albums and rappers. But I'm going to give him a 3 because his singles (Over, Find Your Love) are epic.
  10. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Money;Drugs;Sex. That's all he cares about apparently... He should learn to make some original lyrics instead of the same repetitive crap that they always have today.
  11. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    At its best, this album is mediocre. Is Drake trying to be a pop artist, or a hip hop artist? "Thank Me Later"? I can't be thankful for something I'm reasonably ungrateful for.
  12. Mar 2, 2016
    1
    the material after awhile runs thin instead of branching off and talking about other things. hard to say this guy has singing talent. he sounds auto tuned.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Given his limitations, his famous friends are a mixed benefit, because they show him up.
  2. Thank Me Later may not have been the game-changing release everyone was hoping for, but we now have every reason to believe that the hype will ring true on his next album.
  3. Because of his relatively privileged upbringing (he's from a wealthy part of Toronto), Thank Me Later is less about chronicling and rising up out of his environment (like basically every rap debut since Illmatic) and more about how Drake is uncomfortable being famous.